Catch Up Reviews: Suspense Edition

After taking a blog break, I have gotten ridiculously behind on reviews. To be honest, I was behind on them before my little break.

I have read some really great books in the past few months and decided a mini review post is a good way of sharing with you the books I have enjoyed recently. Some of them are definite must reads and need to be added to your lists!


27274343 I’m Thinking of Ending Things by Iain Reid

You will be scared. But you won’t know why…

I’m thinking of ending things. Once this thought arrives, it stays. It sticks. It lingers. It’s always there. Always.

Jake once said, “Sometimes a thought is closer to truth, to reality, than an action. You can say anything, you can do anything, but you can’t fake a thought.”

And here’s what I’m thinking: I don’t want to be here.

In this deeply suspenseful and irresistibly unnerving debut novel, a man and his girlfriend are on their way to a secluded farm. When the two take an unexpected detour, she is left stranded in a deserted high school, wondering if there is any escape at all. What follows is a twisted unraveling that will haunt you long after the last page is turned.

In this smart, suspenseful, and intense literary thriller, debut novelist Iain Reid explores the depths of the human psyche, questioning consciousness, free will, the value of relationships, fear, and the limitations of solitude. Reminiscent of Jose Saramago’s early work, Michel Faber’s cult classic Under the Skin, and Lionel Shriver’s We Need to Talk about Kevin, I’m Thinking of Ending Things is an edgy, haunting debut. Tense, gripping, and atmospheric, this novel pulls you in from the very first page…and never lets you go.

I enjoyed this one, although I didn’t seem to love it like a lot of other reads have. It was a good suspense, it just left me with a lot of WTF moments. I would still recommend it.

3 Stars

28188211

The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware

In this tightly wound story, Lo Blacklock, a journalist who writes for a travel magazine, has just been given the assignment of a lifetime: a week on a luxury cruise with only a handful of cabins. At first, Lo’s stay is nothing but pleasant: the cabins are plush, the dinner parties are sparkling, and the guests are elegant. But as the week wears on, frigid winds whip the deck, gray skies fall, and Lo witnesses what she can only describe as a nightmare: a woman being thrown overboard. The problem? All passengers remain accounted for—and so, the ship sails on as if nothing has happened, despite Lo’s desperate attempts to convey that something (or someone) has gone terribly, terribly wrong…

With surprising twists and a setting that proves as uncomfortably claustrophobic as it is eerily beautiful, Ruth Ware offers up another taut and intense read.

This book was a really nice surprise. I read Ware’s previous book, In a Dark Dark Wood, and although I enjoyed it, it lacked that wow-factor. This book made up for it. It has a gripping, suspenseful, unique story line that hooked me.

4 Stars

19813765

Eeny Meeny by M. J. Arlidge

The girl emerged from the woods, barely alive. Her story was beyond belief. But it was true. Every dreadful word of it.
Days later, another desperate escapee is found – and a pattern is emerging. Pairs of victims are being abducted, imprisoned then faced with a terrible choice: kill or be killed.
Would you rather lose your life or lose your mind?
Detective Inspector Helen Grace has faced down her own demons on her rise to the top. As she leads the investigation to hunt down this unseen monster, she learns that it may be the survivors – living calling cards – who hold the key to the case.
And unless she succeeds, more innocents will die . . .

This one was just okay for me. Helen kind of got on my nerves. But the suspense was good, and I would still like to read more in the series.

3 Stars

24371990

Pretty Girls by Karin Slaughter

In this electrifying new stand-alone thriller, New York Timesbestselling author Karin Slaughter—“one of the best crime novelists in America” (The Washington Post)—delivers a chilling jolt of suspense. With a missing girl in the news, Claire Scott can’t help but be reminded of her sister, who disappeared twenty years ago in a mystery that was never solved. But when Claire begins to learn the truth about her sister, nothing will ever be the same.

I finally read my first Karin Slaughter book, and I’m so glad I did! I debated on this book many times. I was honestly scared to read it – I had heard it was pretty sick and twisted. And that is all true, but it was worth reading. My only gripe was the length. I felt like many things were drawn out too much and weren’t necessary to the story. Besides that, this book is excellent, and I will definitely read more by this author in the future.

4 Stars

24922709

For You by Kristen Ashley

Lieutenant Alexander Colton and February Owens were high school sweethearts. Everyone in their small town knew from the moment they met they were meant for each other. But something happened and Feb broke Colt’s heart then she turned wild and tragedy struck. Colt meted out revenge against the man who brought Feb low but even though Colt risked it all for her, Feb turned her back on him and left town.

Fifteen years later, Feb comes back to help run the family bar. But there’s so much water under the bridge separating her and Colt everyone knows they’ll never get back together.

Until someone starts hacking up people in Feb’s life. Colt is still Colt and Feb is still Feb so the town watches as Colt goes all out to find the murderer while trying to keep Feb safe.

As the bodies pile up, The Feds move in and a twisting, turning story unravels exposing a very sick man who has claimed numerous victims along the way, Feb and Colt battle their enduring attraction and the beautiful but lost history that weaves them together.

Every once in awhile I get in the mood for a KA book. She’s loved by many, but I can only handle her books in small doses. Lots of alpha male talk and so much added prose that it makes her books unnecessarily long. That being said, I do enjoy her books immensely when I’m in the right mood, and I LOVED this book. It was a fantastic romantic suspense, and I definitely want to read more in the series.

5 Stars
10 thoughts on “Catch Up Reviews: Suspense Edition

  1. StephTheBookworm says:

    I’ve been super excited about reading both: I’m Thinking of Ending Things and The Woman in Cabin 10. Maybe I should hold off on reading that one until AFTER my second cruise in November though. Lol.

  2. Nadia says:

    Love mini reviews – they are the best, because you can write about so many books in one post. I enjoyed Ware’s book, but found it to be too predictable. I really like the Arlidge books, because they are so fast-paced and suspenseful. Seems like you have definitely enjoyed some great reads over the summer 🙂

  3. Rita @ View From My Books says:

    Okay, I read some of these and had similar thoughts. Woman in Cabin 10 I want to read after reading In a Dark Wood. Eeeny Meeny I didn’t enjoy much– didn’t like the MC and didn’t like the kill or be killed theme. Pretty Girls I loved to a certain extent, but couldn’t get past the violence against women theme so graphically portrayed.

    I never read Kristin Ashley before. Maybe will consider her. Thanks for a good post! Glad you’re back 🙂

  4. Kathy Reads Fiction says:

    I really loved the creepy feeling that sneaked up on me in I’m Thinking of Ending Things. I used to love Karin Slaughter books, but I haven’t read this one. I’ve seen a lot of people love it, but I’m not sure I’ll get to it this year. I’m pretty much like you and have to take KA in small doses, too. I kind of get tired of the alpha all the time.

  5. Rachel @The Readers Den says:

    For you was wonderful, but I agree, you have to be in the mood for a KA. The ‘Burg series is the most difficult for me, because these couples seem to waste so many years on misunderstandings before they finally get it right. It hurts my heart to think of all that time they could’ve spent loving each other just gone.

    I wouldn’t mind reading The Woman in Cabin 10. I started Pretty Girls and then ended up skimming a bunch. For some reason the book just didn’t click with me.

    I’m behind, too, Brandie. I’m supposed to be on a reading binge right now, and look, here I am on the computer. Lol! Back to my kindle after this. 🙂

  6. evaallbooksconsidered says:

    Love the mini reviews! And I love KA but didn’t even know she had a suspense series?! I need this! I also really want to read The Woman in Cabin 10!

Leave a Reply

