{Review} I Found You

30755063

about the book

A young bride, a lonely single mother, and an amnesiac man of dubious origin lie at the heart of New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jewell’s next suspenseful drama that will appeal to fans of Liane Moriarty and Paula Hawkins.

In a windswept British seaside town, single mom Alice Lake finds a man sitting on the beach outside her house. He has no name, no jacket, and no idea how he got there. Against her better judgment, she invites him inside.

Meanwhile, in a suburb of London, twenty-one-year-old Lily Monrose has only been married for three weeks. When her new husband fails to come home from work one night she is left stranded in a new country where she knows no one. Then the police tell her that her husband never existed.

Twenty-three years earlier, Gray and Kirsty are teenagers on a summer holiday with their parents. Their annual trip to the quaint seaside town is passing by uneventfully, until an enigmatic young man starts paying extra attention to Kirsty. Something about him makes Gray uncomfortable—and it’s not just that he’s playing the role of protective older brother.

Two decades of secrets, a missing husband, and a man with no memory are at the heart of this brilliant new novel, filled with the “beautiful writing, believable characters, pacey narrative, and dark secrets” (London Daily Mail) that make Lisa Jewell so beloved by audiences on both sides of the Atlantic.

My Thoughts

I really enjoyed this one. It kept me guessing, although I had some of the story figured out, I was still surprised by other revelations. Once things started happening, I didn’t want to put it down. In fact, I found myself staying up way later than I normally do to finish it.

I love when a book goes back and forth between the past and present, dropping clues until the pieces of the puzzle start to come together. And although I wasn’t keen on some of the characters, the author’s writing definitely won me over and had me anxious to pick it up every chance I got.

Bottom Line

Fast-paced with some unexpected surprises – a very enjoyable mystery that will most likely find it’s way onto everyone’s reading list this year.

3.5 Stars

Genre: Mystery/Suspense

Standalone

Expected Publication: April 25, 2017 by Atria Books

Length: 352 pages

ARC kindly provided by the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

{Review} Close Enough to Touch

31300046

about the book

One time a boy kissed me and I almost died…

And so begins the story of Jubilee Jenkins, a young woman with a rare and debilitating medical condition: she’s allergic to other humans. After a humiliating near-death experience in high school, Jubilee has become a recluse, living the past nine years in the confines of the small town New Jersey house her unaffectionate mother left to her when she ran off with a Long Island businessman. But now, her mother is dead, and without her financial support, Jubilee is forced to leave home and face the world—and the people in it—that she’s been hiding from.

One of those people is Eric Keegan, a man who just moved into town for work. With a daughter from his failed marriage who is no longer speaking to him, and a brilliant, if psychologically troubled, adopted son, Eric’s struggling to figure out how his life got so off-course, and how to be the dad—and man—he wants so desperately to be. Then, one day, he meets a mysterious woman named Jubilee, with a unique condition…

An evocative, poignant, and heartrending exploration of the power and possibilities of the human heart, Close Enough to Touchis perfect for fans of the emotional novels of Jodi Picoult and Jojo Moyes.

My Thoughts

You know how sometimes a book will come along and be so unexpectedly wonderful that it blows you away?  I read this authors debut novel and really enjoyed it. But this book puts her on my list of authors to watch out for. She outdid herself with this exceptional and unique story.

I adored Eric and Jubilee, and pretty much all the other characters in this book. It was such an interesting concept, with the perfect blend of humor and emotion. The author writes in beautiful prose that had me glued to the pages. Once you pick up this book you will find it incredibly hard to put down.

Bottom Line

A delightfully wonderful surprise – this is a must read book.

5 Stars

Genre: Adult Contemporary, Romance

Standalone

Expected Publication: March 7, 2017 by Gallery Books

Length: 320 pages

ARC kindly provided by the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

{Review} At Close Range

29432791

about the book

When a lakeside tryst ends in a double murder, police detective Daniele Harper arrives on the scene determined to get answers. Clues are everywhere, but nothing adds up. Dani turns to the Delphi Center crime lab for help, but soon regrets it when her secret attraction to their chief firearms examiner threatens to distract her from the most important case of her career.

