It’s Monday! What are you Reading?

This is a weekly meme now hosted by Kathryn @ Book Date. If you aren’t already, I encourage you to join in on the fun!

It was a good week! A calm week at work, and we found out that starting May 1st we get to wear jeans every day (we wear suits/dresses on Mondays, business casual Tue-Thu, and jeans Fridays). The idea of never having to wear dress pants and a suit jacket to work again makes me really happy. Of course I had to make a Target stop this weekend to get a few pairs of jeans! Target is my happy place. 😀

Sunnie is MUCH better, and we had a great weekend enjoying the beautiful weather! We grilled out, had a fire, got some sun. I had a 5K yesterday afternoon, and it was HOT. How do we go from 20 degrees and snowing last Saturday, to 80 degrees this weekend?! I’m not used to running in the heat, but I tried to drink as much water as I could before the race (which, btw, who schedules these things in the middle of the day?! I’m used to 8 am start times). It was pretty rough, but I managed to finish in under 30 (29:03) so I’ll take it. I definitely need some practice outside in the higher temps!

FINISHED READING

V23 new typeface tagline.indd

 GO BUY THIS BOOK. It is fantastic. One of the best YA books I’ve ever read. And I don’t read much YA.

29610595

She had my heart racing at the end – loved it! A lot darker than what I’m used to with CoHo, but still excellent.

CURRENTLY READING

26370082

So excited to read this one. I haven’t gotten to start it yet, hopefully tonight!

WHAT WILL YOU READ NEXT?

26048867

Possibly this one. Thank you, Atria, for the ARC.

What are you reading this week?

 

It's Monday! What Are You Reading

 

32 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you Reading?

  1. laurelrainsnow says:

    I now have The Obsession…yay! Don’t know when I’ll get to start reading it, but soon, I hope. I am also intrigued by Tell Me Three Things. Enjoy your week! And yay for the casual dress for work!

    Sorry to say, though, my being able to wear PJs while working from home is even better…LOL.

    Here are MY WEEKLY UPDATES

  2. Rita @ View From My Home says:

    Yay for casual dress at work. I’m not sure what field you are in, but going from suits to jeans is a major change!

    Just based on your high recommendation I’m going to put that YA book Tell Me Three Things on my wishlist. I don’t read YA except fantasy or dystopian fiction, but it sounds good to me and you love it, so… Also the Hoover one sounds really good and I have The Obsession already on my list to pick up soon. Swear on This Life I’ve seen other bloggers requesting and getting excited about, so I’m intrigued.

    Enjoy your running and your milder temps.

    • Brandie says:

      I work in a corporate office, in accounting. I’m so happy they’re changing the dress code!
      I don’t read YA hardly ever, but this one really won me over. I hope you enjoy it!

  3. Lori Palmer (@palmerspageturn) says:

    Jeans at work every day! I’m jealous! I remember in college thinking how fun it would be to get to “dress up” for work every day…what was I thinking?

    I ordered Tell Me Three Things…I’m saving it for Dewey’s Readathon this weekend!

    • Brandie says:

      Lol, I used to think that way too, and now I dread getting out my dress pants. Now if only I could get away with yoga pants. ha! That would be pushing it.
      I hope you love the book as much as me! I think it’s perfect for the readathon – very fast paced read.

  4. Kathryn says:

    I live in jeans and lived in them when I was teaching too – thank goodness we didn’t have a strict dress code. You can dress jeans up anyway! Hope you will enjoy The Obsession, I thought Nora did a great job!

    • Brandie says:

      So far, I’m loving the book!! I started it last night and couldn’t put it down!
      I’m super excited to wear jeans now. So much more comfortable than stuffy suits and dress pants.

  5. Nadia says:

    That’s great about Sunnie! The weather is crazy, but I’m glad it wasn’t freezing for your run. Of course, the HOT weather isn’t any fun either. That is so cool that you get to wear jeans every day now – awesome! I got an ARC of the Carlino book, too – Yay! And, since you have raved so much about Tell Me Three Things, I think that I will be kindling it this weekend 🙂 Have a great week!!

  6. Stefanie says:

    Denim is my go-to. I’m happy for you on being able to wear it every day to work instead of stuffy suits. Okay, on your order I checked out Tell Me Three Things and added that to my TBR and yay, the library carries a Kindle copy. Plus, you reminded me I wanted to try out Colleen Hoover this year so she’s been added to my 2016 New Author to Try shelf to remind my mommy brain.

  7. Stefanie says:

    Oh and love how you’re a hardcore runner. Hope to run in my first 5K this year. Midday is hard to run in especially when it’s going to be warm. Boy, you are fast! And I love Target denim. I need to find new jeans and shorts since I started running last summer and lost 7 lbs mine are all baggy.

    • Brandie says:

      Thanks! Good luck on your first 5K! Running in the middle of the day is the worst…I much prefer running in the morning.
      Target is my favorite store…I get a little too spendy when I go there!

  8. evaallbooksconsidered says:

    I can’t wait to start Swear on this Life but I have so many books to read first ! GAH

    I’m on my TRC re-read before TRK is released next week and it awesome

    I have to wear a suit a lot but I don’t mind, usually

  9. The Bibliophile Babe says:

    Glad Sunnie is feeling better! I hate, and I do mean hate, running in the heat. Sadly, I’m in Florida and have to suck it up. :p
    Tell Me Three Things is on my TBR! Looking forward to your thoughts on Swear on This Life.

  10. Kathy says:

    I can’t wait to see what you think about The Obsession. It’s getting really good reviews, and I haven’t read Roberts in a long time, but I’m really interested in this one.

  11. kimberlyfaye says:

    I think I’ll be bumping Tell Me Three Things up on my TBR. It sounded really good when I got it, but now that I know how much you enjoyed it… I think I need to read it sooner rather than later. I also need to make time to read CoHo’s WattPad story.

  12. Ksenia says:

    I’m glad to hear that Sunnie is better. I can’t wait to read Tell Me Three Wishes, so many praises from my friends.

Leave a Reply

