Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon: Game Plan

 

It’s almost time for Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon! I’ve been really excited for this day.

book

I have participated twice in the past. Once I ended up being really sick and couldn’t read as much as I wanted. The other time I was only able to read 4 hours, after everyone went to bed that night. Because it’s impossible to read all day with a toddler. I’m really excited that I’m able to join in this weekend!

So, how am I preparing for the readathon? Well, I haven’t done a whole lot yet, but here’s my game plan:

time

There’s no sleeping in in our house, so I will be up and ready to go for the 8 am start. Normally I would get in a run in the morning, but since I’m temporarily out of commission in the running department, I feel zero guilt about laying around all morning in my pj’s and reading. Saturday is officially my rest day, and I’m not even going to care if I don’t hit my 10,000 steps.

Originally we had no plans for the day, but we are now going to friends for a fire later in the evening, which I’m really looking forward to. So, I plan on getting as much reading done as I can until we leave (around 6 pm). And if I’m not too tired when we get home, I’ll stay up as long as I can to read. I definitely won’t be staying up all night, but I’d like to make it to midnight. It’s unrealistic to think I will be able to read ALL day – just a few hours is winning for me!

I probably won’t do too many challenges, if any, and I won’t do a blog post until it’s over. But I will be posting on social media and checking in with my friends who are participating! Follow me on Twitter and Instagram!

food

I’m not much of a snacker, but coffee, protein bars, and wine are must haves. We’re ordering pizza for dinner. Minimal effort and clean up!

adulting

I can’t relax and read all day if my house isn’t clean. Friday night I plan on getting my house cleaned so I won’t have to do it on Saturday. I’m putting off grocery shopping and laundry until Sunday. My hubby will be fishing for most of the day, so I won’t have to worry about him. When he gets home, he’ll be glued to the TV watching college football. 😉  And Sunnie is excited to do all the reading with me. When she’s not reading, she’ll most likely want to watch a movie and these days she’s really great about playing independently.

books

I am a moody reader and really have no idea what I’m going to be reading on Saturday. I want to pick something fairly easy that I know I’ll be able to read quickly. If I could read one book cover to cover, that would be awesome. I am going to look at my TBR list the next two days and get a few books in mind. Maybe a novella to break things up. I have been trying to read books from my Creepy October TBR, but have only managed one (and one DNF). No matter how hard I try, I just can’t stick with any TBR list!

I took Sunnie to the library last night and she picked out a nice big stack of books to read! She’s just as excited to read Saturday and keeps asking me if it’s time for the readathon. I love it!

 

hAPPY READING, FRIENDS!

 

 

20 thoughts on “Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon: Game Plan

  1. carrie zag says:

    OMG! I am going to do this as much as I can. We have some stuff going on: I am working at the book fair from 10-12 at Will’s school, and then nothing until a scout event that evening. Sunday, Will has baseball and then I’ll get back at it again. I have a book that is due back in a couple of days, so I MUST fininsh it!

  2. pennma05 says:

    That’s awesome that Sunnie is going to read with you, too! Such a fun mother-daughter thing. Sounds like you have a good game plan going on! Have fun reading! 🙂

  3. mhmcneill says:

    I wish my crazy schedule allowed me to participate. I’ve done shorter readathons with a friend of mine; when I told her about this one she said she’ll be at a conference (she teaches high school English) — “no leisure reading for me!”

    • Brandie says:

      I love participating in the Bout of Books readathon, which is twice a year and it’s a week long. It gives you more freedom to read whenever you want. It’s not often I can spend a whole day reading, so I’m glad it worked out this weekend.

      • Brandie says:

        The next one will be around December 5th. They haven’t announced the official week, yet. Here’s their site: http://boutofbooks.blogspot.com/
        I usually just try to read as much in a day that I can manage. On my lunch break, and in the evenings. My goal is to at least finish one book. It’s fun to interact with everyone else participating, and they have daily challenges you can do. It forces me to try to read a little more than I normally would in a week, which is a good thing!

      • mhmcneill says:

        Good to know! If it is that first full week of December like you’re predicting, I may be a bit too busy to participate. But we’ll see what happens! Thanks for the info.

  4. Michelle says:

    I was just telling someone else how it makes me rather sad that my kids no longer participate with me anymore. Some of my favorite pictures of them are of them snuggled under their favorite blankets still in their pjs reading from a stack of books by their side. I sort of miss reading with them in the same room. Enjoy your time with Sunnie! Your excitement will feed hers, and this will be an event you can do together for years to come!

  5. joyousreads says:

    I am determined to buckle down this weekend to write, to read and just to be, so this sounds like a good time to participate in a readathon. I might. I just might do it starting Friday night. 🙂

Leave a Reply