As a ballistics expert and former Navy SEAL, Scott Black knows firearms, and he knows he can help Dani unravel her case. Scott has managed to hide his interest in his best friend’s younger sister for years, but when her investigation brings them together, the sparks between them quickly burn out of control. Scott resolves to keep his hands off Dani and his eyes on the goal—identifying a killer. But when that killer zeroes in on her, all bets are off. There isn’t a line Scott won’t cross to convince Dani to trust him so that he can help her take down a ruthless murderer who has her in his sights.

My Thoughts

So damn good. It was just a year ago that I discovered this author and this series. She became an instant favorite, and I have been looking forward to getting my hands on this book. Although it’s the 11th book in the series, it can be read as a stand alone.

Griffin knows how to write the perfect mix of steamy romance and suspense! As I had hoped, this book lived up to all of my expectations. Dani & Scott had incredible chemistry, and the story was so intense I couldn’t put it down. As with all of the books in this series that I’ve read, it kept me guessing until the very end.

Bottom Line

If you haven’t read this series – you need to.

5 Stars

Genre: Romantic Suspense

Series Standalone

Expected Publication: January 31, 2017 by Pocket Books

Length: 368 pages

ARC kindly provided by the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

{Review} From Sand and Ash

27343696

about the book

Italy, 1943—Germany occupies much of the country, placing the Jewish population in grave danger during World War II.

As children, Eva Rosselli and Angelo Bianco were raised like family but divided by circumstance and religion. As the years go by, the two find themselves falling in love. But the church calls to Angelo and, despite his deep feelings for Eva, he chooses the priesthood.

Now, more than a decade later, Angelo is a Catholic priest and Eva is a woman with nowhere to turn. With the Gestapo closing in, Angelo hides Eva within the walls of a convent, where Eva discovers she is just one of many Jews being sheltered by the Catholic Church.

But Eva can’t quietly hide, waiting for deliverance, while Angelo risks everything to keep her safe. With the world at war and so many in need, Angelo and Eva face trial after trial, choice after agonizing choice, until fate and fortune finally collide, leaving them with the most difficult decision of all.

My Thoughts

A fictional story based on true events with beautiful prose and an incredible love story – this is a book I will not forget anytime soon. My heart was so heavy while I read it, as it always is when I read anything related to WWII. I had to read slowly, taking frequent breaks from it, because it was so heartbreaking and sad. But do not let that deter you from picking up this book. It is by far one of the most beautiful stories ever written, and I’m still thinking about it weeks after finishing.

Bottom Line

Unforgettable. Absolutely one of the best books I have ever read or will ever read.

5 Stars

Genre: Historical, Romance

Standalone

Published December 1, 2016 by Lake Union Publishing

Length: 372 pages

ARC kindly provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.

{Review} The Perfect Stranger

31445594

about the book

Confronted by a restraining order and the threat of a lawsuit, failed journalist Leah Stevens needs to get out of Boston when she runs into an old friend, Emmy Grey, who has just left a troubled relationship. Emmy proposes they move to rural Pennsylvania, where Leah can get a teaching position and both women can start again. But their new start is threatened when a woman with an eerie resemblance to Leah is assaulted by the lake, and Emmy disappears days later.

Determined to find Emmy, Leah cooperates with Kyle Donovan, a handsome young police officer on the case. As they investigate her friend’s life for clues, Leah begins to wonder: did she ever really know Emmy at all? With no friends, family, or a digital footprint, the police begin to suspect that there is no Emmy Grey. Soon Leah’s credibility is at stake, and she is forced to revisit her past: the article that ruined her career. To save herself, Leah must uncover the truth about Emmy Grey—and along the way, confront her old demons, find out who she can really trust, and clear her own name.

Everyone in this rural Pennsylvanian town has something to hide—including Leah herself. How do you uncover the truth when you are busy hiding your own?

My Thoughts

This book kept me guessing until the end and had everything I look for in a good thriller. For me, what makes a great suspense novel stand out from the rest is when it has me completely freaked out, jumping at every little noise, making me feel like I have to look over my shoulder. I felt like I was there with Leah in this book. She was a likable character that I could sympathize with. And with every new clue, I was on the edge of my seat. I didn’t want to put this one down.
I enjoyed All the Missing Girls, but I enjoyed this one way more.

Bottom Line

A well-written page turner. Megan Miranda has proven she knows how to write suspense and is an author worth looking out for in the future.

4.5 Stars

Genre: Mystery, Suspense/Thriller

Standalone

Expected Publication: May 16, 2017 by Simon & Schuster

Length: 384 pages

ARC kindly provided by the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.