TBR Thursday {7}

TBRThursday-700x350

Kimberly @ Kimberlyfaye Reads started a new weekly feature that I loved the sound of, and have decided to join in the fun! Make sure you go check out her awesome blog.

The purpose of the feature is to spotlight a title from your shelf or eReader to see what others think about it. Have you read it? Should I read it or put it back on the shelf? It’s a way to dust off those older books that have been sitting on our TBR and decide if they’re worth reading or just need removed from the list!

 

25215427

Published October 6th 2015 by Signet

About the book:

After a devastating war decimated most of the world, Hudson Lane has only known the oppressive life under her own father’s tyranny. She finally escapes, branding herself an outlaw and hunted by the Enforcers. Her best chance at survival is Connor Mackenzie, an aggressively sensual fugitive who opens her eyes to the wicked possibilities of a world without rules.

As the leader of a band of outlaw fighters, Connor can’t resist the beautiful stranger who asks for his protection. Despite his reservations, he agrees to introduce her to a whole new way of life. But when Connor discovers Hudson’s connection to the enemies of liberty, he wonders how far he can trust the woman who has abandoned all inhibitions to challenge every forbidden desire.

 

This book has been jumping out at me all week. One reason is because I have several friends currently reading the second book in the series, and raving about how good these books are.  And my sweet blogger friend Rachel at The Reader’s Den sent me a paperback copy (and also highly recommended it). Now that paperback is sitting on my dresser taunting me to pick it up.

Also, I really dislike when book covers have pictures of shirtless men. It screams CHEESY to me. If it weren’t for my trusted book friends, I wouldn’t have even added this book to my TBR. And it does sound really good!

Have you read this book? What did you think?

 

15 thoughts on “TBR Thursday {7}

  1. Yvo says:

    I like the sound of this one, although like you a cover with a shirtless man on it is normally a big turn off… I’m looking forward to see what you think of it though.

  2. Michelle says:

    I think all romance novels have cheesy covers, whether it is a shirtless man or a well-endowed woman scantily dressed or a man in a kilt or…the list could go on and on. Still, I hope you enjoy this!

    • Brandie says:

      I kinda tried to start it this weekend – it was kinda cheesy in the beginning so I gave up quickly. I feel like I’m super picky with my romance novels these days. Anything cheesy and unrealistic turns me off immediately. It’s probably my mood – I’ll try again some other time.

  3. kimberlyfaye says:

    I think you already know my feelings about this but … OMG READ IT READ IT READ IT. I loved that it’s dystopian and, I gotta be honest, HOT AF. Sex definitely drives the storyline in this book for some very important reasons you’ll understand better once you start reading, but there’s more than just that happening. Oh I hope you pick it up and that you enjoy it!

    • Brandie says:

      Thanks, Rachel! I kinda tried to start it this weekend, but the beginning was a bit cheesy and I don’t think I was in the mood for it. Lately I’m so super picky about romance…I don’t know what my deal is.

Leave a Reply

