{Review} I Found You

30755063

about the book

A young bride, a lonely single mother, and an amnesiac man of dubious origin lie at the heart of New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jewell’s next suspenseful drama that will appeal to fans of Liane Moriarty and Paula Hawkins.

In a windswept British seaside town, single mom Alice Lake finds a man sitting on the beach outside her house. He has no name, no jacket, and no idea how he got there. Against her better judgment, she invites him inside.

Meanwhile, in a suburb of London, twenty-one-year-old Lily Monrose has only been married for three weeks. When her new husband fails to come home from work one night she is left stranded in a new country where she knows no one. Then the police tell her that her husband never existed.

Twenty-three years earlier, Gray and Kirsty are teenagers on a summer holiday with their parents. Their annual trip to the quaint seaside town is passing by uneventfully, until an enigmatic young man starts paying extra attention to Kirsty. Something about him makes Gray uncomfortable—and it’s not just that he’s playing the role of protective older brother.

Two decades of secrets, a missing husband, and a man with no memory are at the heart of this brilliant new novel, filled with the “beautiful writing, believable characters, pacey narrative, and dark secrets” (London Daily Mail) that make Lisa Jewell so beloved by audiences on both sides of the Atlantic.

My Thoughts

I really enjoyed this one. It kept me guessing, although I had some of the story figured out, I was still surprised by other revelations. Once things started happening, I didn’t want to put it down. In fact, I found myself staying up way later than I normally do to finish it.

I love when a book goes back and forth between the past and present, dropping clues until the pieces of the puzzle start to come together. And although I wasn’t keen on some of the characters, the author’s writing definitely won me over and had me anxious to pick it up every chance I got.

Bottom Line

Fast-paced with some unexpected surprises – a very enjoyable mystery that will most likely find it’s way onto everyone’s reading list this year.

3.5 Stars

Genre: Mystery/Suspense

Standalone

Expected Publication: April 25, 2017 by Atria Books

Length: 352 pages

ARC kindly provided by the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “{Review} I Found You

  1. Yvo says:

    Great review! I’ll definitely keep this one in mind. The unlikeable characters and well written prose definitely sound similar to the experience I had with one of her other novels The Girls.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s