{Review} Dark Matter

28684704

about the book

“Are you happy with your life?”

Those are the last words Jason Dessen hears before the masked abductor knocks him unconscious.

Before he awakens to find himself strapped to a gurney, surrounded by strangers in hazmat suits.

Before a man Jason’s never met smiles down at him and says, “Welcome back, my friend.”

In this world he’s woken up to, Jason’s life is not the one he knows. His wife is not his wife. His son was never born. And Jason is not an ordinary college physics professor, but a celebrated genius who has achieved something remarkable. Something impossible.

Is it this world or the other that’s the dream? And even if the home he remembers is real, how can Jason possibly make it back to the family he loves? The answers lie in a journey more wondrous and horrifying than anything he could’ve imagined—one that will force him to confront the darkest parts of himself even as he battles a terrifying, seemingly unbeatable foe.

From the author of the bestselling Wayward Pines trilogy, Dark Matter is a brilliantly plotted tale that is at once sweeping and intimate, mind-bendingly strange and profoundly human—a relentlessly surprising science-fiction thriller about choices, paths not taken, and how far we’ll go to claim the lives we dream of.

My Thoughts

This book was so awesomely different than anything I’ve ever read, and I loved it. I couldn’t put it down. The author’s writing is fantastic – once I started, I was so completely sucked into the story that I wanted to skip being an adult for a day just so I could focus solely on finishing this book! It started out with a very Jason Bourne-like feel (and I love those movies, so that was a good thing), but took a very different direction than I anticipated, and it was SO GOOD. I love when a book is so suspenseful and full of surprises that I can’t bare to put it down.  And I loved that it had the added element of romance, just enough to make a romance reader like myself happy, and it didn’t take away from the story one bit. I also appreciated that the author made the more scientific aspects of the book understandable and interesting to someone like myself, who has never had any interest in Science whatsoever. Unless you count watching The Big Bang Theory.

Bottom Line

You HAVE to read this book. Forget about all the reasons you think this book may not be for you, and pick it up anyway. I promise you won’t be disappointed!

5 Stars

Genre: Sci-Fi, Mystery, Suspense

Standalone

Published July 26, 2016 by Crown

Length: 354 pages

17 thoughts on “{Review} Dark Matter

  1. stephaniesbookreviews says:

    Just added this one to my TBR today when I saw your review on Good Reads. I’ve never read anything by him before, but I was really into the first season of Wayward Pines (then it got weird and I didn’t watch season 2 at all) and wanted to try out that series, but hadn’t gotten around to it yet. I think I’ll try this one before that 🙂

Leave a Reply

