{Review} The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo

 

about the book

Evelyn Hugo is finally ready to tell the truth about her glamorous and scandalous life. But when she chooses unknown magazine reporter Monique Grant for the job, no one in the journalism community is more astounded than Monique herself. Why her? Why now?

Monique is not exactly on top of the world. Her husband, David, has left her, and her career has stagnated. Regardless of why Evelyn has chosen her to write her biography, Monique is determined to use this opportunity to jumpstart her career.

Summoned to Evelyn’s Upper East Side apartment, Monique listens as Evelyn unfurls her story: from making her way to Los Angeles in the 1950s to her decision to leave show business in the late 80s, and, of course, the seven husbands along the way. As Evelyn’s life unfolds through the decades—revealing a ruthless ambition, an unexpected friendship, and a great forbidden love—Monique begins to feel a very a real connection to the actress. But as Evelyn’s story catches up with the present, it becomes clear that her life intersects with Monique’s own in tragic and irreversible ways.

Filled with emotional insight and written with Reid’s signature talent, this is a fascinating journey through the splendor of Old Hollywood into the harsh realities of the present day as two women struggle with what it means—and what it takes—to face the truth.

My Thoughts

Honestly, I tried reading this book more than once. I received an early copy many months ago, and when I first picked it up, I couldn’t get into it. It didn’t feel like the kind of story I’m used to reading by TJR.

That’s because it’s NOT like her previous books. It was unique and absolutely fantastic. And kudos to her for the bravery to write something different. I’m so glad I gave it another chance. It wasn’t anything like I expected, but I still loved every word. In true TJR fashion, her writing is beautiful, and I became lost in the story and didn’t want to put it down. Evelyn is a character you want to love and hate simultaneously, and I was captivated by her life.

There are only a select few authors who’s books make me cry, and TJR is one of them. This book is really incredible, and I highly recommend picking up a copy!

Bottom Line

Truly unforgettable. I’m still thinking about the story weeks later.

5 Stars

Genre: Historical, Romance, Adult Contemporary

Standalone

Published June 13, 2017 by Atria Books

Length: 400 pages

ARC kindly provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.

{Review} On Second Thought

about the book

Ainsley O’Leary is so ready to get married—she’s even found the engagement ring her boyfriend has stashed away. What she doesn’t anticipate is being blindsided by a breakup he chronicles in a blog…which (of course) goes viral. Devastated and humiliated, Ainsley turns to her older half sister, Kate, who’s struggling with a sudden loss of her own.

Kate’s always been the poised, self-assured sister, but becoming a newlywed—and a widow—in the space of four months overwhelms her. Though the sisters were never close, she starts to confide in Ainsley, especially when she learns her late husband was keeping a secret from her.

Despite the murky blended-family dynamic that’s always separated them, Ainsley’s and Kate’s heartaches bind their summer together when they come to terms with the inevitable imperfection of relationships and family—and the possibility of one day finding love again.

My Thoughts

You know how sometimes a book comes along at just the right time, and it’s so perfect in every way that you never want it to end? That’s how I felt while I was reading this book. I was so wrapped up in the lives of these two sisters and their story. This book had everything I love – humor, romance, family drama, and friendship. I loved the character development and how much I could relate to both sisters. The romance was just subtle enough without taking away from the heart of the story. And the growing relationship between the sisters after they both suffer through the most horrible times of their lives was so inspiring and heartwarming.

Bottom Line

I loved every single word. Favorite book of 2017.

5 Stars

Genre: Adult Contemporary, Romance

Standalone

Published January 31st 2017 by HQN Books

Length: 480 pages

ARC kindly provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

{Review} I Found You

30755063

about the book

A young bride, a lonely single mother, and an amnesiac man of dubious origin lie at the heart of New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jewell’s next suspenseful drama that will appeal to fans of Liane Moriarty and Paula Hawkins.

In a windswept British seaside town, single mom Alice Lake finds a man sitting on the beach outside her house. He has no name, no jacket, and no idea how he got there. Against her better judgment, she invites him inside.

Meanwhile, in a suburb of London, twenty-one-year-old Lily Monrose has only been married for three weeks. When her new husband fails to come home from work one night she is left stranded in a new country where she knows no one. Then the police tell her that her husband never existed.

Twenty-three years earlier, Gray and Kirsty are teenagers on a summer holiday with their parents. Their annual trip to the quaint seaside town is passing by uneventfully, until an enigmatic young man starts paying extra attention to Kirsty. Something about him makes Gray uncomfortable—and it’s not just that he’s playing the role of protective older brother.

