{Review} Behind Her Eyes

28965131

about the book

Louise is a single mom, a secretary, stuck in a modern-day rut. On a rare night out, she meets a man in a bar and sparks fly. Though he leaves after they kiss, she’s thrilled she finally connected with someone.

When Louise arrives at work on Monday, she meets her new boss, David. The man from the bar. The very married man from the bar…who says the kiss was a terrible mistake but who still can’t keep his eyes off Louise.

And then Louise bumps into Adele, who’s new to town and in need of a friend, but she also just happens to be married to David. David and Adele look like the picture-perfect husband and wife, but then why is David so controlling, and why is Adele so scared of him?

As Louise is drawn into David and Adele’s orbit, she uncovers more puzzling questions than answers. The only thing that is crystal clear is that something in this marriage is very, very wrong, but Louise can’t guess how wrong―and how far a person might go to protect their marriage’s secrets.

My Thoughts

Everyone is talking about the ending to this book, and rightfully so. It’s pretty crazy. As in so crazy that it’s hard to believe. It’s surprising and bizarre and if you read this book you’ll have to suspend all disbelief to enjoy it. Thankfully I was able to do that, and I did enjoy it. I know that’s not easy for everyone to do, but I think it’s definitely worth reading.

Bottom Line

Suspenseful page-turner that will leave you speechless at the end.

4 Stars

Genre: Mystery, Suspense/Thriller

Standalone

Published January 31, 2017 by Flatiron Books

Length: 320 pages

9 thoughts on “{Review} Behind Her Eyes

  1. Nadia says:

    This book sounds good, but I’m just not too keen on the the paranormal aspect of it. I want to read it, but I’m just not sure I’d enjoy it. I definitely do enjoy books when you have to suddenly suspend all belief, but for some reason this one is calling out to me. I’m glad you enjoyed it so much. You make it sound so good 🙂

    • Brandie says:

      It is really bizarre. And far-fetched. I think the only reason I was okay with it was because the book kept me guessing until the end. It was suspenseful and quick to read. And once the weird stuff started to get revealed, I had figured out what was going to happen, so maybe it softened the WTF factor for me. Lol. It’s definitely not going to be for everyone. If you read it, I’d love to know what you think!

    • Brandie says:

      I completely understand. This book isn’t going to be for everyone. It’s far-fetched for sure. I think the suspense and the fact it kept me guessing until the end helped me see past that other bizarre stuff.

  2. Yvo says:

    Hmmm it sounds like I have to be in the right mood for this one, thanks for the warning! I’ll definitely get a copy some time this year and wait for the right moment. Great review!

  3. Kathy Reads Fiction says:

    I’m starting this one on Monday and so eager to get to that ending everyone is talking about. I’m just glad my copy finally came in the mail. It seems like it took forever. I’ve had to suspend my disbelief (that’s a great way to put it, by the way) before in books, so I can’t wait to see what disbelief I’m suspending. lol Hope you’re feeling better!

Leave a Reply

