Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts

This is a weekly event hosted by Bookishly Boisterous.

  • I’ve had quite a bit going on the past few weeks, and I wasn’t up for doing this post last week. We had a great Easter holiday – Sunnie loved her Frozen bike! Now if only we could get some nice weather so she can get outside to ride it. She also loved going to the Cleveland Aquarium. It was a really fun weekend with family.
  • Because of our crazy up and down weather, it’s difficult for everyone to stay healthy. Sunnie is currently fighting a cold and cough, going on 5 days now. This morning she seems a little better, so I’m hoping it’s on it’s way out of her system.
  • Last week I had to say goodbye to my 18 year old cat, Baby. It was an extremely difficult decision, but she had a stroke Tuesday evening, and at her age there just wasn’t a whole lot we could do. It broke my heart, and I miss her terribly. It’s never easy saying goodbye to a pet. I am so lucky to have had her in my life – she was the best cat. And the outpouring of love from all of my friends, IRL and online, has been so kind and very much appreciated.

Baby

  • My reading has suffered a little bit with everything going on. But I am really excited for all of the great books I’ve added to my TBR/Kindle the past two weeks.
  • As for running – I ran my first 6 miles outside over the weekend. I’ve been training for a 10K, and it was the best feeling of accomplishment when I finished in under 60 minutes. I am really working hard to build endurance and run at a pace I’m comfortable with, so I can run longer.

6 miles

  • We don’t really have much planned this upcoming weekend. I hope Sunnie is feeling better by then, and if not it’ll be a weekend of rest.
In case you missed it…
Currently Reading

27212488

Recently Finished Reading

19302624 26795865

  
Book Haul

25033556 6479879 29418754 29106609 26841747

25876042 29247999 28100529 29503237 28595866

27274343 28188211 28017976 17876897 V23 new typeface tagline.indd


FitReaders

FitReaders2016

#FitReaders co-hosted by Felicia @ Geeky Bloggers Book Blog and Jen @ That’s What I’m Talking About. I joined FitReaders, because I thought it would be a great way to help me stay motivated. It’s always more fun with support of your blog friends!

FITBIT STEPS
Wed: 15,338 steps
Thu: 25,274 steps – only second time I’ve hit 25,000+ steps!
Fri: 11,754 steps
Sat: 18,204 steps
Sun: 21,113 steps
Mon: 17,116 steps
Tue: 17,555 steps
Total: 126,354 steps

 

So far, this week hasn’t been a great running week. I haven’t been able to get up in the mornings to run because of getting up so many times during the night with Sunnie. I had laid out my running clothes for this morning, but after being up with her several times in the night, I was exhausted when my alarm went off. I hope to get in a run as soon as I get home this evening. Running definitely helps me during stressful weeks to feel better.

I’ve also ordered a Kettlebell so that I can try some different types of strength training. I do well building strength training it into my routine for a week or two, and then I start to slack off again. Because I pretty much hate it, and I will find any excuse not to do it. Maybe I need variety, so that’s why I’m going to try some Kettlebell workouts. Laura over at This Runner’s Recipes wrote a great post about A Runner’s Love Hate Relationship with Strength Training.

I’m also interested in trying Kickboxing. I found some fun routines on Pinterest, and I think I’ll look into any classes being held locally. It seems like a fun workout and something to break up the routine a bit.

 

34 thoughts on “Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts

  1. laurelrainsnow says:

    I hope Sunnie feels better soon!

    So sorry about Baby, though, and I know you’ll cherish your memories of her.

    Great book haul! I must read Laura Griffin…and I’m ogling I Let You Go. Enjoy your week!

  2. pennma05 says:

    Hopefully the weather will start to get better soon so you can run outside more 🙂 And Sunnie can get better.

    So sorry again about Baby. It’s definitely heartbreaking to lose a pet. It sounds like she was a very special cat and lived a long, happy life though. 🙂

    Kickboxing sounds like so much fun! Kettlebell workouts are definitely a good workout! I have one at home and really need to get back into using it.

    • Brandie says:

      Thank you, I really appreciate that. She did live a long life and I think she was pretty happy. She sure made me happy.
      I’m glad to know you like the Kettlebell! I am excited to try it.

  3. Ksenia says:

    I’m so sorry to hear about your cat, Brandie. Our pets become our family, and it’s hard to say good-bye.

    Your book haul is great! I’m really looking forward to read Tell Me Three Things and Chase Me. And good luck with you fitness goals!

    • Brandie says:

      Thank you, I appreciate that. It is really hard to say goodbye.
      I’ve heard great things about both of those books! Now it’s just making time for them that’s the issue.

  4. Nadia says:

    I’m so sorry about Baby. She was part of your family, so that must be hard. I love the photos you shared – those must be some great memories of her.

    Hope Sunnie is feeling better. The weather is totally wacky lately, so that doesn’t help.

    Sounds like you all had a great Easter weekend. A Frozen bike – how cool for Sunnie 🙂

    Hope you have a great week!!

  5. joyousreads says:

    😦 I’m so sorry to hear about your cat. It’s tough when pets become a part of our family.

