It’s Monday! What are you Reading?

This is a weekly meme now hosted by Kathryn @ Book Date. If you aren’t already, I encourage you to join in on the fun!

 

Thank you to all of the service men and women, past & present, for putting your lives on the line for our freedom every day. Although I appreciate having a long holiday weekend, I don’t take lightly the reason for this day off. I’m so very grateful.

It has been a very warm, sunshiny weekend for which I’m also thankful! On Friday I took a yoga class with my girlfriend in the morning and then we took our kiddos to the park for a few hours. Afterwards we made an ice cream stop and then a quick trip to the library. Saturday we spent the entire day in the pool soaking up the sun. And today my parents asked to keep Sunnie for a sleepover, so my hubby and I got to go out on the boat and enjoy more of the awesome weather. While he fishes, I read and get a tan. It has been a pretty perfect weekend! Tomorrow morning I have a race first thing, and then we’re having family over for a cookout in the evening.

I hope you all are enjoying the weekend!

FINISHED READING

19813765 29247999 

I have been meaning to start the Helen Grace series for awhile. It wasn’t my favorite thriller, but I enjoyed it enough to want to continue the series. As for Undecided – if you love New Adult  – then you need to read this book. I loved the writing, I loved the characters, I loved how witty and real it was. It was never cheesy and had just enough angst without being too much. I loved this book SO MUCH. This was a case in which the hype lived up to all of my expectations.

CURRENTLY READING

27237358

Okay, I get it now. Amy Harmon is a fantastic writer, and I have been missing out all this time. I am kicking myself, seriously. Just started this one today, and I don’t want to put it down. The fact that tomorrow is Memorial Day tugs at my heart even more. This book is incredible. My friends who continued to recommend Harmon to me – THANK YOU.

WHAT WILL YOU READ NEXT?

29434503

I started this one a few nights ago, before I got sucked into Making Faces. I was really enjoying it (WWII stories are proving to be my favorite historical fiction), and look forward to picking it back up.

What are you reading this week?

 

It's Monday! What Are You Reading

 

20 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you Reading?

  1. kimberlyfaye says:

    I hope your race goes well today! I’m so glad you enjoyed Undecided as much as I did. More often than not, the hyped books don’t live up to my expectations, but I’ll happily eat my words here. It was a wonderful read! One of these days I’ll read an Amy Harmon book…

    • Brandie says:

      It went really well, thank you!
      I know, right!? Hyped books never work for me, but I’m so happy this one did!
      YES, and start with Making Faces. In fact, start it right now, because I am kicking myself for not reading it sooner!!

  2. Yvo says:

    You have completely convinced me to add Making Faces to my wishlist even though I’m not a big fan of romance… I hope your race went ok today! 🙂

  3. Kathryn says:

    Oh sounds like such a perfect weekend, good on you for living it fully. I seem to read a lot of WW11 books too, for some reason it is fascinating and within recent history. And such courage and loss.

  4. Rachel @The Readers Den says:

    I really want to read Making Faces, but I need to get through a couple of review books before I can start it. I’m listening to the 6th Virgin River, mostly while I’m doing my runs, and loving it! I just finished two fantastic review books: Torn by Cynthia Eden (mystery/romantic suspense) and Hot Cowboy Nights by Carolyn Brown.

    • Brandie says:

      I have Hot Cowboy Nights from Netgalley and now I’m excited to read it!! Going to look up Torn – I love a good romantic suspense. Thanks, Rachel!
      I wish a place like Virgin river really existed. Lol. Love those books. Enjoy!!

  5. evaallbooksconsidered says:

    So happy you read and liked Undecided — I already want to re-read that one, it was so good!!

Leave a Reply