Two decades of secrets, a missing husband, and a man with no memory are at the heart of this brilliant new novel, filled with the “beautiful writing, believable characters, pacey narrative, and dark secrets” (London Daily Mail) that make Lisa Jewell so beloved by audiences on both sides of the Atlantic.

My Thoughts

I really enjoyed this one. It kept me guessing, although I had some of the story figured out, I was still surprised by other revelations. Once things started happening, I didn’t want to put it down. In fact, I found myself staying up way later than I normally do to finish it.

I love when a book goes back and forth between the past and present, dropping clues until the pieces of the puzzle start to come together. And although I wasn’t keen on some of the characters, the author’s writing definitely won me over and had me anxious to pick it up every chance I got.

Bottom Line

Fast-paced with some unexpected surprises – a very enjoyable mystery that will most likely find it’s way onto everyone’s reading list this year.

3.5 Stars

Genre: Mystery/Suspense

Standalone

Expected Publication: April 25, 2017 by Atria Books

Length: 352 pages

ARC kindly provided by the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

{Review} Close Enough to Touch

31300046

about the book

One time a boy kissed me and I almost died…

And so begins the story of Jubilee Jenkins, a young woman with a rare and debilitating medical condition: she’s allergic to other humans. After a humiliating near-death experience in high school, Jubilee has become a recluse, living the past nine years in the confines of the small town New Jersey house her unaffectionate mother left to her when she ran off with a Long Island businessman. But now, her mother is dead, and without her financial support, Jubilee is forced to leave home and face the world—and the people in it—that she’s been hiding from.

One of those people is Eric Keegan, a man who just moved into town for work. With a daughter from his failed marriage who is no longer speaking to him, and a brilliant, if psychologically troubled, adopted son, Eric’s struggling to figure out how his life got so off-course, and how to be the dad—and man—he wants so desperately to be. Then, one day, he meets a mysterious woman named Jubilee, with a unique condition…

An evocative, poignant, and heartrending exploration of the power and possibilities of the human heart, Close Enough to Touchis perfect for fans of the emotional novels of Jodi Picoult and Jojo Moyes.

My Thoughts

You know how sometimes a book will come along and be so unexpectedly wonderful that it blows you away?  I read this authors debut novel and really enjoyed it. But this book puts her on my list of authors to watch out for. She outdid herself with this exceptional and unique story.

I adored Eric and Jubilee, and pretty much all the other characters in this book. It was such an interesting concept, with the perfect blend of humor and emotion. The author writes in beautiful prose that had me glued to the pages. Once you pick up this book you will find it incredibly hard to put down.

Bottom Line

A delightfully wonderful surprise – this is a must read book.

5 Stars

Genre: Adult Contemporary, Romance

Standalone

Expected Publication: March 7, 2017 by Gallery Books

Length: 320 pages

ARC kindly provided by the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

{Review} At Close Range

29432791

about the book

When a lakeside tryst ends in a double murder, police detective Daniele Harper arrives on the scene determined to get answers. Clues are everywhere, but nothing adds up. Dani turns to the Delphi Center crime lab for help, but soon regrets it when her secret attraction to their chief firearms examiner threatens to distract her from the most important case of her career.

As a ballistics expert and former Navy SEAL, Scott Black knows firearms, and he knows he can help Dani unravel her case. Scott has managed to hide his interest in his best friend’s younger sister for years, but when her investigation brings them together, the sparks between them quickly burn out of control. Scott resolves to keep his hands off Dani and his eyes on the goal—identifying a killer. But when that killer zeroes in on her, all bets are off. There isn’t a line Scott won’t cross to convince Dani to trust him so that he can help her take down a ruthless murderer who has her in his sights.

My Thoughts

So damn good. It was just a year ago that I discovered this author and this series. She became an instant favorite, and I have been looking forward to getting my hands on this book. Although it’s the 11th book in the series, it can be read as a stand alone.

Griffin knows how to write the perfect mix of steamy romance and suspense! As I had hoped, this book lived up to all of my expectations. Dani & Scott had incredible chemistry, and the story was so intense I couldn’t put it down. As with all of the books in this series that I’ve read, it kept me guessing until the very end.

Bottom Line

If you haven’t read this series – you need to.

5 Stars

Genre: Romantic Suspense

Series Standalone

Expected Publication: January 31, 2017 by Pocket Books

Length: 368 pages

ARC kindly provided by the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.