    Awesome job on the running and overall fitness despite the bad weather.

    • Brandie says:

      Thank you. It is really hard – they don’t live nearly long enough.
      Thank you! I really wish our weather would start cooperating. It’s freezing this week.

  6. Lori Palmer (@palmerspageturn) says:

    I didn’t realize Baby was 18! She was such a beautiful cat. Losing a pet is so difficult.

    Hope Sunnie feels better soon and that you get some good bike riding weather 🙂 It’s been gorgeous over here in Oregon–wish I could send it your way too!

    6 miles!! Well done!!

  7. Yvo says:

    Aww I’m sorry to hear about Baby! It’s always so hard to have to say goodbye to a pet… Congrats for running your first 6 miles outside though! Running outside just feels so much better… Hopefully I will be able to run a bit again soon.
    Neverwhere is SUCH a good read by the way; definitely recommended!

    • Brandie says:

      Thank you, I appreciate it!
      I hope to run outside tonight, if it’s not raining when I get home from work.
      I hope you can get back to running again! I definitely miss it on the days I can’t.
      Tarryn Fisher recommended Neverwhere last week and shared that it was only $1.99 for Kindle that day. I had never heard of it, and she was promoting it and saying it’s her favorite book. I love her, so I immediately bought it. I’m glad to know you enjoyed it!

  8. evaallbooksconsidered says:

    Aww I’m so sorry about Baby. There seriously is nothing worse 😦

    Awesome haul!

    Has I Let You Go gotten any better?

    • Brandie says:

      Thank you. 🙂
      Yes, it has gotten better – very twisty in the middle. I just haven’t had the time/energy to pick it back up this week. I just want to finish it!!

  9. twimom227 says:

    *HUGS* I’m so sorry to hear about your fur-baby. I’ve got two that are 16, and I wonder how much longer they will be with us.

    But congrats on the running! Running a 10k at less than 10 min/miles is AMAZING!! *high fives*

    • Brandie says:

      Thank you! Even though she lived a long life, I still have such a hard time letting go and I miss her.
      Thanks! I think I’m ready to start half marathon training (maybe). Lol

  10. Sarah Says Read says:

    Aww, Baby 😦 I’m so so sorry Brandie. I saw on Instagram, and my heart hurts for you. I can’t imagine.

    Your running is awesome!! And I think it would be AWESOME if you tried Kickboxing!

    • Brandie says:

      Thanks, Sarah, I appreciate that. I miss her every day. She was such a sweet soul.
      Thank you! Through good days and bad, running has really changed me. I still need to look into Kickboxing – I think it would be SO fun.

  11. Michelle says:

    That IS a book haul! You are going to be busy!

    This may sound weird but I am so proud of you and your running accomplishments! I love seeing how excited you are about them, as well you should be. And I LOVE seeing your before and after shots. They are such a great reminder that you can do anything if you try every single day.

    I said it before but will say it again that I am so sorry about Baby. I am dreading having to make a similar decision soon for my Gretchen. I just don’t know if I will ever be ready to make that decision. We may not give birth to them, but they are every bit as much our babies as the ones we do labor to deliver. {{{hugs}}}

    • Brandie says:

      Thanks so much, Michelle! It’s the kind words and encouragement from my friends that have continued to motivate me in my journey. I love running, even though I have good days and bad with it, it has really changed my life. Those reminders help me see how far I’ve come – I don’t ever want to get back to the way I was.
      Thank you – it’s so hard making that decision. Our pets are our kids, and she was my baby – I miss her so much.

  12. Rachel @The Readers Den says:

    Sorry to hear about Baby! It’s really tough to make the decision to put a cat down! It really, really hurts! I’m getting close to having to make that decision with cat I’ve had 17 years. He’s a sweetheart, but he’s winding down. 😦

    Sickness and weather do make it difficult to keep up with fitness goals. It’s raining here and the hike I planned for the weekend is off the table. I hope Sunnie feels better and your weather improves. You still manage to kick my butt in steps! Congrats on getting over 25,000 steps!

    Yay for Chase Me!! I loved it and I hope you do, too! 🙂

    • Brandie says:

      Thanks, Rachel! It so hard to make that decision. I know 17 is a long time for a cat to live, but it still doesn’t make it easier to say goodbye. We got SNOW on Saturday. It’s ridiculous!! Thankfully it has melted already, and our temps are supposed to improve by the weekend. 70’s they’re saying. I really hope so – I have a race on Sunday and would love to have decent weather for once! You are doing so awesome with your steps, too!! It’ll definitely help once the weather starts to cooperate more.

  13. Rachel says:

    Awww, B! I’m so sorry for your loss. After losing Alfie a year or so ago the online community were so supportive. I still miss him loads, and it will take some time for you to heal, but know you gave Baby a seriously fantastic life!!! Big hugs xxxx

    • Brandie says:

      Thank you so much! It is hard, and I have moments where it’s just so sad she’s not here with us anymore. But I know she’s in a better place and that I was lucky to have her in my life. Never easy saying goodbye to our pets. xx

Leave a Reply

