Five Things Friday ~ 1-13-17

I’m a few days behind on my post…life has been a bit crazy this week!

1. this week in reading

23395680 29236298

You guys!!! If you haven’t picked up Illuminae, you need to immediately! I am kicking myself for not reading this book sooner. It is SO GOOD. You can read my review here, but trust me, you need to read this book.

And since I’m in the WORST book hangover since finishing it, I am now reading Gemina and hoping it’s just as good.

 

2. New Books I’m excited about

31178536 31448671 32734771 29338023 20983366

I am SO excited about my book haul this week. Especially The Sleepwalker and the Passenger series.

3. fun thing(s) from the week

Hubby and I got a date night on Friday, because my parents had Sunnie for a sleepover. We went out to dinner, and then had a relaxing evening at home where I fell asleep on the couch at 9:00. 😉

4. life happens

So, I resigned from my job this week. I’ve been there just shy of 19 years, having started there when I was in high school. And up until this past year I have always loved where I work and what I do. But there have been some major changes in the business recently that had me reevaluating what I want to do with my life and if it was time for a change. After several months of discussing it with my husband, we decided it was time for me to move on and try something new. Put myself out there and see what else I can do. If I’m going to be working for another 30 years, I should be doing something I enjoy. Because damn it, life is too short! And while I’m figuring out what it is I want to do, I’m going to take some time off to be with my family. We are planning to surprise Sunnie with a trip to Disney at the end of February – I can not wait to see the look on her face when we tell her!

I’ve applied for different jobs, and have had a few phone interviews, but I’m not in a big hurry to jump right into the next thing. I want to explore my options and make sure I’m making the right decision for me and my family. I know that I’m capable of so much more than I’m doing now, and I’m ready to put myself out there. It’s a bit scary, having been at the same job for so long, but I am desperately ready for a change. And if I was ever going to try something new, now is the time to do it! I feel really good about my decision. I’m happier than I’ve been in a long time, and I’m so excited for the future. In the meantime I am going to enjoy this time off as much as I can.

 

5. looking ahead

My last day in the office is this Friday the 20th, and my friends are throwing a happy hour for me. It will be hard to say goodbye – I grew up at this place and the friendships are priceless. I know I will shed some tears. But I am so excited for what the future holds for me and my family.

The following week my hubby is on vacation. I am really excited to be home with him on my first official week of being a temporary stay-at-home mom. Because of the nature of his job, we rarely get to take full weeks of vacation together. We don’t have much planned really because Sunnie will be in school all week. Maybe a little day drinking. 😉

 

hAPPY WEEKEND! What’s left of it, anyway.
26 thoughts on “Five Things Friday ~ 1-13-17

  1. Beth says:

    Wow, congratulations on the major life step!! How exciting!! I’ve been dealing with the same issues for the past few months, and I’m just praying I’ll make the right decision when the time comes. Best of luck!

    I’m in a major MAJOR book funk after Illuminae. I’m trying to read another series I have yet to finish but I’m not getting into it, I may need to go ahead with Gemina too lol!!

    • Brandie says:

      Thank you! It’s a bit scary to make such a big change, but then I think about how life is too short and it’s not worth it to be unhappy. Do what YOU want to do and what will make life worth living! I’m really glad I finally made this decision. 🙂
      Seriously…I’ve tried two other books and I can’t even get into anything. Illuminae was so good it has ruined me for other books right now! Lol. Hopefully Gemina fixes me.

  2. Renee says:

    Best of luck on all the exciting changes you’ve got going on! And Disney sounds awesome!! I have to say I’ve seen Illuminae around other blogs and I’ve completely passed it by based on the title and never having heard of it before recently. But when I hear a book causes such a book hangover I must check it out:)

  3. Yvo says:

    I’ll be looking forward to your thoughts on Gemina! And I love your haul; I need to get a copy of Two Days Gone and the Passenger series ASAP. I hope you are having a lovely weekend! ❤

  4. stephaniesbookreviews says:

    Wow congrats on making such a big decision and good luck on the job search! Job searching can be so stressful, but it’s nice that you have some time to find just the right one. What kind of job are you looking for?

    I have put off reading Illuminae for so long because it’s not really a good e-book option and I wasn’t sure it looked like it would be my thing. But since you liked it so much I might have to finally give it a try! I look forward to hearing what you think of Passenger. I ended up DNF-ing that one – it just wasn’t for me.

    • Brandie says:

      I was an administrative Assistant for 16 years. I don’t know if I want to do that again. Unless it’s at a school and I get summers off. That is my ideal job. 😉 I’m looking at office Manager positions. Or being an assistant that has more responsibility than the average.
      Definitely read the hardback version of Illuminae. I think you might like it. Do you like sci fi?

