A Very Merry Christmas Survey

I saw this post from Grace at Rebel Mommy Book Blog and thought it looked like fun! Original post from Lindsay’s Library.

Favorite Christmas song(s):

Carol of the Bells

I have several favorite renditions of this song, including Leann Rimes and Trans-Siberian Orchestra.

Favorite Christmas movie(s):

National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation

1385492092364243_animate

Rudolph, Frosty, the Grinch or Charlie Brown?:

Before Sunnie I would’ve said The Grinch. But her obsession with Charlie Brown has made me look forward to watching it with her every year.

Best and/or most memorable Christmas gift you ever received:

The year Sunnie was born, my reading was taking a nose dive. It was hard to multi-task and get any books read. You can imagine what a bummer that was for a bookworm like me. My hubby bought me my first Kindle that Christmas. I was totally anti-Kindle up until that point, and after I had one, it totally changed my life. It made reading much easier, and I’ve been Kindle-obsessed ever since!

kindle

Real tree or artificial tree?:

Artificial. As a kid we used to get a real tree (until I was older and my parents went artificial). With cats, a real tree is not realistic for us. I love the idea of it, and maybe if my cats stop being assholes someday we could try it.

What tops your tree? Star? Angel? Bow?:

Bow! Gotta love Target – I went with a red and black plaid theme this year, and I love it.

capture

Do you send out Christmas cards? Do you go photo card or traditional?:

No. I’m super lazy. I did it the first two years after Sunnie was born (photo cards), and then I stopped. We have a very small family, so not many people to send the cards to. Plus, I just don’t want to. It’s not my thing.

When did you stop believing in Santa?:

I honestly don’t remember how old I was. I just remember having to pretend for a few years, because of my little brother.

Do you have any special Christmastime traditions?:

Besides putting up the tree and decorations, Sunnie and I make cut out cookies with my mom. It’s my great grandmother’s recipe, and we’ve made them every year since I was a kid. Sunnie loves to bake and frost the cookies. Baking is not my thing, but I do it for her. And then I beg my husband to eat them all so I’m not tempted by them. 😉

Do you have a favorite type of decoration — snowmen, trees, Christmas village, etc.?:

My old world Santa. I stole it from my mom a few years ago. She has collected lots of Santa decorations over the years, and this one was always my absolute favorite.

santa

Do you have any sentimental decorations or ornaments?:

The past two years Sunnie has made me a Christmas garland to hang on the fireplace mantel. This year it’s snowmen, angels, and Santas. So cute.

White lights or colored lights? Big old-fashioned lights or mini lights?:

White lights on our tree. We are lazy and don’t put up any decorations outside.

When do you start decorating for Christmas?:

Every year I say I’m waiting until the weekend after Thanksgiving, and every year my daughter and husband talk me into it early. This year it was the weekend before Thanksgiving.

Favorite Christmas treat:

Russian Tea Cakes/Snowball cookies and the cut out cookies we make.

Do you like sugar cookies? Gingerbread cookies?:

Definitely sugar cookies. Not a big fan of gingerbread.

Do you have cocoa or hot chocolate? Do you like your warm chocolate-y beverage with marshmallows?:

There’s a difference? I don’t really care for hot chocolate, actually. But if I drink it, I definitely want marshmallows!

What do you eat at your Christmas feast?:

It varies each year. We’ve had ham, pasta, steak.

Do you open any presents on Christmas Eve or do you wait until Christmas morning?:

If we celebrate with any of the family, we’ll open gifts that night. Usually we go to my husband’s aunt’s house on Christmas Eve and open presents there. We have gone to my parents’ and exchanged gifts on Christmas Eve, too.

Favorite Christmas-y scent?:

Apple Cinnamon. Which is my favorite scent all the time, and what I have in my burners all year long. 😀

If you could ask Santa for any gift this year — and know that he’d bring it — what would it be?:

CASH. Or an Amazon gift card would be nice, too. 😉

Merry Christmas!

11 thoughts on “A Very Merry Christmas Survey

  1. joyousreads says:

    I think I’m getting into the point where I can no longer have physical copies of books. So I might just get on the Kindle/Audible bandwagon soon. We also don’t put up lights outside my house but I do have a wreathe on my front door. 🙂

    I just love Christmas – not necessarily the spending too much money, but just being with my family.

    Thanks for sharing, Brandie!

  2. Jasprit (@jaskaur11) says:

    Oh this is a wonderful post Brandie! Christmas is definitely one of my favourite holidays too, last year we put our Christmas tree really early, but this year we did it on the first, but we do have a few presents wrapped and under the tree already. I used to be anti-kindle too, but ever since I got mine, I can’t go without it! I hope you and your family have a wonderful Christmas Brandie! 🙂

    • Brandie says:

      Thanks!! Lol, I had a little Primitive tree for a long time. We finally got this one and it’s pretty small because our house is tiny. And now it’s falling apart thanks to the cats. Lol

  3. Amanda @ Good in The Stacks says:

    I love this tag thing! I’m going to do it tomorrow. I’m so glad my cat was raised by the dogs and pretty much leaves the real tree alone. Oddly enough, it’s the tiny and horrendously tacky artificial tree on the dresser she’s obsessed with.

Leave a Reply

