{Weekly Wrap Up} 6-10-16

I’m a reading slacker this week. Still working on the same book, and it’s not because it’s not good, it’s because I just haven’t had time. Sunnie has been in Safetyvillage at her school every night this week. By the time we get home in the evenings, I’m too tired to read. I’m hoping to catch up on sleep and reading over the weekend. Not a whole lot of plans this weekend, which is nice!

On a completely unrelated note – did anyone see Carrie Underwood’s performance at the CMT Awards this week? I didn’t watch the show, but I’m a big fan of hers and looked up the video the next morning. Just wow. Chills. Watch it here.

Currently Reading

29698573

Recently Finished Reading

I fail as a bookworm this week.

Book Haul

28135067 30208416 29537308 29973144 28130261

22735431 24473763 25036310 12390650

I’m super excited I received the new Allison Winn Scotch book!! And thank you, Lori, at Palmers Page Turners for the She Laughs in Pink recommendation. You can read her review here.

IMG_7631

Also got this beauty in the mail!

Blog Posts

{Blog Tour & Giveaway} One True Loves

{TBR Thursday} 14


FitReaders

FitReaders2016

#FitReaders co-hosted by Felicia @ Geeky Bloggers Book Blog and Jen @ That’s What I’m Talking About. I joined FitReaders, because I thought it would be a great way to help me stay motivated. It’s always more fun with support of your blog friends!

FITBIT STEPS
Fri: 17,456 steps
Sat: 17,210 steps
Sun: 20,147 steps
Mon: 16,076 steps
Tue: 10,371 steps
Wed: 16,663 steps
Thu: 15,320 steps
Total: 113,243 steps

 

It was good pretty good week of steps. I’ve been really tired, so I’m not pushing it too much. I’ve run 6 of the last 7 days, and get a 30 minute walk over my lunch break most days. This week has been really busy, so I haven’t been able to take a lunch break every day.

25 thoughts on “{Weekly Wrap Up} 6-10-16

  1. pennma05 says:

    I’m with you on having no time to read! I’ve been reading the same book since June 1st and I’m not even halfway done lol. Just haven’t had the time to pick it up. I can’t wait to see what you think of the Robyn Carr book! I really enjoy reading her books.

  2. evaallbooksconsidered says:

    Sorry you had a busy week! Hope next is better and at least you got a great haul! Last Seen Leaving looks good!

  3. Jasprit (@jaskaur11) says:

    I’ve been hearing great things about One True Loves Brandie, so I really can’t wait to see how you get on with it 🙂 I think I may need to get myself a copy soon! And it feels like ages I’ve been for a run, when I used to do it regularly I used to quite enjoy it! I hope you have a great week Brandie! 🙂

  4. Rachel @The Readers Den says:

    You’ve had a great week of exercise, Brandie, even with taking it a bit easy. I usually use a 15 minute break to get some walking in at work, as well. It really helps clear my mind, and I’m glad the FitBit goals have made me take the time to do that. I took it easy a few day this last week because of knee pain I don’t want to injure anything. 😦 I’ve been trying to do some strength training.

    I saw Carrie Underwood at Stagecoach in April and she was wonderful! She does have an incredible voice, plus I like her badass songs! All the women get even, lol!

    I so want The Life She Wants by Robyn Carr! For some reason I can’t get it on Netgalley. They put it as a wish list item for me. Oh well, I’ll read it when it comes out and it’s not like I don’t have a million other books I’m supposed to be reading. I’ll be looking forward to your thoughts on it. Have a great weekend! I’m baby sitting my grandson tonight so I’m a happy lady! He’s just too cute!

    • Brandie says:

      Before kids start Kindergarten they can take this week long ‘class’ (it’s 2 hours in the evenings) to learn about safety. They had visits from the police, firefighters, lifeguards, a nurse. They learned how to cross the street safely, learned about strangers and all kinds of other safety tips. Got to ride the bus and learn bus rules. It’s a really great program and all it costs is the price of a tshirt. For what they learn it’s worth it!
      The Collector’s Society was recommended to me when I was trying to find similar books to The Bird and the Sword. I loved that book so much. I hope this one is good!

  5. Trish @ Between My Lines says:

    Your steps are great! I’ve slacked off Thursday and Friday as I’ve been feeling really tired and like I needed a break from exercise. I hate when I’m too busy to read but it happens all too often! And yay for relaxing weekends 🙂

  6. twimom227 says:

    I too have been feeling drained lately. I think it’s the pollen and push for the end of school. This has eating into my reading time, as well. I only read 2 books in the past month! I listened to more, but !!! Summer vacation will be here soon!

    • Brandie says:

      Thank you!
      Safetyvillage is a week long program in the evenings where kids learn all kinds of safety tips, like not talking to strangers, how to cross the street properly, bus riding rules, etc. They have visits from the police, fire fighters, lifeguards all week. It’s something most kids attend before starting kindergarten. They never had this program when I was a kid, but it’s pretty popular around here now.

  7. k2reader says:

    I’ve definitely been getting in more audio books than print books – every time I get into bed, I can only read a few pages before I start falling asleep! Oh well…good thing I listen to audio books while walking!!! You still had a pretty impressive week, step-wise for being so busy! I’ve been trying to take a longer walk with the dogs at night, just to wind down a bit…it seems to help me on my super busy days! Hope you have a good week!!!

    • Brandie says:

      Thank you!!
      I really wish I could listen to audio books when I run. I just can’t focus enough to follow it. I’d get through so many more books if I could! Have a great week!

  8. Kathy Reads Fiction says:

    I’m a huge Carrie Underwood fan,too. I didn’t see the show, but her performance has gone viral, as it should. I’m a total slacker this past week in the reading department because other things have taken so much of my time.

Leave a Reply

