Five Things Friday ~ 10-28-16

I’ve been tossing around doing a weekly recap post lately. I’ve seen different variations of Five Things Friday on many blogs that I think is fun, so I decided to create a mix of the two. I figure a few topics will be consistent each week, but I’ll change up the rest. We’ll see how it goes!

 

 

1. this week in reading

  27343696 25566506     

I haven’t had much reading time the past few days, but I’m really enjoying From Sand and Ash. I wanted to get at least one more creepy read in for Halloween, so I started Yesternight, and so far it’s good!

 

2. New Books I’m excited about

  29087466 31823218

Both of these books released this week, and I’m really excited to read them!

 

3. fun thing(s) from the week

I recently gushed about Amy Harmon and falling in love with her books. I was way late to the game – I had several friends recommend her books to me, and I should have listened! Well, I came home Monday to the best book mail!

harmon

Today, for the first time in the 18 years of working at the same Company, we were allowed to dress up for Halloween! Of course I’m wearing something totally appropriate for my personality (so says my husband), and it gives me the chance to wear my Lularoe Halloween leggings to work!

halloween

 

4. life happens

Our house has been battling the cold and cough for a week. I feel like this is becoming a regular thing! I am looking forward to sleeping in tomorrow after several rough nights of broken sleep. I need to get in a good workout tomorrow, too, after taking a break from it this week.

 

5. looking ahead

 Tomorrow night our plans are to order pizza and have a Halloween movie marathon. Sunday is trick or treat, and right now they’re calling for rain. Really hoping the forecast changes before then!

And of course we’ll be watching the World Series. Go Tribe!

 

Cheers!
17 thoughts on “Five Things Friday ~ 10-28-16

  1. StephTheBookworm says:

    I love your costume – so festive!

    Oh my gosh, is your town one of those places where you trick or treat on the weekend if Halloween falls on a weekday? That is so funny and cool! Around here, we always trick or treat on the actual day so the kids have to go out on Monday this year.

    Hope the colds leave your house soon!

  2. Rachel @The Readers Den says:

    I’m going to read A Different Blue from Amy Harmon soon. I hope you enjoy her historical.

    Your night in tomorrow sounds wonderful! You look cute in your costume! I think it’s a great idea to trick or treat on the weekend instead of the actual day. I’ve never heard of that custom, but the traffic is a nightmare on Halloween because everyone is trying to get home in time. Plus, having to go to school the next day kind of sucks. Have a great weekend, Brandie! 🙂

    • Brandie says:

      I really loved A Different Blue. Her writing is fantastic.
      I think it’s a safety thing – around here they prefer to do it in the daylight and on the weekend. Which I appreciate. I just loved trick or treating at night as a kid.
      Thanks, Rachel!! Have a good weekend!

  3. Michelle says:

    No dressing up for me this year, sadly. And both of my kids are too old to want to go trick-or-treating. So, we are going to enjoy a rare weeknight where the entire family is home since all evening practices have been cancelled for Monday.

    Have a great weekend!

  4. Nadia says:

    I love your Friday posts 😉 That costume is great – so fun! Love the leggings!

    Hope you get your sleep and that those colds stop visiting your house. Ordering pizza and watching Halloween sounds great to me. Fingers crossed it doesn’t rain on Sunday!

    Enjoy your new books and have a great weekend!! Happy Halloween!!

  5. kimberlyfaye says:

    I love your costume! We had a Halloween party at my office the Thursday before Halloween, but of course I missed it because I was in Pennsylvania. I’d have loved to find a way to work LLR into my costume. Haha. I hope you enjoy Keepsake and A Place in the Sun! I loved them both!

Leave a Reply

