{Top Ten Tuesday} Reading Outside My Comfort Zone

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish, and this week’s topic is the Top Ten Books I Enjoyed Recently (last yearish) That Weren’t My Typical Genre/Type of Book (or that was out of my comfort zone).

I’d like to say that I’m pretty well rounded when it comes to reading, and that I read a lot of different genres.  The truth is that I go in phases where I’ll read the same genre for awhile, because it’s all I’m in the mood for (like my current Suspense/Mystery phase). I’ve gone through a lot of these phases over the years, the Chic Lit phase, the Paranormal phase, the New Adult phase, the Erotica phase…just to name a few. I did manage to read several books within the past year that I would consider out of my ‘comfort zone’ or not part of my normal reading routine.

18711342

I have never been big on Historical Romance, and this was the first book in this genre I’ve read in a long time. I LOVED it! But I haven’t read another Historical Romance since. I need to fix that.

25729161

Along the same lines as Historical Romance – I’ve never been a big reader of anything Historical until this past year. I’ve only recently started being interested in more historical themed books, and then adding in YA – this is definitely not my typical read. But I loved this book.

24527478

I don’t typically get on the Motorcycle Club train like a lot of readers I know. I have to be in the mood for it, which isn’t often. This book was a nice surprise for me.

24795570

YA is not my go-to genre. I usually have to talk myself into reading a book in this genre, and I’m not sure why. It’s just not my favorite, although I have read and enjoyed a lot of YA over the years. This book? It’s a MUST read. If you’re going to pick up a YA book in the near future, it needs to be this one.

6357135

I used to love all things Paranormal. Hello, Twilight obsession?! But then I think I got burnt out, and lately the genre rarely interests me at all. This was a book I’d had on my TBR for a long time, but kept putting off. It was so good, and I definitely want to continue the series some day, when I get in that mood again.

13578987

I get the hype, truly I do. I enjoyed this one a lot, although not enough that I plan on continuing the series anytime soon (just can’t with the series commitments right now). But when I read this one, I could understand the major love it gets. Again, I’m pretty burnt out on all things paranormal/fantasy/dystopian right now, but this book was worth reading.

Okay, so I didn’t read as many books ‘outside of my comfort zone’ as I thought. But hey, it’s a start!

13 thoughts on “{Top Ten Tuesday} Reading Outside My Comfort Zone

  1. Kathryn says:

    That really is quite a few books not in your general path of reading I reckon! I find I am reading I think what I would call a little bit in the general fiction line. I guess it is good to change it up though because it keeps us appreciating all kinds of books.

    • Brandie says:

      I do enjoy general fiction, but for some reason my attention span is only sticking to suspense right now. I agree – I love switching it up and trying new things!

  2. Kathy says:

    I’m such a slacker. I really should have posted a top ten with zombies, historical, and sci-fi. Hindsight really is 20/20, I guess.

    I’m also not a “read every motorcycle book or series,” but I loved Joanna Wylde’s Reaper series …until I burned out on it.

Leave a Reply

