Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts

This is a weekly event hosted by Bookishly Boisterous.

  • When I knocked on wood and hoped we were all healthy in our house? Yeah, that didn’t work. Sunnie ended up with strep throat last week. On a good note, the antibiotic works wonders and she was feeling better the next day. And now I hope the medicine is working out anything else that was lingering in her system, so we can have a healthy happy girl!
  • I ran in the 5K two Sundays ago, and holy hot!! It was 80 degrees, and the race was in the middle of the afternoon (which was weird), and it was super hot out. I did okay, finishing under 30 minutes, which is always my goal. But it was definitely a challenge running in the heat for the first time. I’ve got one more weekend to train before my big 10K!
  • Speaking of heat, we are finally seeing some consistent warmer weather in Ohio. Open windows and sunshine make me happy. Sunnie and I spent pretty much the entire weekend outside soaking it up! Goodbye pasty legs.
  • I got a new car last night, my first ever brand new car. I love it. I think I’m a little too excited about the Bluetooth phone and iPhone hookup, because I’ve never had those features before. Doesn’t take much to excite me!

rogue

Nissan Rogue ❤

  • I’m still reading The Obsession because I am apparently a really slow reader these days. In reality, things have just been busy, and I haven’t had a lot of reading time. I hope to finish it tonight, maybe. 😉
  • This is a quiet week at work, which I am enjoying immensely after the stressful one last week. I hope you’re all having a great week!
In case you missed it…
Currently Reading
26370082
Recently Finished Reading

29610595

Book Haul

29432600 12530184 28959148 30007869 26048867


FitReaders

FitReaders2016

#FitReaders co-hosted by Felicia @ Geeky Bloggers Book Blog and Jen @ That’s What I’m Talking About. I joined FitReaders, because I thought it would be a great way to help me stay motivated. It’s always more fun with support of your blog friends!

FITBIT STEPS
Tue: 21,113 steps
Wed: 25,061 steps
Thu: 20,206 steps
Fri: 20,820 steps
Sat: 10,065 steps
Sun: 32,544 steps
Mon: 16,792 steps
Total: 146,601 steps

 

 

I stepped up my stepping game this past week, trying hard to hit 20,000 steps most days, and also hitting my first ever 30,000 day! That day only happened because it was a long run day, and Sunnie I took a walk to enjoy the beautiful weather on Sunday. Plus cleaning house, laundry, and grocery shopping also contributed. 😉

I hope to get one more practice run outside this weekend for my 10K.  I’m slacking a little on the strength training and need to get back to working that into my routine this week!

 

28 thoughts on “Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts

  1. evaallbooksconsidered says:

    80?! Dang! It snowed here yesterday so I am still waiting for it to feel like spring

    And, that is crazy — I just got a new car on Friday! ♥ !!

    I want to read Whisper to Me — I’ve seen such good reviews!!

    • Brandie says:

      It snowed two weekends ago here, and then jumped up to 80 the next week! It’s crazy. Now it’s back down to the 60’s again. As long as we don’t get any more snow, I’m okay with that.
      You did?! What did you get?? Congrats!

    • Brandie says:

      Thank you! This is my first ‘new new’ one…I’m still in a bit of shock. I parked in the very corner of the parking lot because I’m too afraid of someone dinging it!!

  2. Kathy says:

    Congratulations on the new car!!! It’s a beauty, too! I hope Sunni feels better soon, and you will kill it on the 10k; I’m sure of it. 🙂

  3. Michelle says:

    Congratulations on your new car! New cars are a thing of beauty. Enjoy and make sure you keep it clean! A little TLC will keep it looking like new for a long time!

  4. Rachel @The Readers Den says:

    I hope to do a 10K someday! 5Ks seem like a breeze for you now! 30 minutes?!! Wow. It is more difficult to exercise in the heat, although the cold sucks when you want to do anything outside. Oddly enough it has been windy and cold for several days, but bundling up has made it tolerable. Hate the wind, though!

    Congrats on the new car! Glad to hear Sunnie got rid of strep throat quickly. My husband has a nasty cold and I hope I don’t get it before we head off to Palm Springs this weekend. Enjoy your weekend, Brandie! 🙂

  5. laurelrainsnow says:

    Congrats on the new car! I love it. I’ve only had TWO new cars in my lifetime (purchased on my own, anyway), but since I’m a lot older, that’s not very many. The one I’m driving now is TEN years old, but it seems like just yesterday that I bought it (Toyota Matrix). It has really low mileage, since I bought it after retirement. Most of my trips are not in the car, and I just drive around town here, usually relatively close to home.

    Hopefully Sunnie will stay better now! Glad the meds worked.

    Enjoy your running….and here’s MY BOOKISH THURSDAY POST

    • Brandie says:

      Thanks!! I had a Matrix 2 years ago, and I loved that car so much! I was in an accident, and the guy that hit me totaled it. I was devastated – I had planned to drive that car until it died. One of the best cars I’ve ever owned.

  6. Nadia says:

    That’s great the Sunnie is feeling better. Fingers crossed to a healthy household! I love your new car! Congrats!! And you are going to rock that 10K!! Hope you have a great weekend 😉

  7. Jasprit (@jaskaur11) says:

    I really wish the weather would improve over here Brandie, I can’t even go for a run sometimes because its chucking it down with rain. But with the weekly hustle this week, I’ve been trying to get in as many steps as I can! Also congratulations on the new car!

  8. twimom227 says:

    OMG! Great new car. I got my first new car with all the bells and whistles 2 years ago. I still love it! Enjoy!

    So sorry about the illness around your house. Hopefully with the better weather, things will settle down. *hugs*

  9. Ksenia says:

    I hope Sunnie are feeling better now. Congratulations on the new car! And good luck with you running, a 10K is impressive.

Leave a Reply

