Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts

This is a weekly event hosted by Bookishly Boisterous.

  • I finished Deep Dark this week, and it was SO GOOD. One of the best romantic suspense books I’ve read in awhile. I went to add more of this author’s books to my TBR list and realized that I already had one of her books on my list from awhile ago. I plan on reading it soon! I also finished reading Tight this week. It was a quick enjoyable read.
  • After finishing two books earlier this week, I’ve been in a bit of a reading slump, and haven’t really felt like reading the past few nights. I have been debating what to start next and was considering Losing the Light. This morning I saw a fellow blogger post this status update on Goodreads, and now I’m convinced it’s my next read.
  • I had a bit of a fangirl moment last night, when my favorite author followed my fitness account on Instagram. I had created a fitness/weight loss account many months ago, but it was proving difficult to change back and forth from my personal account, and I eventually stopped posting on it. Then Instagram finally made it easy to switch between accounts, and I started posting on it again. Colleen Hoover recently posted on her blog about her desire to lose weight and get in shape and that she started a new Instagram account, Colleenlosesto help motivate her. And last night this happened.

image1

Fangirl moment!

  • Last weekend I took Sunnie to a Frozen event at the local library. It was like having a celebrity in the building, and Sunnie was beyond excited to meet Elsa.

elsa

Whoever ‘Elsa’ was – she did a fantastic job with the kids!

  • We’re getting slammed again with snow today, but the weekend looks promising with higher temps. I am ready for winter to be over!
  • Trying a new recipe in the crockpot today – Creamy Chicken Stuffing & Green Beans. I hope it turns out yummy. It sure looked and sounded good when I saw it on Pinterest. I’ve been a bit of a slacker lately on trying new recipes. It’s a grocery buying weekend, so I plan to pick out a few new recipes on Pinterest to try next week.
In case you missed it…
Currently Reading

28818525

Recently Finished Reading
25945904 23496782
Book Haul

26541570 19302624 26529649 28472687 28382862


FitReaders

FitReaders2016

#FitReaders co-hosted by Felicia @ Geeky Bloggers Book Blog and Jen @ That’s What I’m Talking About. I joined FitReaders, because I thought it would be a great way to help me stay motivated. It’s always more fun with support of your blog friends!

FITBIT STEPS
Thu: 17,679 steps
Fri: 9,167 steps
Sat: 15,215 steps
Sun: 21,021 steps
Mon: 20,347 steps
Tue: 12,140 steps
Wed: 22,243 steps
Total: 117,812 steps

 

Managed to keep up with my goals most days this past week, with the exception of Friday. Some days you just have to rest the legs, and that was one of those days. I’ve been running in the mornings and then walking over lunch most days with my girlfriends. Sitting at a desk all morning makes me sleepy, so the lunch walks have been a great break in the day.

 

My hubby started running! Within the past few weeks, he’s made the decision to get a little healthier. He wants to lose a few pounds, but he doesn’t eat all that bad, as he found out when he logged his calories for a week. So instead of cutting back on calories, he’s started running several days a week. I’m proud of him for wanting to be healthier and more active, and I also think it would be fun to run in a race together. He has a goal of signing up for a race with me by the end of April. He also started wearing my old Fitbit Charge, just to get an idea of how many steps he gets in a day. It’s become a bit of a friendly competition between us on who gets more steps in a day, which has been fun.

 

Because we had really great weather over the weekend, he and I got to run together for the first time on Saturday. Thank you, Mother Nature, for giving us good running weather for two days! I went out for a long run on Sunday, and it felt great. 5.5 miles at a really good pace. I was happy with it!

 

run

 

I’m making an effort to do more strength training each week. One day I tried yoga, but I just don’t think it’s my thing. I doubt I even did the moves correctly. I know it’s supposed to be great for runners, but I’m not convinced. I did have a cute yoga partner, though.

 

yoga

 

This week I created my own Strength Training workout and did it last night for the first time. I was sweating and feeling the burn by the end, so I’d say it worked! My goal is to do the workout two or three days a week, in hopes it will help me be a better runner.

 

training

 

24 thoughts on “Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts

  1. laurelrainsnow says:

    Deep Dark looks very good….and I have been reminded by a couple posts today that I need to use my Crockpot…a Christmas gift from my daughter. I used to use one all the time, back in the day…I lost my confidence, so I must start with something easy.

    Love the picture of Sunnie with Elsa.

    I posted all my Thursday events together here: MY BOOKISH THURSDAY POST

  2. Nadia says:

    Those books sound so good! And that is so cool about Hoover following you!! I read that post she wrote about losing weight and loved it. I still need to read her books! Sounds like Sunnie had fun with Elsa 🙂 Great photo! I think its great your husband has taken up running and that you two want to do a race together – that is awesome! Hope you have a great weekend!!

    • Brandie says:

      Thanks so much, Nadia! I can’t help be get excited about anything related to Colleen Hoover. She’s just such a fun author. You have to read one of her books!! 🙂 Have a great weekend!

  3. Rita @ View From My Home says:

    I love reading Laura Griffin for my romantic suspense “fix” and I’m excited to hear she has a new stand-alone, as I’ve only read many of her Tracers series.

