{Review} The Hating Game

 28938849

about the book

Nemesis (n.)
1) An opponent or rival whom a person cannot best or overcome;
2) A person’s undoing;
3) Joshua Templeman.

Lucy Hutton and Joshua Templeman hate each other. Not dislike. Not begrudgingly tolerate. Hate. And they have no problem displaying their feelings through a series of ritualistic passive aggressive maneuvers as they sit across from each other, executive assistants to co-CEOs of a publishing company. Lucy can’t understand Joshua’s joyless, uptight, meticulous approach to his job. Joshua is clearly baffled by Lucy’s overly bright clothes, quirkiness, and Pollyanna attitude.

Now up for the same promotion, their battle of wills has come to a head and Lucy refuses to back down when their latest game could cost her her dream job…But the tension between Lucy and Joshua has also reached its boiling point, and Lucy is discovering that maybe she doesn’t hate Joshua. And maybe, he doesn’t hate her either. Or maybe this is just another game.

My Thoughts

I was so hesitant to try this book at first because of all the hype surrounding it. My expectations were high, and I didn’t want to be disappointed. Well, this book is worth every penny, and I can hardly believe it’s the author’s debut novel! I loved this book so much. I happened to be in a book slump when I picked it up, and it brought me right out of it. I didn’t want to put it down! The characters, the banter, the tension, the slow build romance. It was all fantastic, and I can’t wait to see what the author writes next!

Bottom Line

The perfect enemies-to-lovers book that will make you laugh out loud one minute and swoon the next. Worth every bit of the hype.

5 Stars

Genre: Adult Contemporary, Romance

Standalone

Published August 9, 2016 by William Morrow

Length: 384 pages

20 thoughts on “{Review} The Hating Game

  1. Kathryn says:

    The first few reviews I saw for this book I passed right by. Then I started to have a look at some and then… I put it onto my wishlist to read. I love that you loved it so hopefully 2017 will see me read it.

  2. Renee says:

    Great review Brandie! I’ve had my eye on this one when I’m in the mood for a feel good romance. It’s so fun to find a good book when a slump occurs!

  3. kimberlyfaye says:

    This book was damn near perfect! No, scratch that, there’s not a single thing I would change. (Except maybe to give me MORE … because I’m greedy.) I just finished it but I still want to reread it… like, right now. So flipping good!

Leave a Reply

