{WWW Wednesday} 10-12-16

W… W… W… Wednesday, hosted by Taking on a World of Worlds is a weekly meme showcasing what you just finished reading, what you are currently reading, and what you plan to start reading next. Except I’m changing it up a bit, since I can never plan what I’m reading next (moody reader). Instead I’m going to talk about a book I’ve recently added to my TBR that I’m excited about!

 

Last weekend was a bit of a crap show. I ran the 5k on the runway, but at the 2.5 mile mark I popped my hamstring and had to walk the rest of the way. Who’d have ever thought I’d have a sports-related injury in my lifetime. Certainly not me! I’m pretty pissed off about it, because now I’m having to rest my leg and not run or walk for the time being. Probably a minimum of a week. I’m hoping that’s all the longer, because I hate not being able to run and keep up on my steps. It’s how I deal with stress!

And on top of that, my daughter was sick with a cold/cough that kept her up Saturday night. I’m thankful it wasn’t a weeknight, so we were able to be lazy and rest on Sunday. On a good note, she’s feeling much better!

I’m LOVING the colder weather we’re having. Perfect sleeping weather – I sleep the best this time of year! I refuse to turn up our heat, which my husband isn’t too happy about. 😉 We have been using the fireplace, though – it’s so cozy!

 

what i recently finished reading

Absolutely nothing. I haven’t been able to focus on a book for a week. Nothing I pick up is oh-my-god-I-can’t-put-this-down exciting. It’s not the books, it’s me. I’m so easily distracted these days, either by my phone or the tv.

 

 what i’m currently reading

24594515

I’ve had this book on my Kindle since last October, so I finally decided to try it. It’s good, I’m enjoying it. Definitely kinda creepy.

 

WHat i have recently added to my tbr

30213116
I was super excited to receive this on Netgalley earlier this week! Sarah Jio is one of my favorite authors, and I always look forward to her new releases. This one sounds so good! Her books are always good for pulling me out of a book slump – I may have to break my ‘only creepy reads in October’ rule and start it soon. Anything to help me focus on a book!

 

 Reading anything good this week?

 

24 thoughts on “{WWW Wednesday} 10-12-16

  1. M @ A Blog Of One's Own says:

    I’ve been in kind of a reading slump lately, too. Although it’s actually more of a self-imposed reading ban – that I finally gave up on last night and I read 130 pages in one sitting. I want to read, read, read, but I shouldn’t because I have so many other things to do 😦

    • Brandie says:

      That’s my struggle, too. I have so much to do and not enough time to do it! And then I’m getting distracted. I didn’t even get one chapter read last night. Bookworm fail.

    • Brandie says:

      Thank you!
      Goodnight June is my favorite book of hers. But I’ve enjoyed every one I’ve read, and I’ve read all but one of them now. I’m super excited for this book. She lives in Seattle and sets most of her books in the PNW. It’s my dream to vacation there, so I LOVE that her books have that setting!

  2. StephTheBookworm says:

    Oh no, sorry to hear you got injured! Hope you’re back up and running soon!

    I get distracted from reading a lot too. I still read almost every night, but not as much lately. I’m also distracted by my phone and TV. Much easier than reading when you’re tired. Lol.

    • Brandie says:

      Thanks, Steph!
      I made the mistake of putting the Pinterest app back on my phone last week. I wanted some fall outfit ideas, but now I get sucked into it every night and don’t even look at my book. I need to delete it again. Lol.

  3. Rachel @The Readers Den says:

    Sorry to hear about your injury, Brandie! I did the same thing with my calf muscle a few months back and it was very frustrating. Icing and then heat helped. Soaking in a tub helped, too. I’ve had to step back from running as well because I’ve been sick with a cough/cold for the last month! I was getting better and then stayed out late (til 2am in damp air) and my cold re-trenched! I didn’t get to do my Marathon and I was seriously disappointed. I ran 11 miles just a few weeks ago so I know I could do it, but I didn’t want to put myself in the hospital by pushing. I’m going to the doctor on Friday which I probably should’ve done a while ago.

    I’m happy for the cooler weather, too! It puts me in the mood for some spooky reads. I just started Beautiful Maids All in a Row but I don’t want to pick it back up until I can read it straight through. I can tell it’s one of those books.

    Hope we both get back to running soon! 🙂

    • Brandie says:

      Rachel, I had no idea!!! I’m so sorry you got hurt and didn’t get to run your marathon. That’s such a bummer, I know how frustrated you feel. I’m glad I didn’t waste the money signing up for the half I wanted to do in November. I definitely wouldn’t be ready now with this set back. I am so frustrated about it. I hope to get in a walk today an start warming up my muscles a little bit. I have been so lazy the past 3 days and I hate it. It’s not me anymore and I feel like a bum. Lol.
      I hope you start feeling better and can get rid of your cold. Sunnie has been fighting one for weeks where she starts to feel better and then it reappears again.
      Hopefully we can both get back to running – I already miss it and it’s only been 3 days! 🙂 Feel better!!

    • Brandie says:

      With Sunnie we don’t want the house to get too cold. When it was just us, we waited a long time and just used the fireplace and I had an electric blanket. 🙂 Now I set it at 68, so it’ll kick on and take the chill off when it gets that cold. It’s only done that once. Surprisingly, our fireplace heats up the house to 70, so I’ll keep doing that for as long as I can push it!!

      • stephaniesbookreviews says:

        Oh I didn’t think about that. It is different when it’s only yourself you have to worry about. That’s awesome about your fireplace! I wish I had one. I make do with a space heater sometimes haha.

  4. joyousreads says:

    Oh, man. That sucks, Brandie. I know how much you love running/walking so I hope the injury is only short term.

    We seem to be on the same boat when it comes to reading. Nothing looks good on my TBR right now. Anyway, happy reading!

  5. Jade @ Reading With Jade says:

    Sorry to hear about your injury from the race – I imagine that sucks, especially when you’re in the habit of running now and really thrive off of that activity. But on the bright side, rest can equal lots of reading, right?! 😛 I wish you a speedy recovery, and some enjoyable reading material.

  6. Greg Hill says:

    Sorry to hear about your hamstring, hope you’re back up and running soon. And yeah the colder weather is nice. I’be been kinda wanting to try Sarah Jio’s book Goodnight June since I read some good reviews and liked the premise of it, hopefully Always is good as well!

  7. Yvo says:

    The Night Sister sounds great! I love creepy reads; I really should read one or two to get in the Halloween mood. I’m sorry to hear about the hamstring! I hope you are feeling better soon. Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

