Five Things Friday ~ 2-17-17

1. this week in reading

31141489 29091461

Both were highly anticipated reads, and both were just meh. Kind of a bummer.

29095428

This one is getting a lot of good attention lately, so I picked it up a few nights ago. I’m telling ya, I need this book to be fantastic and get me out of my reading funk!

 

2. New Books I’m excited about

  33413128 30038906

3. fun thing(s) from the week

On Monday we told Sunnie about going to Disney. She had the most precious reaction. To say she’s excited is an understatement! She has been counting down the days. Being the OCD person that I am, I’ve already gotten the suitcase out and started packing. To be able to wear shorts for a couple days will be awesome! The weather is looking to be fantastic while we’re down there.

And today I’m going to Sunnie’s school to help with her Valentine’s Party all afternoon. I love being in her classroom whenever I can.

4. life happens

I went from a small flu bug to a cold virus, so that has been real fun. I was so worried it was a sinus infection and I didn’t want to be sick on vacation, so I went to stat care earlier in the week. Of course it’s viral (that’s their answer to everything), and they wouldn’t give me anything for it. All I wanted was a damn ZPACK! Those things work miracles. Alas, I have been taking Sudafed and after a few days of absolute misery, I’m feeling human again today! Human enough to disinfect the house and clean it. The only down side is I still have a slight cough, and I’ve completely lost my voice. I don’t think my hubby would call that a downside. 😉

5. looking ahead

Tomorrow I plan on surprising Sunnie and taking her to get ‘manicures’, which translates to just having her nails painted. I want to get mine done too – I thought it would be a fun girly thing to do before we leave for Florida. I’ve never taken her before, so it should be fun.

And then Monday morning we get up bright and early and have to be at the airport by 5 am for our flight. Disney, here we come!

You won’t see a Wednesday post from me next week, but I’ll hopefully be back with a post on Friday.

Happy Friday and enjoy your weekend!

 

cheers!
12 thoughts on “Five Things Friday ~ 2-17-17

  1. Grace @ Rebel Mommy Book Blog says:

    I am so sad Undeclared was meh. Makes me sad. I hope you LOVE On Second Thought. I just finished my first Emery Lord book and thought it was fantastic so I am super excited for The Names They Gave Us. Aw how cute about Sunnie and Disney. Hope you have an amazing time!!! Have a great weekend too!

    • Brandie says:

      You will probably like Undeclared…I think it’s just my mood lately. I’ll probably be in the minority on it. I’m so glad you loved On Second Thought!! I’m loving her writing style. It’s so good so far. FINALLY a book that I want to pick up. I saw on Goodreads that you loved that Lord book…I can’t wait to read her new one and see what she’s all about. I’m hearing her new one is her best yet.
      Thank you!! Have a great weekend!

  2. Nadia says:

    Sorry about the meh books – they are the worst. Hope your new ones are great 🙂 Yay for Disney! Sunnie is going to have a blast! Enjoy the sunshine 🙂 That rots about being sick. Glad you are feeling better – just in time for Disney. Mother-daughter manicures – how cute! Hope you have a great weekend. Have a safe trip to Disney!! You are all going to have such a wonderful time 🙂

  3. Kathy Reads Fiction says:

    I’m glad you’re feeling better. I went to the urgent care clinic and was told the same thing. I got nothing. Just a virus with no name, and if I don’t have the flu, then it missed a good chance at getting a host…me. Mommy-daughter manicures sounds great and what bonding time! So, your plan to fly is making it hard for me to join you on your trip to Disney. It would have been so much easier for me if you had driven. Geez. Kill a stowaway’s plans why don’t ya? 😉 Have fun!

Leave a Reply

