Five Things Friday ~ 2-3-17

1. this week in reading

33143435

Really enjoying this one…just haven’t had as much time to read as I want. Which you wouldn’t think is the case with me being home.

 

2. New Books I’m excited about

30007916 11557000 28862387 33037374 22296822 31208654

31558744 30065677 30164428 28965131 24331409

I am so excited about all of these books. Now I just need time to read them.

3. fun thing(s) from the week

Treated myself to a little shopping/retail therapy this week. Have a new Kindle Paperwhite on it’s way today (my other one is several years old and getting super slow…worried it’s about to die soon) and found some fun stuff at Target yesterday (I should just hand over all my money when I go into that store). Also bought myself my first pair of Doc Marten’s and I LOVE them. Only took me 20+ years to get a pair, but better late than never. 😉

4. life happens

When I decided to quit my job, I never imagined another opportunity would come my way so quickly. Especially one so perfect for me. I was asked to be the assistant to the Chairman Emeritus at my previous employer (previous as in two weeks ago..lol). It is a part time role that allows the flexibility I was looking for, including work from home days. I will still get more time with Sunnie, while having a career and doing something I love.

I won’t be returning until the end of February, which gives me a few more weeks to enjoy time at home. But I’m really excited for this new opportunity and change of pace. It will allow me to be more present in my daughters life and be more active in her school functions. Sometimes taking a big risk in life pays off, and I’m grateful this one did.

5. looking ahead

I’m working with a Disney planner for a 4 day trip in a few weeks. We haven’t told Sunnie because we want to surprise her. The look on her face will be priceless.

I get to be a helper in Sunnie’s class on Monday for their 100th day of school. Really looking forward to that. Tomorrow night my parents asked to have Sunnie for a sleepover, so hubby and I plan to go to dinner (I’m thinking at a winery) to finally celebrate my new job and the fact we’re getting a date night. I caught the flu bug the last time we were supposed to have a date night, so it was a bust.

Happy Friday and enjoy your weekend!

 

cheers!
15 thoughts on “Five Things Friday ~ 2-3-17

  1. Beth McCraw says:

    Congratulations on your new job!! That’s wonderful!!

    I bought the Mists of Serengeti and Caravall! I’ve been waiting for Caraval seems like forever and MoS is getting rave reviews so I had to get it for the price lol. Congrats on the new kindle!! Did you get a white one? Next one I get (which won’t be for a long time since mine is just a year old) will be a white one I think!
    Hope you’re feeling better and the Disney trip sounds fun! You all will have a great time!!

  2. Nadia says:

    Wow! This job definitely sounds like it will fit into your life perfectly – woo hoo! Enjoy your last weeks off with your family 🙂 Those books all sound so good! I know what you mean about Target, you go for one thing and come out with a buggy full – LOL! Disney will be so much fun!! Sunnie is going to LOVE it 🙂 Have a great weekend!!

  3. Rebecca says:

    You have a lot of books on that list I would like to read: Caraval, The Bear and the Nightingale, and Snow like Ashes. If only I could just read all day long! (and get paid to do it).

  4. Rachel @The Readers Den says:

    Congratulations on your new job, Brandie! That’s awesome you get to work at home a few days.

    I’m looking forward to JLA’s adult mystery, I’ve heard good things. Arlene sent me a copy and I was thrilled to get it!

    I bet Sunnie will be thrilled about Disney (land or world?)! 🙂

    • Brandie says:

      Disney World in Florida! I can’t wait to tell her!! She’s going to be so excited.
      Arlene sent me a copy, too!! I was so excited to get it. It sounds really good. 🙂
      Thanks, Rachel!!

Leave a Reply

