{Monthly Recap} – April

Hello, spring – finally!

The weather has finally broken, and although it’s only in the 60’s this weekend, I’ll take that over the 30’s any day. April wasn’t an impressive reading month in terms of numbers, but I read a few fantastic books, including a surprise free book from CoHo. I ran in my 4th 5K of the year, and did okay despite the shockingly hot temps that day. Overall, not a bad month!

19302624 27212488 V23 new typeface tagline.indd

29610595 26370082 27274343

Books I Read

Far Gone – 3 Stars

I Let You Go – 3 Stars

Tell Me Three Things – 5 Stars

Too Late – 5 Stars

The Obsession – 5 Stars

I’m Thinking of Ending Things – 3 Stars

 Favorite Book of the Month

Tell Me Three Things – 5 Stars

Books Read in April: 6

Books Read in 2016: 29

 

Reviews

Shadow Fall


Things I’m looking forward to in May

My blogging declined a bit last month. I didn’t feel like doing any reviews or other fun posts. I get in these slumps a few times a year, it is what it is. I’m hoping to catch up on reviews and get some blogging mojo back in May.

I’m turning 35 this week, and for the first time in my life I’m embracing my birthday. I used to really hate celebrating, would prefer to just ignore it all together. And this year I’m actually feeling good about it. I feel healthier and happier turning 35 than I have in my entire life, and that’s definitely something to celebrate.

Other things I’m looking forward to this month – running in my first 10k next weekend. Running a 5k the next weekend with my best friend (her first race). Running in another Ohio Challenge Series race on Memorial Day. Definitely the most races in one month I’ve ever run. But I’m up for the challenge!

There aren’t a ton of new releases in May that I’m interested in, which is better for my out-of-control TBR list. I did pre-order R.S. Grey’s new book. She’s become one of my favorite NA authors. I’ve recently started following Jasinda Wilder on Instagram. Although I’ve yet to read any of her books, she’s very inspiring, and I’m interested in her book about weight loss and running.

may Releases

29976701 29381926 30056689

 What are you looking forward to in May?

Link up your Month in Review hosted by The Book Date.

Month in Review 6

 

24 thoughts on “{Monthly Recap} – April

  1. Kathryn says:

    We can’t always keep up blogging and always better to take a quieter approach for awhile. You had a good reading month and my full of plans for the running, all the best for that. Do enjoy that 35th birthday, it is so fantastic that you are so fit and healthy and ready to enjoy. Go you!

  2. Jade @ Reading With Jade says:

    It seems like you had a relatively good reading month in terms of content – I’ll definitely be looking more in to Tell Me Three Things given that you gave it five stars!

    I totally feel you on the decline of blogging in April – I was very much the same. I had the struggle of finding balance, but then when I did have the time, I didn’t feel entirely inspired to blog. I feel like May is going to be a good month, and I’ve got a bunch of content planned. I hope you’ll find your mojo in May, but remember blogging is all about having fun!

    It’s great that you’re embracing your upcoming birthday – and wonderful that you’re going in to feeling happier and healthier than ever. It sounds like you’ve got some great runs ahead of you this month – I wish you luck with those!

    Happy May!!

    • Brandie says:

      I highly recommend Tell Me Three Things! It’s so good, and I’m not usually a fan of a lot of YA.
      Sometimes it’s really hard to find a good balance, and the blog ends up suffering. But I don’t want to get burnt out – this is supposed to be fun, not a chore. Hopefully I’ll get back into the groove in May.
      Thanks so much, Jade!

  3. Pat @ Posting For Now says:

    Happy Birthday! I usually start the year out strong w/ reading & blogging and then fade as summer approaches. I am curious about Jasinda Wilder now and will look forward to reading more about her and her books. Good luck with your first 10 K and have a great month!

  4. Kathy says:

    Happy early birthday!! I don’t remember 35, so it must have been great, right? I’ll keep telling myself that. I wish I’m Thinking of Ending Things was better for you; I loved it. It wasn’t 5 stars, but my mood must have really been in the mood for it. Good luck on your future run!

    • Brandie says:

      Thanks, Kathy!!
      I didn’t hate I’m Thinking of Ending Things – it was definitely a page turner and I couldn’t put it down. It was just weird for me.

    • Brandie says:

      You know how much I hate covers like this. Fortunately I trust the author and have loved her other books, so I’m trying to overlook it. Also, reading on my Kindle means I never have to see the cover.

  5. Emma says:

    I have read a few people have been in a slump in April…it must be the changing of the seasons, it always is an odd time of year whilst we wait for the weather to change? Emma

  6. k2reader says:

    I just finished listening to The Obsession and really enjoyed it!!! I find the Nora Roberts’ stand alones are great on audio…I listened to quite a few of them and they really keep me engaged. I usually listen while I get my walks in 🙂 I still need to read Colleen Hoover – I have November 9 sitting on my shelf just waiting to be read. I hope you have a great birthday and good luck in your race!!!

    ~Kristin @ Always With a Book

  7. evaallbooksconsidered says:

    Yay, we are the same age (almost)! And I like it, too

    No worries about the slump — it will pass

    Still waiting for spring here!!

  8. Ksenia says:

    We all get these slumps from time to time, so don’t stress and do what you want. I’m happy to hear how you feel about your birthday; I hope you’ll have a great time.

Leave a Reply

