{Review} The Obsession

26370082

About the book

Naomi Bowes lost her innocence the night she followed her father into the woods. In freeing the girl trapped in the root cellar, Naomi revealed the horrible extent of her father’s crimes and made him infamous.

Now a successful photographer living under the name Naomi Carson, she has found a place that calls to her, thousands of miles away from everything she’s ever known. Naomi wants to embrace the solitude, but the residents of Sunrise Cove keep forcing her to open up―especially the determined Xander Keaton.

Naomi can feel her defenses failing, and knows that the connection her new life offers is something she’s always secretly craved. But as she’s learned time and again, her past is never more than a nightmare away.

My Thoughts

I looked forward to reading this book for a long time, and it did not disappoint. Although a bit long and detailed at times, I was never once bored or wanted to skim pages. And normally I am easily irritated with too much added detail in books. Something about this story made me want to read it slowly and savor it. I really loved Naomi and admired her strength, after everything she had been through in life. I adored her uncles and brother. And then there’s Xander – he’s determined and knows what he wants, and I loved that about him. With a large cast of likeable characters, a perfect setting (I only dream of moving to Seattle and living in a house like that!), a slow-burning romance, and the added suspense – this book made for a perfect read.

Bottom Line

Nora Roberts at her best, and a must read for those who love romantic suspense.

5 Stars

Genre: Romantic Suspense

Standalone

Published April 12th 2016 by Berkley

Length: 464 Pages

 

12 thoughts on “{Review} The Obsession

  1. Kathy says:

    I would love to get to this one sometime this year. It’s been a few years since I read a Nora Roberts book, and I need to correct that. She’s always been the epitome of romantic suspense for me.

Leave a Reply

