{Review} The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo

 

about the book

Evelyn Hugo is finally ready to tell the truth about her glamorous and scandalous life. But when she chooses unknown magazine reporter Monique Grant for the job, no one in the journalism community is more astounded than Monique herself. Why her? Why now?

Monique is not exactly on top of the world. Her husband, David, has left her, and her career has stagnated. Regardless of why Evelyn has chosen her to write her biography, Monique is determined to use this opportunity to jumpstart her career.

Summoned to Evelyn’s Upper East Side apartment, Monique listens as Evelyn unfurls her story: from making her way to Los Angeles in the 1950s to her decision to leave show business in the late 80s, and, of course, the seven husbands along the way. As Evelyn’s life unfolds through the decades—revealing a ruthless ambition, an unexpected friendship, and a great forbidden love—Monique begins to feel a very a real connection to the actress. But as Evelyn’s story catches up with the present, it becomes clear that her life intersects with Monique’s own in tragic and irreversible ways.

Filled with emotional insight and written with Reid’s signature talent, this is a fascinating journey through the splendor of Old Hollywood into the harsh realities of the present day as two women struggle with what it means—and what it takes—to face the truth.

My Thoughts

Honestly, I tried reading this book more than once. I received an early copy many months ago, and when I first picked it up, I couldn’t get into it. It didn’t feel like the kind of story I’m used to reading by TJR.

That’s because it’s NOT like her previous books. It was unique and absolutely fantastic. And kudos to her for the bravery to write something different. I’m so glad I gave it another chance. It wasn’t anything like I expected, but I still loved every word. In true TJR fashion, her writing is beautiful, and I became lost in the story and didn’t want to put it down. Evelyn is a character you want to love and hate simultaneously, and I was captivated by her life.

There are only a select few authors who’s books make me cry, and TJR is one of them. This book is really incredible, and I highly recommend picking up a copy!

Bottom Line

Truly unforgettable. I’m still thinking about the story weeks later.

5 Stars

Genre: Historical, Romance, Adult Contemporary

Standalone

Published June 13, 2017 by Atria Books

Length: 400 pages

ARC kindly provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.

{Review} Daisy in Chains

about the book

Famous killers have fan clubs.

Hamish Wolfe is no different. Locked up for the rest of his life for the abduction and murder of three young women, he gets countless adoring letters every day. He’s handsome, charismatic and very persuasive. His admirers are convinced he’s innocent, and that he’s the man of their dreams.

Who would join such a club?

Maggie Rose is different. Reclusive and enigmatic; a successful lawyer and bestselling true-crime writer, she only takes on cases that she can win.

Hamish wants her as his lawyer, he wants her to change his fate. She thinks she’s immune to the charms of a man like this. But maybe not this time . . .

Would you?

My Thoughts

Thank you Steph, for putting this book on my radar! I love when I find a new author to obsess over. This book was fantastic! Brilliant writing that kept me guessing and flying through the pages. And the ending completely surprised me – I love when that happens! I will definitely be reading more by this author in the future.

Bottom Line

A fast-paced suspense that will keep you guessing until the very end.

5 Stars

Genre: Mystery/Suspense

Standalone

Published June 2nd 2016 by Transworld Digital

Length: 349 pages

{Review} On Second Thought

about the book

Ainsley O’Leary is so ready to get married—she’s even found the engagement ring her boyfriend has stashed away. What she doesn’t anticipate is being blindsided by a breakup he chronicles in a blog…which (of course) goes viral. Devastated and humiliated, Ainsley turns to her older half sister, Kate, who’s struggling with a sudden loss of her own.

Kate’s always been the poised, self-assured sister, but becoming a newlywed—and a widow—in the space of four months overwhelms her. Though the sisters were never close, she starts to confide in Ainsley, especially when she learns her late husband was keeping a secret from her.

Despite the murky blended-family dynamic that’s always separated them, Ainsley’s and Kate’s heartaches bind their summer together when they come to terms with the inevitable imperfection of relationships and family—and the possibility of one day finding love again.