      • stephaniesbookreviews says:

        Have you looked at the local colleges? I often see admin asst jobs posted for them. I don’t think the pay is great, but maybe summers off? I’m not a huge sci fi fan, but I did fall in love with Red Rising, so I’m not opposed to it by any means.

      • Brandie says:

        I’ve only been looking on Indeed and Monster. I’ll look on their websites and see what I can find. Thanks!
        I really think it’s worth trying. I think you might like it.

      • stephaniesbookreviews says:

        Also, look at the Ohio Means Job site. I think they listings that are on all the other sites. There are also a whole lot of other things on there (we had a presentation about it at work once – but I don’t quite remember what all the feature are). The local Ohio Means Jobs / Employment Source offices can also be good resources – they sometimes have jobs that aren’t posted anywhere else. However, when I was job searching I found most of it was for entry-level jobs or entry-level job seekers, so it might not be very helpful to you. I mostly used it to print out resumes and fax things, if needed.

  5. Laurel-Rain Snow says:

    Congratulations on your decision, and I hope you will find exactly what you need moving forward. Enjoy the time in-between.

    I had a thirty year career in my social work position, and 3/4 of that time was pretty satisfying, albeit stressful.

    But by the time I stopped enjoying it, I knew that I would be giving up that pension I would need…so I stayed. I don’t regret it, but everyone has to decide what works best for herself.

    Great looking books! I loved The Sleepwalker, and I’m curious about Two Days Gone. Enjoy!

  6. StephTheBookworm says:

    Brandie, what big and exciting news! I’m so happy for you and proud of you for deciding to make a big change that’ll bring you more happiness! That takes courage to leave the familiar and go into the unknown and you are courageous. Good for you! I hope you find something you love. I know you will. I wish we lived near each other because I’d totally recruit you for my library lol. Are you going back FT again or PT?

    • Brandie says:

      Thank you, Steph! It’s scary and exciting at the same time. I would love to work for a library. I’ve been keeping my eye out for any job openings around me. Ideally I’d love to go PT if we could afford it. Depends on how much I would make.

  7. Nadia says:

    Brandie, Wow! Talk about life changes. Congrats on going for what you want and taking the time to decide what that is. I think that is so brave and inspiring. You are so right, about knowing that you will be working for another 30 years and that it should be something you want to be doing – I love that! I wish you the best of luck with figuring it all out – I just know you will be awesome at whatever you choose to do.

    The Illuminae book sounds good. I need to check it out. Are you going to read the new Veronica Roth series? I was thinking of getting it. I loved Divergent, so I’m hoping it will be fun like that.

    I have some of those you are looking forward to – they all sound good, hopefully they will be 🙂

    Disney will be fun and Sunnie will love it.

    Have a great week!!

    • Brandie says:

      Thanks so much, Nadia!! I’m scared, but hopeful!
      I never finished the Divergent series. I’ll have to look into her new series. Illuminae is awesome!
      Have a great week, too!

  8. Jade @ Reading With Jade says:

    Well, that is quite the life change! I wish you the best of luck on this new journey of yours, and the right job will come up at the right time. I think the philosophy you hold of wanting to enjoy the job you’ll be doing for the next however many years is a very true one and this seems like a wise decision you’ve made. Enjoy all the time off you get, and Disney eh – I’m sure Sunnie is going to love that!

    I’ve had my eye on the Passenger series for a while now, but I have heard some mixed thoughts. I do love time travel though – I’ll keep my eye out for your thoughts on those.

    I hope you’re having a great week, and happy reading!

  9. Jasprit (@jaskaur11) says:

    Wow so much going on for you Brandie, I know how you’re feeling job-wise, its been a struggle with my work too, that I have been considering changing to something else. It’s a scary time, but onto bigger and better things! And you totally deserve the break. I hope you guys have an amazing time at Disneyland, I can’t wait to see your photos!

  10. Michelle says:

    Congratulations on taking a huge risk and making things happen! You are absolutely correct that if you have to work for the next 30 years, you have to be happy with what you do. Good luck on the job search and enjoy your time out of the workforce!

  11. Rachel says:

    Well done you for making such a big decision! You’re an inspiration to me, as it’s something I’ve been chewing over for a little while, but I’m not in the position to leave until the *right* opportunity comes along, which I’m actively looking out for now, whereas before I was passively doggy paddling. Excited to see where this change in direction takes you! R xx

Leave a Reply