    Grats on your amazing weight loss and fitness goals! And Colleen Hoover… good for her… and it must be gratifying to have a celeb follow you. I’m disabled so I can’t strength train, but I’m supposed to walk as much as possible and I don’t get inspired enough to push myself 😦

    I made something similar to your recipe the other night when I came home from the doctor and didn’t have a clue what was for dinner–just didn’t use a crockpot.
    I placed 3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, chopped into bite size portions, in a baking dish, covered that with a sauce of 2/3 cup of light sour cream and a can of Campbell’s Chunky Soup called “Chicken-Broccoli-Cheese, with Potato”, then covered that with a layer of Stove Top stuffing mixed with some hot water and a few dabs of light butter spread on top. Baked 400 degrees for about 30 minutes. Had with a tossed green salad. So yummy and since it’s filling, you don’t take that large a serving to heap on the calories, since this isn’t so low-fat.

    • Brandie says:

      Thanks, Rita! Sometimes the motivation is tough. I had a hard time feeling motivated to run & walk today. I’m a huge Colleen Hoover fan, so I was so thrilled she followed me! She’s my all time favorite author. This was my first book by Griffin, but it will not be my last! I’ve been missing out all of these years by not knowing about her books. That recipe sounds delicious!! I’m always looking for new ways to make chicken, I will be adding this to my recipe list. Thank you!

  4. Michelle says:

    I love that Colleen Hoover is following you on Instagram!!! That is so cool! You have every right to fangirl all over the place.

    I have been doing so well this week now that I am properly tracking my food and drink intake. Making good choices and staying below my target. It feels good. Unfortunately, I also started reacting to my Fitbit band. Itchy rash all over my wrist. I had stopped wearing it briefly because I noticed the beginning of one a few weeks ago. When it went away, I thought I would try it again. Sure enough, within one day I was breaking out. I gave it to Holly; she’s been wanting to use it forever. I am going to wait for the rash to go away and try a different fitness band, I think.

    • Brandie says:

      When an author interacts with their readers – it really makes such an impact in our bookish world. I already thought she was awesome, but she continues to surprise me.
      That’s so great – I am proud of you!! I noticed how long you’ve been logging into MFP, which is so good! I’m sorry about your Fitbit band. I noticed my new one was giving me a bit of a rash when I would sweat. I bought Cetaphil wash after doing some research (it was recommended by Fitbit) and have been washing the band with it. It worked really well. Holly will probably love it, and will quickly realize how much she kills the step count every day with all her dancing!!

      • Michelle says:

        Well, I was really good about checking in and logging breakfast or even breakfast and lunch. Dinner, for those first 200+ days was a chore. I am changing that by planning what I eat in the morning and logging it immediately. That way, it is already there, and if I deviate from that plan, it is easier to adjust than to start from scratch.

      • Brandie says:

        That’s exactly what I do. I know what I’m having for dinner most days in the morning so I log the entire day first thing and just make adjustments as the day goes on. Makes it seem easier and like less of a hassle.

  5. Jade @ Reading With Jade says:

    Heather Gudenkauf recently followed me on Twitter after I reviewed These Things Hidden – that was pretty exciting stuff!!

    You and Sunnie doing your yoga together – too cute. It’s good you tried something you wasn’t previously; we learn from that. Such as you realising yoga isn’t for you. I quite like yoga – it doesn’t get me all zen like – but I do find it relaxing in many ways and I feel like it gives me a good old stretch.

    It’s great that you and your husband are both in to running now – inspiring people all over the place, aren’t you? 😛 It’s great that you’re able to enjoy that together from time to time too.

    I need to up my game with trying new recipes of late – I hope you’ll let us know how this latest one goes.

    • Brandie says:

      In our bookish world, things like that make all the difference. Interactions from our favorite authors – it’s just awesome. I need to do more stretching, and I’m not opposed to trying yoga again. One of my good friends swears by it, and I’ve talked about attending a class with her. Maybe if someone told me what I’m doing wrong, it would be more helpful. Have you been using your slow cooker lately? I remember you just getting one. It’s so convenient!

      • Jade @ Reading With Jade says:

        Oh, I totally get that. You should see about giving a class a go then, if possible.

        I haven’t made any new recipes in the slow cooker lately… Just repeats of previous recipes. I’ve kind of fallen off the meal planning bandwagon, so trying to hop back on that. It is so convenient though – you’re right!

  6. evaallbooksconsidered says:

    An awesome romantic suspense? I am on it, that is my favorite genre and hard to find good ones lately! I want to read Losing the Light too!

    Have a great week! ♥

  7. Kathy says:

    Cutest Yoga partner ever, so how can you not do yoga with her by your side? 😉 Losing the Light is on my wish list and (hopefully) next capsule round. I’m still putting Griffin on my radar list. I have so many lists that I need a list to keep them all straight!

    • Brandie says:

      Lol, you need lists for your lists. It’s a vicious cycle. Why must there be so many good books and not enough reading time?! I started Losing the Light last night but I’m not very far. Verdict is still out.

  8. The Bibliophile Babe says:

    That is a total fangirl moment!

    Congrats on the steps! It’s always nice to meet a goal, but it’s not everything. I love yoga, but only when it’s treated as a form of exercise – I don’t have the patience for the “ommm” mediative type, for lack of a better term. :p

  9. twimom227 says:

    WOW! What a great week. I’ve been gone for a few weeks, but it looks like you are getting back on track. You are doing a great job. Glad to hear that the hubs is going to be joining you too! Hope you and your family have a great week.

  10. Kathryn says:

    I’ve read a few reviews now lauding Losing the Light so will be looking forward to what you have to say. Adorable partner there for your yoga try out! What a buzz with Colleen Hoover. You are a great role model!

Leave a Reply

