Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts

This is a weekly event hosted by Bookishly Boisterous.

  • In my bookish world, I’m bouncing back and forth between a few different books. Sadly, Losing the Light isn’t holding my attention (it’s probably just me and my current mood), so I started two suspense novels, No One Knows and Whisper of Warning, and I’m loving them both so far.
  • I took Monday off because I had a doctor’s appointment in the morning, and just decided it would be nice to extend the weekend an extra day. I met a girlfriend for lunch while our daughters played, it was a nice day (weather-wise), my hubby made me a fantastic dinner (that crack chicken I love so damn much), and I got in two runs (first time for running twice in one day). I’d love Monday’s if they were all like that! 😉
  • Over the weekend I decided to start a behavior sticker chart/calendar for Sunnie. For every new food she tries (this is a big deal – my child doesn’t eat anything), she’ll get a sticker. And for every day she does her chores (we’re not slave drivers – she makes her bed, picks up her toys, feeds the cats), she gets a sticker. We let her pick out the calendar she wanted (Frozen – SHOCKER), and the stickers (more Frozen…), and she was so excited. The reward she’s working for is a trip to Chuck E Cheese (ugh), and so far it has been working like a charm! She’s tried more new foods in the past week than in the past year. She’s been picking up her toys and messes without argument. WHY didn’t I start this sooner!?! Better start saving up my patience, because it looks like a trip to Chuck E Cheese will be in my near future.
  • I have been determined to get back into trying new recipes, and this week we had Baked Tortellini Casserole (very yummy and easy) and Rachael Ray’s Super Sloppy Joes (I LOVED this). Tonight we’re having Steak and Gravy over white rice (a favorite of mine, because it’s easy and delicious). I have 4 more new recipes on deck, and hopefully they’re good.
  • The week seems to be going quickly, probably because of taking Monday off.  And there’s nothing eventful on the agenda for this upcoming weekend. My goal is to finish a book (or two) and get in a long run, hopefully outside if the weather cooperates!
In case you missed it…
Currently Reading

28818525 27221408 8201284

Recently Finished Reading
 26892015 26892014
Book Haul

27863344 6589582 25852677 26944642


FitReaders

FitReaders2016

#FitReaders co-hosted by Felicia @ Geeky Bloggers Book Blog and Jen @ That’s What I’m Talking About. I joined FitReaders, because I thought it would be a great way to help me stay motivated. It’s always more fun with support of your blog friends!

FITBIT STEPS
Thu: 18,221 steps
Fri: 15,025 steps
Sat: 20,467 steps
Sun: 18,290 steps
Mon: 20,190 steps
Tue: 10,471 steps
Wed: 18,172 steps
Total: 120,836 steps

 

My steps were up this week, thanks to running most mornings and getting in a quick walk over my lunch breaks. I miss reading over lunch some days, so I may be backing off the lunch time walks to read more. I walk on our indoor track while the weather is crappy, but once it gets nice out, I’ll probably want to get out and walk more to soak up the sun. I’ve also been doing strength training twice a week for about 20-30 minutes at a time, and making sure to do lots of stretching, because it helps with my foot/knee issues.

 

The weather is still back and forth (oh how I love Ohio), but fortunately I was able to get in a run outside this past weekend. I beat my PR time by 17 seconds, even fighting some serious winds. Was pretty excited about that! Now I need to run a race at this pace – that’s my goal.

pr

 

10 thoughts on “Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts

  1. sara says:

    I did sticker charts when my kids were younger-it works wonders! And I totally feel ya on Chucky Cheese-make sure to bring ibuprofen with you lol.

  2. evaallbooksconsidered says:

    Yay I hope you love Dying to Please! Going to check out the ones you’re reading now! And yay that the sticker chart is working, I love(d) stickers so that does seem like a great plan!! ♥

  3. Kathy says:

    I can’t wait to see what you think about No One Knows. I pre-ordered the audio for a release day listen. I’m really hoping it’s as good as I’m expecting.

    I had a credit chart for Jordan when he was small and as a teen. It really does work!

    • Brandie says:

      Thanks, Steph! I’m really glad I started this sticker reward thing. Sunnie has tried more new foods in the past week than she’s eaten in the past year. It’s working like a charm!!

  4. Rachel @The Readers Den says:

    I hope you enjoy Dying to Please. I’m reading it and loving it. I just finished the Alpha Crew mini series after seeing you enjoy it, and I loved it. I’m definitely reading more of Laura Griffin soon.

    I want to try that Crack Chicken! I saved the recipe when you first mentioned it. I’ve joined #FitReaders and made a pledge to do something 5K. I’ll think I’m going to try and do it with a hike I used to do regularly. I might blog about it using this meme. We’ll see. I’ve got a FitBit now and it does motivate me to move more. My goal is at least 10,000 steps a day and I’ve been doing pretty well so far. Thanks for the inspiration! 🙂

    • Brandie says:

      That’s so great that you joined FitReaders, Rachel!! The FitBit is definitely motivating – it helps me stay on track (maybe makes me a bit obsessive too, lol). I’m so glad I can help inspire. 🙂
      Good to know you’re loving Dying to Please – that may just be my next read. I just finished another Laura Griffin book and it went on my favorite’s list. Why did I wait so long to read her books?! Kicking myself now!

  5. Jade @ Reading With Jade says:

    Two runs in the one day?! Go girl!!!

    It sounds like the sticker chart has gone down well… Especially with trying new foods. Alexander is starting to get more fussy now, so I feel you on that one!

    I hope you’re having a wonderful week 🙂

    • Brandie says:

      Thank you!! The food thing is really frustrating, so I’m SO happy she’s trying new things now. Even if it’s just a bite or two, I’ll take it!

Leave a Reply

