Five Things Friday ~ 5-5-17

 

1. this week in reading

I finally finished this one! It was almost as good as On Second Thought. I can’t wait for her next book!

2. New Books I’m excited about

   

I’m jumping on the Maas train and plan to read the rest of this series.

3. fun thing(s) from the week

I turned 36 yesterday, and it was a great day! I received so many wonderful messages and cards from friends and family and coworkers. It’s really just been a great week. Last weekend my hubby and I had a date night with my best friend and her hubby. After we had an awesome dinner (and cheesecake) we went to a local bar for a few drinks. It was such a great night. Monday I went and got my birthday present – a new tattoo. I LOVE it.

On Tuesday one of my other best girlfriends came into town and treated me to lunch. And last night my hubby and daughter took me to dinner to celebrate. Sunnie was so excited to give me the present she picked out and the card she made me. I felt so loved all week!

4. Fit Readers

The weather has been cold and rainy for the past week, but I did manage to get outside for a run a couple days when we got a break from it. It’s looking like rain for the next several days – yuck! When the weather is doing this in between thing, I find it really hard to be motivated to use my treadmill. I just want to run outside! I cut myself some slack yesterday on exercise and eating (I mean, it was my birthday, so calories don’t count, right?!). I need to make up for it today and at least run on the treadmill, as it’s pouring down rain right now.

5. looking ahead

Sunnie’s final dance competition for the year is this Sunday. We’ll be staying in a hotel Saturday night, as she has to be ready to dance first thing Sunday morning. Because I won’t be home much, my plan is to get as much done as I can today!

 

Have a great weekend!

 

15 thoughts on “Five Things Friday ~ 5-5-17

  1. Renee (Itsbooktalk) says:

    LOVE the tattoo Brandie and happy belated birthday! Isn’t this rain ridiculous?? Ohio weather is sometimes the worst. Good for reading but that’s it! I also got The First Word this week as a kindle first, it sounds so good! I’m not on the Maas train, I haven’t read any but I’m so curious about them as there seems to be a serious cult following and I kind of have FOMO😂

  2. StephTheBookworm says:

    I love the tattoo and I’m glad your birthday was great. I really need a treadmill. Too hard to get to the gym often and the weather is too crappy to go outside half the time lol.

  3. Grace @ Rebel Mommy Book Blog says:

    Happy happy birthday!! Sounds like you had a great time for it. Love the tattoo!! Ugh we have the rain today and it definitely affects my mood. I have been good with exercising for the past two weeks. I hope to keep it going!! Have a great weekend and good luck to Sunnie!

  4. Nadia says:

    Sounds like you had a wonderful birthday 🙂 Happy Bday!!! I love your tattoo!! Good luck to Sunnie and her dance crew!! Enjoy all of your new reads and definitely cut yourself some slack – bday calories don’t count 🙂 Have a great weekend!!

  5. stephaniesbookreviews says:

    Nice tattoo! I’m glad you had such a good birthday! This rainy weather lately has been the worst. I had to have the AC on in my house a couple weeks ago and now I’m sitting here wrapped up in a blanket. But I refuse to turn my heater back on.

  6. joyousreads says:

    Belated Happy Birthday, Brandie. I’ve been a total spazz on the blog lately so I’m sorry I missed it. I love, love your tattoo! It’s such a great motivational too. Heck, you’re a great inspiration. Keep being you!

  7. Rachel @The Readers Den says:

    Glad to hear you enjoyed If You Only Knew. I think I want to try My One and Only from Kristan Higgins next. Sounds like you had a nice birthday, and yes, the calories do NOT count on that night. Lol! I’ve back issues lately that hasn’t made me real motivated to do any exercise but I’m going to try and get out more this week. It was super hot and then freezing this weekend,. Crazy weather. Hope your weather improves. It’s much better to exercise outside. 🙂

  8. Michelle says:

    I know I mentioned it on IG, but I LOVE the tattoo. It is perfect for you!

    I am so glad you had a wonderful birthday. From the looks of it, you also had a good weekend. Congratulations on surviving your first dance competition season!

Leave a Reply

