It’s Monday! What are you Reading?

This is a weekly meme now hosted by Kathryn @ Book Date. If you aren’t already, I encourage you to join in on the fun!

 

It’s been a fun weekend – had date night on Friday, and our friends had a wine tasting party. It was so much fun, but staying up until midnight is rough when you get old. I definitely can’t hang like I used to. 😉

FINISHED READING

30252042

LOVED this one. Sandra Brown is definitely one of the best when it comes to romantic suspense. You can read my review here.

29087455

Loved this one, too. This series is so good, and I can’t wait for the 3rd book. But I could do without the shirtless man cover. I know these covers appeal to a lot of women, but to me it cries cheesy romance novel. And this book is anything but cheesy.

31140847

I picked this one up at random after seeing a few reviews, and it really surprised me how good it was. Loved it. Despite the stupid cover.

dnf

26048867

I really wanted to like this book. It is getting so much praise and great reviews. Unfortunately, I couldn’t get past the first few chapters. The dialogue was so unrealistic to me, and the flashback parts of the story were dull. I loved the concept for the book, but it just didn’t work for me. This is the second book I’ve read by this author where I felt the same way about her writing. I think it’s time that I accept her books just aren’t for me.

CURRENTLY READING

27190530

Lol. More shirtless men. I may have a problem. But I love Bowen’s writing, and this book is really good so far.

WHAT WILL YOU READ NEXT?

Maybe more shirtless men books?! 😉 I’ve been on such a romance kick the past few weeks, but who knows what mood I’ll be in by the end of the week!

What are you reading this week?

 

It's Monday! What Are You Reading

 

24 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you Reading?

  1. stephaniesbookreviews says:

    I agree that those shirtless man covers are awful. I hate most of the covers of romance books and they often make me not want to read them. It is true that so many people love them, though.
    I just finished P.S. I Like You by Kasie West which I really loved. It was a little reminiscent of Tell Me Three Things in that there’s a mystery guy that writes back and forth with the MC. I also just got One True Loves from the library (finally!) so that’s probably what I’ll read next.

    • Brandie says:

      I have yet to try Kasie West, but I think I need to. Especially this one, if it’s similar to Tell Me Three Things. Loved that book.
      I’m so excited you’re reading One True Loves!! I hope you end up loving it!

  2. The Bibliophile Babe says:

    I so agree with the shirtless man thing, haha.

    I have the distinct feeling I’ll be of the same opinion of Swear on This Life. I couldn’t stand Before We Were Strangers, even though everyone else loved it. She may just be one of those authors!

  3. Yvo says:

    Sounds like a fun weekend! Shirtless men on covers are a huge turn off for me (I don’t think I’ve ever read a book with one on the cover) but Steadfast has me curious now.

  4. Michelle says:

    Man boobies EVERYwhere! I have no idea why others find that type of cover so appealing. It is definitely a turn-off for me, even though I totally appreciate a nice-looking set of pecs and abs in real life. Maybe the lack of body hair and therefore any sense of realism?

    • Brandie says:

      hahaha…it’s so unnecessary! It’s a turn off for me, too…and I’m glad I read on a Kindle and don’t have to look at the covers. I really don’t think I’d even pick them up otherwise. I read them solely based on reviews.

  5. Nadia says:

    Brandie, I know what you mean about the Carlino book. It just wasn’t a good read. I feel like these books are too predictable and I wind up skim reading them in the end. Its like the ideas are good, but the execution fails. Oh well. As far as Sandra Brown goes – that book sounds terrific! I need to her read her work ASAP. 🙂

  6. StephTheBookworm says:

    Totally unrelated to the books, but I don’t even remember the last time I stayed up until midnight (aside from being forced to with Caleb). My cut off is usually 10 or 11 if I’m being wild. Ha!

    • Brandie says:

      Haha, same here! I’m usually in bed no later than 10 every night. That was the latest I’ve stayed awake in a long time, and I paid for it the next day!

  7. Kathy Reads Fiction says:

    Glad you loved Sting; I really want to read that author’s books sometime. I’ve never read a Renee Carlino book, but I do have her first one. It’s still sitting on my iPad or Nook or Kindle or somewhere out in digital land. Chances are it will never get read, so I’m beginning to think her books aren’t for me, either. I have enjoyed what I’ve read from Vi Keeland, so I’m not surprised you loved it.

    • Brandie says:

      I can’t say I’d recommend her books. Maybe it’s just me. I guess I’m not going to love everything everyone else does.
      I didn’t realize it until the other day, but I’ve read a Vi Keeland book in the past…a long time ago…and apparently loved it based on my review! Lol…that’s how bad my memory is. I want to read more of her books now.

  8. joyousreads says:

    Aw. That sucks about Renee Carlino’s latest. I enjoyed it quite a bit, but I can see why you would have a problem with it, though. It’s definitely nowhere near Swear on this Life (loved that one!). I can’t wait to read Sting! I need a copy right away.

  9. Trish @ Between My Lines says:

    I’ve always been interested in Renee Carlino’s books but have yet to read one. I do have a couple of authors that are madly popular though and I just can’t see why. It happens, there is a book for every reader, right!

  10. Rachel @The Readers Den says:

    I’m looking forward to Sting! I don’t want to read any reviews until I finish, but I’m glad to hear you loved it, Brandie! I also want to pick up Steadfast but I wish it was in audio. It’s hard to squeeze in non-review books lately if they’re not audio.

  11. evaallbooksconsidered says:

    Glad I’m not the only one who didn’t love Swear on this Life 😦

    So Sting — I just couldn’t get into the romance part of it. My review will be up soon. I am looking forward to book 3 in the Sarina Bowen series but think I’ll skip book 2

Leave a Reply

