Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts

This is a weekly event hosted by Bookishly Boisterous.

image1 image2

The popper chicken and the chicken parm. Neither look pretty, but both were delicious!

  • The new sticker behavior calendar thingy is working WONDERS. My child has tried a new food every single day. And picks up her toys without a peep. Fingers crossed it continues. I am one happy momma.
  • I noticed this week that Sunnie has all of a sudden grown out of all her clothes. I need to do a closet and dresser clean out/rotation for bigger clothes soon. I was waiting for the weather to break so I could get out her spring/summer stuff. We’ve had a taste of spring in Ohio this week, and I’m hoping it’s here to stay!
  • Speaking of the weather, I was able to get a run in outside on Sunday AND Tuesday. Running outside is so much more fun than on the treadmill.
  • Last weekend was a very low key one, and towards the end of the weekend I was feeling crappy with a sinus cold that lingered until yesterday. Thankfully I’m feeling better, and the week is almost over! I’m looking forward to this weekend – we plan to take Sunnie out to dinner tomorrow night per her request to eat at Rocknes, Saturday night she’s having a sleepover at my parents and hubby and I get a date night. I have no idea what our plans are at this point, but I’m excited for a night out together. Sunday I have promised to take Sunnie to see Zootopia at the theater. Anyone see it? Looks pretty cute.
In case you missed it…
Currently Reading

27221408

Recently Finished Reading
 8201284
Book Haul

   28108000 27462818 27397628 26760230 25912497

29016182 27384984 28012085 25781741


FitReaders

FitReaders2016

#FitReaders co-hosted by Felicia @ Geeky Bloggers Book Blog and Jen @ That’s What I’m Talking About. I joined FitReaders, because I thought it would be a great way to help me stay motivated. It’s always more fun with support of your blog friends!

FITBIT STEPS
Thu: 16,317 steps
Fri: 16,395 steps
Sat: 20,351 steps
Sun: 15,669 steps
Mon: 12,454 steps
Tue: 14,201 steps
Wed: 15,272 steps
Total: 110,659 steps

 

I wasn’t as hardcore about steps this week, as I was trying to give my legs a bit of a break. But yay for nice weather and running outside! Two runs outside this week makes me happy. A 6 mile run on Saturday. Still working my way towards running in a 10k. Slowly but surely!

 

23 thoughts on “Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts

  1. Kathryn says:

    Very nice book haul – I have a couple of them I look forward to reading. Love the sticker chart is working, it’s great when things like that work. Simple and effective. So you are turning into a chef, go you! Wish it was catching!!

  2. Jade @ Reading With Jade says:

    Sounds like you’ve had a good week… Minus the slight illness. I hope you have a great weekend; sounds like you’ve got some fun plans. I hope to see Zootopia (although it’s called Zootropolis here in the UK), although we aren’t likely to see it for a while as we aren’t quite at cinema trips yet and so DVD’s are our thing.

    Those meals look yummy! Haha – I’m terrible when it comes to the presentation of food. I don’t know how food bloggers do it!

    I kind of secretly love buying children’s clothes. Have fun buying Sunnie some new bits!

    Oh, also, I purchased the first book in the Woman’s Murder Club series on audible today. Thanks for the rec!!

    • Brandie says:

      I think it’s interesting that things get changed in other countries. Movie titles, book covers. My food never looks appetizing, but so far it’s tasted good! Lol.
      Yay – I hope you enjoy the book!! I think those are great for audio books.

  3. Lauren Becker says:

    Yay for cooking more! I’m trying to find fairly easy but healthy recipes to make. I’m not a big cook either. haha that’s great you were able to get outside and run a bit. I don’t run, so the treadmill is fine for me! I did join a gym that a friend goes too so we’ve been motivating each other to go and that’s nice! You live in Ohio?! How awesome! I live right outside Cincinnati. We do have the weirdest weather.

    -Lauren
    http://www.shootingstarsmag.blogspot.com

    • Brandie says:

      That’s great that you joined a gym and have friends to go with!! Yes, I live in Massillon – close to Akron/Canton. The weather is so bizarre! It’s cold again today – so frustrating!!

