Five Things Friday ~ 3-24-17

Hey, I’m on time this week! How about that…

 

1. this week in reading

I seriously hated this book in the beginning. It is overly wordy, and the characters repeat themselves way too much. But I pushed through, and now I’m glad I did. I started enjoying it around the 35% mark, and it keeps getting better for me.

But now I want to know if all the authors other books are like that? Super long and unnecessarily wordy? I own a couple more of her books on my Kindle.

 

2. New Books I’m excited about

    

I went on a bit of a book buying spree on Amazon this week. Some of these I ordered hard copies and the others are Kindle versions. I’ve been going back and forth between physical books and my Kindle a lot more lately, whereas I used to be all eBooks all the time.

3. fun thing(s) from the week

I got to run outside, at the park, one night this week! Our weather has finally taken a turn for the good (hopefully). Tuesday I was able to get home early enough to get my butt to the park and get in 3 miles before the sun disappeared. And boy did I feel it the next day – when you haven’t run outside in awhile, it works way different muscles than the treadmill.

4. life happens

My daughter has been sick just about every other week this year, and I’m seriously fed up. After getting over strep just a week ago, she got pink eye this week (third time this year), and then last night was up most of the night with a horrible cough. I’m over it!! I will be happy when summer gets here and we can go more than a week without some sort of illness plaguing our house.

5. looking ahead

This weekend we don’t have much planned, besides my normal cleaning and grocery shopping. I’ve been craving TGI Friday’s for a few days, so I may talk my hubby into going there for dinner one night. 😉 I also need to start spring cleaning my house – but I may save that for when I’m home with Sunnie over her Spring Break in a few weeks. I am one of those weirdos who loves to spring clean.

 

cheers!
18 thoughts on “Five Things Friday ~ 3-24-17

  1. StephTheBookworm says:

    I’m also one of those weirdos who likes cleaning. It both relaxes and stresses me out. Haha!

    Woohoo, lots of new good books you got! I’ve always been devoted to physical books and don’t use my Kindle. What made you switch back to some physical?

    • Brandie says:

      Honestly, I started buying these awesome book sleeves that I love, and so I had to start reading physical books to use them! Once I started, I’ve been enjoying it more and more. I still prefer my Kindle, especially when I’m reading in bed and need the light – my hubby doesn’t appreciate me keeping lights on to read. 😉

  2. Grace @ Rebel Mommy Book Blog says:

    Yay for a book spree 🙂 Oh our weather is still cold. Waiting for it to turn!! My daughter just got sick. It is the worst!! I love to spring clean but can never really get it done because my youngest is so attached to me he just gets in the way! Have a great weekend!!

    • Brandie says:

      Ugh, I hope you get warm weather soon. It’s 70 today and I’m LOVING it!!
      And I hope your daughter feels better soon. There is nothing worse than when your kids are sick!

  3. Yvo says:

    It’s always frustrating when a book is overlong and too dense! Hopefully the second half will be better. And I hope your daughter will feel better soon! Winter weather is the worst. Have a great weekend!

  4. Nadia says:

    Poor Sunnie! I hope she is feeling much better. And I hope the weather gets better – hurry up, sunshine!! Spring cleaning is the best! Helps me clear my mind 🙂 So many good books – enjoy! Hope you have a great weekend!!

    • Brandie says:

      Thanks, Nadia. I think she is on the mend – she was much better this morning, thankfully!! It’s 70 out today – I’m hoping that means spring is here to stay!
      Have a great weekend!

  5. Michelle says:

    Not a weirdo! I LOVE spring cleaning when I have the time to do it properly. There is nothing that lifts the spirits quite like a house that is sparkling from the ceiling down to the floors.

    I hope Sunnie is feeling better and can avoid getting anything else until you get a chance to air out the house! The fluctuating temps are not helping matters.

    • Brandie says:

      I’m glad I’m not the only one!!
      No, the weather isn’t helping matters. She was feeling much better this morning, so I hope it stays that way.

  6. stephaniesbookreviews says:

    I’m glad you’re enjoying your book more. I hope your daughter gets to feeling better! Being sick is the worst. Today is the best I’ve felt in over a week. I might actually get some reading done this evening.

  7. Amanda @ Good in The Stacks says:

    I’m kinda torn on the author’s work to be honest. I haven’t read all of them, but I think they’ve all been long. I’ve liked one, loved one, hated one and was just okay on one. Wait for Me was my favorite, and that’s really the only one where I felt the length was justifiable.

    Wintersong was surprisingly good in my opinion! I’m curious about A Darker Shade of Magic.

    I hope Sunnie feels better soon! I personally love spring cleaning, haha.

  8. joyousreads says:

    I need to do a bit of Spring cleaning as well. I tend to do my cleaning/laundry/house chores on Thursday nights so my weekend is free to do…well, basically nothing. LOL. I like keeping my weekends free for blogging and reading.

    TGI Fridays sounds good right about now (it’s like 5:30 am on Saturday. I can’t freaking sleep).

    Have a great weekend, Brandie!

  9. Jade @ Reading With Jade says:

    Lots of great incoming titles.

    I feel you on the sickness front… Alexander started nursery (pre-k in the US I believe) in January and he has been picking up everything and anything since! It is tiring! Roll on the warm weather! Yay for getting out on a run!

    I hope you had a lovely weekend, and got that TGI Friday’s. It’s funny you day that though, as I was craving the exact same thing and we went on Saturday!

    Wishing you a wonderful week!

  10. evaallbooksconsidered says:

    Yay new books!

    I haven’t read anything by Zapata yet but I hear good things so I hope her other books aren’t like that!

Leave a Reply

