Five Things Friday ~ 5-19-17

 

1. this week in reading

You guys, if you haven’t read an Amy Harmon book, you’re really missing out. Her writing is so beautiful. This book – I just loved it SO MUCH. I seriously didn’t want it to end.

Now I’m in a book funk and have NO clue what to read next.

2. New Books I’m excited about

    

Since We Fell is my first Lehane book, and my first Book of the Month! Pretty excited to read it. I needed more Kristan Higgins in my life, and I pre-ordered A Million Junes.

3. fun thing(s) from the week

Last weekend I ran my first 5k race since October. I had a pretty good time, good enough to score the third place medal for my age group. I had to bump up an age group this year…blah. Lol. It was perfect running weather, and I was really happy with how I did. I run 5k’s almost every day that I run, but when it’s an actual race I push myself harder. I was just glad I didn’t cause any more strain to my hamstring and that I had a decent time.

After the race I had to book it to the school carnival, where I was signed up to help all afternoon. It was our first carnival, and it seemed to be successful. At least Sunnie had a great time.

The weather in Ohio was gorgeous this week. Went from freezing to hotter than Hades overnight. I tried to get outside a few days and enjoy the sunshine. And I don’t really like having to turn on my AC in May, but it was so hot that I wouldn’t have been able to sleep. And mama needs her sleep.

4. Fit Readers/Life

Sunnie got sick yet again. Ugh. My hubby had strep (second time in 2 months) and was on antibiotics. I managed to avoid it (knock on wood), but Sunnie ended up with a sinus infection. After a week of her being miserable and nothing we did was working for her, the doctor put her on a z-pack. THANK GOD school is almost over!! We need a break from the germ fest.

A few nights of her coughing and sleeping with me meant no running the next morning. I was just too tired. But I did manage to get to the park three days this week for my run. Running outside is always a treat for me. Especially when the weather is perfect for it.

And because fighting illness wasn’t enough, we had to get a new washing machine this week, and call a plumber for issues we were having with our bathroom drains. Adulting ain’t easy or good for my bank account.

5. looking ahead

Today I’m working from home and have managed to fit in some cleaning and laundry. My parents have asked to have Sunnie for a sleepover tonight – they aren’t seeing her as much as before, now that I’m part time. And because she’s their only grandchild and Sunnie loves staying there, I can’t say no. My hubby is hoping to get home from work a little earlier so he can take me out on the boat tonight. Date night on the lake is my favorite!

Tomorrow morning Sunnie has dance competition tryouts (at 9:00…what is this madness). Then we’re meeting one of my girlfriends for lunch (Mexican…margaritas, yes?!) My hubby has a fishing tournament on Sunday, and the weather isn’t looking all that great (rain/storms). Sunnie and I will just be relaxing and taking it easy. On Monday her class is going to the Akron Zoo, and I signed up as a chaperon. We haven’t been to this zoo, and she is excited to go. I could care less about zoos (sorry…just not my thing), but when my child asks me to come I’m not going to let her down. 😉

 

Have a great weekend!

 

14 thoughts on “Five Things Friday ~ 5-19-17

  1. StephTheBookworm says:

    Kids are always sick! Caleb constantly has colds. They’re little germ machines. Ugh! Hope Sunnie is feeling better. That’s awesome that your parents take her for sleep overs. Must be a nice little break for you!

  2. Grace @ Rebel Mommy Book Blog says:

    I have to make time for more Amy Harmon books!! I am behind on her new releases. Love all the new books you have and I got the same BOTM book. Hope you guys feel better because it sounds like you have a packed but fun weekend. Enjoy!

  3. Nadia says:

    I have Harmon’s books on my kindle, I just haven’t read them yet – I realize that I need to 🙂 Congrats on the 5K – that’s awesome!! Sorry that your fam has been sick – hope they all feel better ASAP. Enjoy date night and Good Luck to Sunnie at the dance competition!!

  4. Yvo says:

    It’s great to hear The Queen And The Cure lives up to expectations! I’m definitely looking forward to read both books; hopefully some time soon. Amy Harmon’s prose is just beautiful. Congrats on the 5K and sorry to hear your family has been sick! Fingers crossed the germs will stay away in the future. Have a great weekend!

  5. stephaniesbookreviews says:

    I thought Catch of the Day was cute, but it’s not my favorite Higgins book. I hope you enjoy it, though! I’m glad to keep seeing everyone say The Queen and the Cure lives up to their Amy Harmon standards. I still need to read the first one. Only the audiobook is at the library, though, and unless I’m going on a long trip I need the ebook.

  6. Kathryn says:

    Just looking at all the mainly 5 star reviews for an Amy Harmon book by people I follow on GR. Seems like I should try her. I came across a new Kristin Higgins book coming out at the end of the year so something to look forward to – Now That You Mention It.

  7. Rachel @The Readers Den says:

    So happy to hear you loved The Queen and the Cure. I hope they come out with an audio version. That’s how I read the first one. The narrator was really good.

    I’ve battled with sicknesses this whole flu season. From working at a hospital where I’ve been coughed on by just about every patient, to my grandson infecting me. I’m so over being sick, so, feel your pain, Brandie!

    I’m so jealous you’ve got to race! I hurt my back about 4 weeks ago and it’s just now getting better! I’ve been happy just to make my step goal every day. I’m going to try and do a walk/jog/run today to make Goal Day today. 🙂

    • Brandie says:

      TQATC is so wonderful. I hope you get to read it, Rachel. This has been the WORST year of illnesses! I’m sorry you’ve been suffering through it too! And I’m sorry to hear about your back injury. There is nothing more frustrating than to be injured and not be able to work out. I hope you are feeling better and getting back into the groove again. 🙂

  8. Michelle says:

    I hope Sunnie did well in tryouts today! I also hope the weather cooperates for both your husband and you. After some of that gorgeous weather you mention, we have gone back to miserable weather – cold, rainy, and gloomy. It would be nice if May weather actually felt like May weather.

    • Brandie says:

      Tryouts went great, thank you! I didn’t actually get to watch, but she was happy and said she did well. 🙂
      The weather did not cooperate on Friday night. We got some surprise rain that ruined our plans to go to the lake. But we did go out to dinner, which was really nice.
      Today it’s rainy and gloomy, but I’m embracing it. I needed a break and a rainy day is perfect for it. I hope you’re not working too hard this weekend!

Leave a Reply

