Five Things Friday ~ 10-14-16

I’ve been tossing around doing a weekly recap post lately. I’ve seen different variations of Five Things Friday on many blogs that I think is fun, so I decided to create a mix of the two. I figure a few topics will be consistent each week, but I’ll change up the rest. We’ll see how it goes!

 

 

1. this week in reading

24594515

Definitely has the creepy vibe. I just haven’t felt much like reading this week, so it’s not the books fault that it’s taking me forever to finish.

 

2. New Books I’m excited about

29863451 30213116

I received both of these from Netgalley this week and am super excited to read them. I haven’t read a book by Nicola Yoon, but everyone raves about her. And Sarah Jio is one of my favs.

 

3. fun thing(s) from the week

Yesterday was my hubby’s 39th birthday. I tell him that he just gets better with age, and it’s true. We celebrated last weekend by grilling burgers and having ice cream cake, and last night I ordered pizza from his favorite place. Which happens to be my least favorite pizza place, but it was his birthday, so… 😉

 

4. life happens

Since my hamstring injury, I have been resting (as much as a busy mom of a 6 year old can) for almost a week, and now I’m slowly starting to add in some activity each day. Mainly just walking and cleaning my house. I went 3 days barely getting 5,000 steps (when a typical day for me is 15,000), and it was making me crazy. When you get used to being active every day, it’s not easy to just sit still. I follow Laura at This Runner’s Recipes and had asked her advice on what I can do to get back to running quickly. She sent me the nicest email with lots of great advice, starting with rest (done!), not running for a week (UGH, I hate this), working in some cross training (walking is my jam), and strength training (not my fav, but I’ll do whatever it takes). Also gave me some ideas on athletic tape and relief balm I can use. I’m so grateful for her advice, and am hopeful to be running again next week!

 

5. randomness

I have recently become a huge fan of Lularoe. In fact, one may say I have a bit of a problem since I cleaned out my dresser this week and had to assign one entire drawer for just my Lula leggings. If you haven’t tried these heavenly leggings yet, I highly suggest you do so. They also have other cute clothes – I have a Classic T and an Irma. But the leggings….they are worth every penny. And I just got my favorite pair ever this week…Halloween ones! I mean they have black cats and ghosts. How freaking cute, right?!

leggings

Speaking of black cats…photobombed by Mollie.

 

Cheers!
47 thoughts on “Five Things Friday ~ 10-14-16

  1. kimberlyfaye says:

    I love how you’re doing this! I got a little bored with my FTF posts because it was hard to come up with a new topic each week. This is a good twist on it though. Also? LLR. Tell me about addiction. I had to redo all my drawers and finally buy another storage piece so I had a good home for all my leggings and Cassies. Their leggings are the bomb and I like their shirts… but their dresses and skirts are my favorites!

  2. joyousreads says:

    I love this post. I like that it covers whatever’s going on your life. 🙂 Oh, and I’m in the midst of The Sun is Also A Star. Loooove.

    Hubby turns 45 on Monday. He’s so not coping with this. Lol.

    I hope you’ll enjoy your books, and have a great weekend!

  3. StephTheBookworm says:

    Oh. My. Gosh. As you know, I’m obsessed with Halloween and I’m probably going to need those leggings. Hahaha! Maybe after I drop the rest of this weight. Lol.

    Happy birthday to your hubby!

    Sorry about your injury. I had a couple back when I was running more regularly. Definitely best to wait it out and heal completely. You’ll be back at it in no time.

    Have a great weekend!

    • Brandie says:

      Seriously – you HAVE to try the leggings. I promise you won’t regret it!
      Thanks – the only good thing about the injury is I’m being forced to strength train, which I normally never do.

  4. Grace @ Rebel Mommy Book Blog says:

    Oh you lucky duck with The Sun is Also a Star! Can’t wait to see what you think!! I am excited about Always though.Hope you get better soon and get back to running! I really need to figure out how to up my steps on a daily basis. I feel like a lump compared to your 15,000 steps!! Happy reading and have a great weekend!

    • Brandie says:

      I’m so excited for The Sun is also a Star!
      Thanks…I’m debating on just a short run today to test out my leg. We’ll see. I’m nervous I’ll make it worse.
      Have a great weekend!!

  5. Nadia says:

    Love this post! I loved Yoon’s first book – it was so good! I’m sure you will love this new one by her 🙂 That rots about your hamstring, but that’s great you are taking it slow and steady to get back on track. I’m sure you will be up and running soon enough. I have a friend from college who is selling those Lula leggings. She is always posting about them on FB. Glad to hear they are so great. Hope you have a great weekend!!

  6. Amanda @ Good In The Stacks says:

    Love this idea! The cover of The Sun is Also a Star is so pretty and bright.

    I’m going to have to check out those LuLaRoe leggings…not that it’s cold enough here for them for another month and a half at least!

    Hope your hamstring feels better, soon!

  7. Michelle says:

    Those leggings are adorable! I had three pairs delivered this week and am already looking for more. At this point in time, I have more leggings than I can ever wear. Although I am going to look for ways to wear them to work this winter.

    The Night Sister is SO creepy! I hope you get back into it and enjoy it! I also hope you had a great weekend!

    • Brandie says:

      Thanks!! Were any of your new pairs Halloween themed? I wanted to get about 5 of them, but my bank account wouldn’t allow it.
      I wish we were allowed to wear leggings at work. I can get away with black ones under dresses, but that’s probably it.
      I enjoyed The Night Sister! It was really creepy. I need another book like that.

      • Michelle says:

        They were not. They were what I am calling Aztec snowflakes and one with lines. I am trying to get my hands on fairy ones because fairies! I need more shirts though. And time off of work because like I said – too many leggings and not enough non work days to get through them all!

Leave a Reply