My Thoughts

You know how sometimes a book comes along at just the right time, and it’s so perfect in every way that you never want it to end? That’s how I felt while I was reading this book. I was so wrapped up in the lives of these two sisters and their story. This book had everything I love – humor, romance, family drama, and friendship. I loved the character development and how much I could relate to both sisters. The romance was just subtle enough without taking away from the heart of the story. And the growing relationship between the sisters after they both suffer through the most horrible times of their lives was so inspiring and heartwarming.

Bottom Line

I loved every single word. Favorite book of 2017.

5 Stars

Genre: Adult Contemporary, Romance

Standalone

Published January 31st 2017 by HQN Books

Length: 480 pages

ARC kindly provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

{Review} Behind Her Eyes

28965131

about the book

Louise is a single mom, a secretary, stuck in a modern-day rut. On a rare night out, she meets a man in a bar and sparks fly. Though he leaves after they kiss, she’s thrilled she finally connected with someone.

When Louise arrives at work on Monday, she meets her new boss, David. The man from the bar. The very married man from the bar…who says the kiss was a terrible mistake but who still can’t keep his eyes off Louise.

And then Louise bumps into Adele, who’s new to town and in need of a friend, but she also just happens to be married to David. David and Adele look like the picture-perfect husband and wife, but then why is David so controlling, and why is Adele so scared of him?

As Louise is drawn into David and Adele’s orbit, she uncovers more puzzling questions than answers. The only thing that is crystal clear is that something in this marriage is very, very wrong, but Louise can’t guess how wrong―and how far a person might go to protect their marriage’s secrets.

My Thoughts

Everyone is talking about the ending to this book, and rightfully so. It’s pretty crazy. As in so crazy that it’s hard to believe. It’s surprising and bizarre and if you read this book you’ll have to suspend all disbelief to enjoy it. Thankfully I was able to do that, and I did enjoy it. I know that’s not easy for everyone to do, but I think it’s definitely worth reading.

Bottom Line

Suspenseful page-turner that will leave you speechless at the end.

4 Stars

Genre: Mystery, Suspense/Thriller

Standalone

Published January 31, 2017 by Flatiron Books

Length: 320 pages

{Review} I Found You

30755063

about the book

A young bride, a lonely single mother, and an amnesiac man of dubious origin lie at the heart of New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jewell’s next suspenseful drama that will appeal to fans of Liane Moriarty and Paula Hawkins.

In a windswept British seaside town, single mom Alice Lake finds a man sitting on the beach outside her house. He has no name, no jacket, and no idea how he got there. Against her better judgment, she invites him inside.

Meanwhile, in a suburb of London, twenty-one-year-old Lily Monrose has only been married for three weeks. When her new husband fails to come home from work one night she is left stranded in a new country where she knows no one. Then the police tell her that her husband never existed.

Twenty-three years earlier, Gray and Kirsty are teenagers on a summer holiday with their parents. Their annual trip to the quaint seaside town is passing by uneventfully, until an enigmatic young man starts paying extra attention to Kirsty. Something about him makes Gray uncomfortable—and it’s not just that he’s playing the role of protective older brother.

Two decades of secrets, a missing husband, and a man with no memory are at the heart of this brilliant new novel, filled with the “beautiful writing, believable characters, pacey narrative, and dark secrets” (London Daily Mail) that make Lisa Jewell so beloved by audiences on both sides of the Atlantic.

My Thoughts

I really enjoyed this one. It kept me guessing, although I had some of the story figured out, I was still surprised by other revelations. Once things started happening, I didn’t want to put it down. In fact, I found myself staying up way later than I normally do to finish it.

I love when a book goes back and forth between the past and present, dropping clues until the pieces of the puzzle start to come together. And although I wasn’t keen on some of the characters, the author’s writing definitely won me over and had me anxious to pick it up every chance I got.

Bottom Line

Fast-paced with some unexpected surprises – a very enjoyable mystery that will most likely find it’s way onto everyone’s reading list this year.

3.5 Stars

Genre: Mystery/Suspense

Standalone

Expected Publication: April 25, 2017 by Atria Books

Length: 352 pages

ARC kindly provided by the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.