{WWW Wednesday} 2-1-17

W… W… W… Wednesday, hosted by Taking on a World of Worlds is a weekly meme showcasing what you just finished reading, what you are currently reading, and what you plan to start reading next. Except I’m changing it up a bit, since I can never plan what I’m reading next (moody reader). Instead I’m going to talk about a book I’ve recently added to my TBR that I’m excited about!

 

Hi! I’m still here! Living the temporary retired life and loving it. But it will be short lived, as I was offered a fantastic opportunity that I could not pass up. It’s a part time position that will allow me to work from home and have the flexibility I wanted. I won’t be officially starting my new role until the end of February, so there’s still a few weeks left to enjoy my temporary stay-at-home-mom status.

I get to be in Sunnie’s classroom a few days over the next couple of weeks, which makes me happy. The whole point of the big decision to quite my job was to be able to participate more in her classroom and just have more time with her, and with my new gig, I’ll be able to do that.

Last week my hubby was on vacation, and that was my reason for being off the grid. We spent time together and had a good week. Surprisingly I have not gotten as many books read as I had imagined since being off work! I have been too busy doing other things. It seems like I can always find things that need to be done at home, errands to run, etc. It is never ending.

 

what i recently finished reading

33154067 29236298

30160836 30988423

I finished more books that I thought, although it has been a few weeks since my last post. I thought Final Girls was awesome. It’s definitely going to be a reader favorite this year. Especially when Stephen King is endorsing it. Gemina was really good. I didn’t love it as much as Illuminae – it was a slower read for me – but still really good. Lisa Gardner’s new book was disappointing. Her books are either hit or miss for me, and this one was a miss. And I wasn’t impressed with my first Sara Blaedel book. I’ve heard the earlier books in this series are better, so I plan to go back to the beginning and give her another shot.

 

 what i’m currently reading

33143435 32620332

After so many ‘meh’ reads in a row, I was hoping my next book would be better. So far I’m loving Mists of the Serengeti. It’s heartbreaking and beautiful. Attar’s writing is right up there with Amy Harmon and Colleen Hoover.

I was so excited that a book friend went to ALA a few weeks ago and sent me a copy of the new TJR book. I’ve been reading it slowly and enjoying every minute.

 

WHat i have recently added to my tbr

30007916
This book is so outside of my comfort zone. One of my friends invited me to join a local book club and this is their choice for next month. I’ve seen great reviews and heard it’s fantastic, so I’m giving it a try!

 

 Reading anything good this week?

 

19 thoughts on “{WWW Wednesday} 2-1-17

    • Brandie says:

      Thanks!! It won’t be every day, but a few days a week. The other days I’ll be in the office but only for about 5 hours a day. I’m going to be Tim Smuckers personal assistant. He’s the retired chairman but is still on the board of several companies. So I’m technically going back to Smuckers but it’s a unique role that will allow me the flexibility I wanted.

  1. Michelle says:

    Congratulations on the new job! I can’t wait to hear all about it. In the meantime, enjoy the rest of your time off and the extra time with Sunny. Hopefully, you will hit on some really great reads in the next few weeks.

  2. joyousreads says:

    When I was off work, I couldn’t focus on reading at all because I was worried about what’s ahead for me. But I’m glad you’ve found an ideal position! What I would do to be able to work at home. Sigh.

    Have a great week, Brandie!

  3. Lori Palmer (@palmerspageturn) says:

    I LOVE how you changed it up and use What I Added to My TBR intead of what I’m reading next!! I never know what I’m gonna read next until I finish my current read! I can guess, but I may not be in the mood for it when it comes time! Great edit!

  4. Nadia says:

    Brandie, Congrats on your new job!! How exciting! It sounds like the perfect fit for what you want – I’m so happy for you 🙂

    I couldn’t get into The Final Girls for some reason. That’s disappointing about the Gardner book, but you are right – they are hit or miss. I do want to read the TJR book. I think you’ll like the Towles book – its slow-going, but worth it.

    Have a great weekend!!

    • Brandie says:

      Thanks so much, Nadia!! You’re so sweet. 🙂 I’m sorry to hear you didn’t like Final Girls. But I’m glad to know you enjoyed Towles book! I am excited to try it, even though it’s a little out of my norm.

Leave a Reply

