Five Things Friday ~ 4-21-17

 

1. this week in reading

I finished this one last night. It was a very unique story, and I love Laura Dave’s writing style. Even when I wasn’t loving the story, I was still completely invested and didn’t want to put it down. I didn’t feel any connection to Sunshine – I just didn’t have much sympathy for her and her life choices. So, that took away some of my enjoyment of the book. In the end, I’m still glad I read it, and I’ll still read every book Dave writes.

2. New Books I’m excited about

 

3. fun thing(s) from the week

Hello, gorgeous weather! We’ve spent many evenings sitting outside and going for walks. It has been in the mid to upper 70’s all week, and I love it! This morning I was able to go to the park for a run. Feels good to get some fresh air! All the extra walking and being outside has helped me surpass my step count goals all week.

4. life happens

After an awesome spring break, we’re back to our normal routines, and I had a busy week at work. I was in the office most days this week, but usually only 5 or 6 hours which still allows me time to get other things done at home.  The next couple of weeks I’ll be working from home most days, which will be really nice. If the weather cooperates I hope to get in some more runs at the park!

5. looking ahead

This weekend we don’t have much on the agenda. My hubby has a fishing tournament, and the weather is supposed to cool way down for a few days. I plan to get the grocery shopping over with first thing tomorrow (best time to go is 7am – practically no one is there!) and then do a whole lot of relaxing.

PS – I need some easy crockpot meal ideas. Preferably with beef or pork (my husband isn’t a fan of chicken). I’ve been slacking on the meal planning, and I’m really sick of everything I normally make. Please give me your recommendations!

Have a great weekend!

 

14 thoughts on “Five Things Friday ~ 4-21-17

  1. Michelle says:

    Have you tried that three-ingredient pot roast? A can of cream of mushroom soup, the roast, and a packet of brown gravy mix? So. Freaking. Good. You will not regret it.

  2. StephTheBookworm says:

    I love those quiet, relaxing weekends, especially after a busy work week. And yep, morning shopping is the best. I hate the crowds.

    We make beef stroganoff in the crockpot and it’s great! I’ll try and find the exact recipe and send it if I can can track it down.

  3. Renee (Itsbooktalk) says:

    I was really curious about Laura Dave’s new book when I saw it on net galley because I loved Eight Hundred Grapes but I didn’t end up requesting as the storyline didn’t jump out at me. Can’t help with recipes, we’re basically chicken, fish and pasta eaters

  4. Laurel-Rain Snow says:

    I always wish for crockpot recipes, too, and whenever I see one on the Internet, I hesitate, for some reason. I have only used my crockpot once!

    I used one back in the day, and didn’t much worry about the recipes. It was easy…so where did that version of me go? LOL.

    I am curious about Alex, Approximately…and the Laura Dave book. I enjoyed Divorce Party and Eight Hundred Grapes.

    Have a great week, and here are MY WEEKLY UPDATES

  5. Nadia says:

    Sounds like you had a great week 🙂 I need some crock pot ideas, too. That’s awesome you are able to get some runs in – I’m glad that the weather is finally cooperating for you. Hope your weekend is great, too 🙂

Leave a Reply

