Five Things Friday ~ 11-11-16

I’ve been tossing around doing a weekly recap post lately. I’ve seen different variations of Five Things Friday on many blogs that I think is fun, so I decided to create a mix of the two. I figure a few topics will be consistent each week, but I’ll change up the rest. We’ll see how it goes!

 

Thank you veterans, past, present, and future, for your service and dedication. You are the true heroes. 

 

1. this week in reading

28938849 29087466

Another two weeks has gone by with me in a reading slump. WHY?!?! I hate when nothing appeals to me. I think I started 5 books and nothing could hold my attention. Then I picked up The Hating Game and THANK THE BOOK GODS…I loved it. I couldn’t put it down. It was fantastic, and I FINALLY FINISHED A BOOK. Now I’m back to not really knowing what I’m in the mood for. I started Keepsake and got about 20% into it…I’m not loving it as much as the other books in the series, yet. But I’m not giving up – I have hope it’ll turn around, because I love this series so much.

 

2. New Books I’m excited about

31176886 30755148 29341383 31300046 22752127

I think I’m starting The Chemist this weekend. Maybe. Depends on my mood, but I’m dying to read it. I’m pretty excited about all of these books!

 

3. fun thing(s) from the week

I ran 3 days this week, and have plans to run tomorrow morning. That is BIG for me, after not being able to run more than once a week for over a month. It makes me really happy, and I’m feeling good again. Hamstring is still not 100%, and I’m trying to take more rest days than I normally would so I don’t re-injure myself. It’s amazing how improved my mood is now that I’ve gotten back into a running/workout routine. Those endorphins – they are addicting!

 

4. life happens

Of everything I saw on social media the past few days, this was one of my favorites.

capture

 

5. looking ahead

I am so glad it’s Friday.  I have been feeling the burn out for a few days and need a couple of days to recharge. We have no real plans all weekend, and I have been itching to do some serious re-organizing in my house. I feel a purge coming on. I think that’s what I’ll spend a lot of my time doing tomorrow.

 

Cheers!
21 thoughts on “Five Things Friday ~ 11-11-16

  1. Nadia says:

    Brandie, I’m glad you enjoyed The Hating Game – such a fun book! I need to get a copy of The Chemist. Part of me wishes she would write another Twilight book – maybe Nessie’s grown up and Bella and Edward are dealing with her dating a wolf. LOL! That’s great you were able to run this week. Sounds like you are definitely healing well 🙂 I like that quote you posted – such a good one! Enjoy your weekend!!

  2. pennma05 says:

    The Chemist! I put that one on my birthday/Christmas this year so hopefully someone comes through ahah! I’m dying to read it. I hear ya on the purge. I’ve been feeling I need to do one soon too.

    • Brandie says:

      I couldn’t resist buying the Kindle version. I hope it was worth it! Purging is good for the soul. I get the urge a few times of year. It’s nice to go through and get rid of stuff!

      • pennma05 says:

        I can’t wait to see what you think of it! I’m definitely buying it after the holidays if I don’t receive it as a gift. I’m excited to see her write for adults. I’ve been wanting to purge for so long but have been too busy to do anything. Makes me sad haha!

  3. Laurel-Rain Snow says:

    I like this post! And I’m curious, now, about The Hating Game.

    When you said you felt a purge coming on, I started to get that familiar itch, too. But…my granddaughter says she needs to come and stay for a couple of weeks. So, we shall see what happens. Maybe she can help sort out my garage!

    Thanks for sharing.

  4. Michelle says:

    I am so glad you are healing and able to run; I know how much it means to you!

    Good luck on your purge! I will admit to considering the same. I am just not happy with my closet these days.

    Have a great weekend!

  5. Rachel @The Readers Den says:

    I’m loving The Hating Game, too, Brandie!

    I’m happy to hear you’re getting back into your running routine. I am getting back into the swing of things after having Bronchitis and finally making my step goals again. It is depressing when you can’t exercise. I feel like every bite that crosses my lips will end up on my thighs or stomach, lol! Have a great weekend organizing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