  4. The Bibliophile Babe says:

    Sounds like a good week! That food looks epic.

    Great steps! Glad you got to run outside some. 😀 Our weather is pretty nice right now, but the pollen (and corresponding splitting headache and burning eyes) has made running kinda miserable right now. Oh well!

  5. Rita @ View From My Home says:

    Good week for you, cooking, exercising, getting a date night! Too bad about the sinus problem; I’ve had those forever and it sucks!

    I just returned to NG, long story on my blog, but I missed out on No One Knows because they gave out the limit, but I just requested Field of Graves, Taylor Jackson #8. I’m so looking forward to it because while I’ve read all novel-length stories in her two series, I prefer the Jackson one and thought it had reached its end permanently. Have you read her other ones?

    I agree, Laura Griffin is the queen of romantic suspense. I don’t always find myself in that mood, but when I do I turn to her books.

    • Brandie says:

      This is my first read by Ellison. I hope you get Field of Graves and enjoy it! I’m so glad I tried Griffin’s books. I started another one of hers last night, I just can’t seem to stop! Lol. Sinus problems are the worst!
      Have a great weekend!

  6. Nadia says:

    All of those recipes sound delicious! And I know what you mean, some books take awhile to get into, but wind up sucking you in eventually. As for that book haul – WOW! Looks like you will have plenty to choose from to read next 🙂 That’s great that the behavior/sticker thing is working out – Go, Sunnie! Kids grow up so fast – its crazy! At least it’ll be fun picking out some new stuff for her to wear. The weather is changing over here, too. We were having nice cool, breezy temps and now its HOT, HOT, HOT! That’s good that you’ll get to start running outside again. Enjoy your weekend – sounds like it will be a fun one!!

  7. Kristin (@_Kristin315_) says:

    While I do agree that running outside is more enjoyable than inside on a treadmill, I’d rather not run at all. LoL I’m not a runner. I tried it when I signed up for a 5k and did the C25k program. After a few months of “training” I never did make it to be able to run a full 3 mi. LoL Now, give me a pair of skates or roller blades and watch me do. Too bad my dog is a complete spaz on the leash and would have me face first in the pavement if I took him for a skate with me through the neighborhood.

    Congrats on hitting your steps! I should really join something like this. I need that accountability. Otherwise I do the whole “if no one sees me it doesn’t count” thing.

  8. AboutThatStory says:

    I had to open up all the recipes to check them out. I love using my crock pot but tend to make the same things over and over again!

  9. evaallbooksconsidered says:

    Glad the stickers are working! Loved Jane Steele and I just requested Nancy Thayer’s latest — loved her book from last summer so hoping I get it!!

  10. Rachel @The Readers Den says:

    I’ll have to try your chicken recipes!

    Being outside for exercise is preferable when the weather is good. Glad to hear you got a chance to run. 6 miles is great! I hope to do my 5 mile hike tomorrow. It rained all day today, but tomorrow is supposed to be beautiful. I might blog about my goals this next week, but I’m a little nervous to talk about it on the blogosphere. I’m not sure why.

    I got a copy of Jane Steele and Hold Your Breath as well. I hope we both love them. I’m definitely going to pick up Whisper of Warning!

  11. k2reader says:

    I was able to do my March 5k (walking) outside this week – it was so nice!!! I much prefer that than having to go to the gym, but it’s nice to have the gym for when it’s raining or too cold!

    I’m not much of a cook, but I do love when I find recipes that actually turn out good! I’ve been doing more cooking lately and it’s actually been fun – totally out of my comfort zone, but fun nonetheless!

    Nice book haul!!! I have Jane Steele – but since I never read Jane Eyre, I’m listening to that first. I also have Lies & Other Acts of Love – can’t wait to start that one. I’m trying to decide if I want to read or listen to the J.T. Ellison book…decisions, decisions.

    Have a great week!!!

  12. twimom227 says:

    I still hate the kitchen – what is your secret?!

    Once the sticker thing wears off, let me know… I have lists of the things I went through with my kiddos.

    I want to try running again when the weather gets better. Maybe I can do a 10k too!

Leave a Reply

