Five Things Friday ~ 10-21-16

I’ve been tossing around doing a weekly recap post lately. I’ve seen different variations of Five Things Friday on many blogs that I think is fun, so I decided to create a mix of the two. I figure a few topics will be consistent each week, but I’ll change up the rest. We’ll see how it goes!

 

 

1. this week in reading

     29566989  

Fast paced and pretty suspenseful, I am enjoying this one and anxious to figure out what’s going on. Been a little busy the past few evenings and haven’t been able to read much more of it.

 

2. New Books I’m excited about

30222509 29601517 26233572

I think the first time I may have heard of A Tragic Kind of Wonderful was from Grace at Rebel Mommy Book Blog. I was excited to be approved for it on Netgalley. Then my friend Michelle at That’s What She Read posted this awesome review of Stalking Jack the Ripper, so immediately purchased it. And then on my way home from work, I got the Netgalley email approving me for I See You, and I got really excited. Even though I wasn’t the biggest fan of her other book like most people where, I think this one sounds awesome. I even started a little of it last night just because I couldn’t wait – but I didn’t get very far.

 

3. fun thing(s) from the week

Sunnie has dance class every Thursday night. She’s part of a mini jazz competition team, and they started practicing their routine pretty much as soon as the new season began in September. I was able to peek in the room last night and watch her, and she really amazes me. I know I’m biased, but I think my girl has some real talent. The best is that she loves it and works so hard at it, because she loves it so much. Seeing her that happy every Thursday night is everything.

 

4. life happens

I ran on Monday night. It was only a mile, and it was slow as snails, but it was better than nothing. And I haven’t been able to run since. I tried again Wednesday night, but my leg was way too sore. I’m trying my hardest not to get discouraged.

On a happy note – I scored an elliptical for $20!! My girl friend is getting rid of hers, and I jumped at the chance. Everything I read says that using an elliptical will help me cross train and get my running back faster. We’re picking it up on Saturday night, and I can’t wait. Sunday I plan on having a hard core cardio session. I desperately need it!

 

5. looking ahead

Tomorrow is Dewey’s! I’m super excited. My husband has now changed his plans to not go fishing, and asked me what he’s supposed to do all day. Well, one thing will be to leave me alone and let me read. 😉 Maybe make me breakfast. I’m thinking pancakes. Lol. I have a grocery list he can take care of. After all that I’m sure he’ll find something to keep him busy. Ha!

We’re going to friends Saturday night for a fire. Same friends I’m picking up the elliptical from. Sunday I promised to take Sunnie to the bookstore as her reward for reading on Saturday. Which, let’s face it, is just as much a treat for me.

 

Cheers!
16 thoughts on “Five Things Friday ~ 10-21-16

  1. Nadia says:

    Brandie, I love this idea of Five Things Friday – I may have to borrow it 🙂 I read Fractured and really liked it. I usually don’t like her books, but this one I really liked. I got approved for the character’s book, The Murder Game, too. I still need to read it. Should be fun. I just got approved for I See You, too. I hope its good – it sounds like it will be. That’s so cool about Sunnie being in the mini jazz competition team – how fun! I’m sure she’s great at it 🙂 That rots about the running, but slow and steady wins the race, right? Its got to be frustrating, but I’m sure in no time you will be back at it again. That’s awesome you got an elliptical for $20 – what a great deal! I hear those machines are so good. My sister always uses them at the gym, while I use the treadmill. I should probably use the elliptical. Have fun with Dewey! Hope you read a lot of great books! Enjoy those pancakes – yum!

  2. joyousreads says:

    I much rather have an elliptical machine over a treadmill. I have a treadmill at home that’s collecting dust. Gah. I feel so guilty about it! I have to read up on this Dewey readathon to see if it’s doable. I have so much to catch up on, though but I’m buckling down this weekend to read and write.

    Have a great weekend!

    • Brandie says:

      I do enjoy the elliptical. It’s better on my knees. I’m just a bit obsessed with running. 😉 Have a great weekend! I do hope you join in on the reading fun tomorrow!

  3. Laurel-Rain Snow says:

    Great way to focus on the week! I loved Fractured….

    I guess I won’t be doing Dewey’s, as a friend is coming in for the weekend…

    I do love an elliptical, and haven’t used one since my daughter moved from the place that had one in the apartment gym.

    I requested I See You from NetGalley…and wasn’t approved! That doesn’t happen very often, so I felt…well, stunned. I will read it anyway…somehow.

    Thanks for sharing.

  4. Rachel @The Readers Den says:

    I’m sorry to hear about your leg, Brandie. It is discouraging when you can’t run. I’m sure you’ll be back to it in no time. I’m finally getting over my bronchitis since I went to the Dr. and got antibiotics! I’ve been coughing for a month. I stopped running after 3 weeks of coughing to get better so I’m sort of in the same boat. I’m going to try and run tonight.

    Way to go on that great deal with elliptical! I wish I had exercise equipment at my house.

    It’s so much fun watching your kids to things they love and it keeps them busy!

    Have a great weekend, Brandie! 🙂

  5. stephaniesbookreviews says:

    I look forward to hearing what you think of Stalking Jack the Ripper. I could not get into it at all and DNF-ed it pretty early. But I was also really in a book-slumpy mood at the time. And yay for an elliptical! Once upon a time I used mine 45 mins/day, 6 days/week. I’ve had so much trouble getting back into it, though. I really need to because my weight loss has really stalled (I keep eating too much pizza!).

  6. StephTheBookworm says:

    Fractured is on my to read list! We just got it in at work. I ordered it for us. 🙂

    I agree that Sunnie is a good dancer and you’re not biased! That little video you posted was so cute and I think she’s got the moves down pat! You should be a proud mama!

    What a bargain on the elliptical! I have always loved the elliptical.

    Have a blast with the readathon!

  7. Michelle says:

    That is quite the bargain on the elliptical machine; way to go! I think that is awesome to have two different pieces of equipment that will provide you with alternatives. I say that because I get bored so easily when exercising.

    I hope Sunnie and you had fun on Saturday! Make sure you let us know how you scored at the bookstore!

    • Brandie says:

      It is really nice to have the 2 options now. I’ve been getting bored lately, especially if I can’t get outside to run.
      Sunnie picked out a My Little Pony chapter book. She’s really into the ponies right now and has started collecting the chapter books. She knew before we walked in that she was going right to that shelf! It’s so sweet.
      I on the other hand found nothing. Can you believe it?! And I looked forever. I always start in the bargain book section, and I usually find something. But anything I’d be interested in, I already owned on ebook format. The I went through all the new releases and such – and nothing. I was trying to find something that gave me the same vibe as Dark Matter. Even if it’s a YA book – I just wanted something similar to that. And I failed to find something.

Leave a Reply

