Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts

This is a weekly event hosted by Bookishly Boisterous.

  • I finished Find Her and really enjoyed it. Gardner is definitely one of the best at writing twisted suspense. It took me all week to finish it, though. I haven’t had as much time to read as I did the past few weeks.
  • We got dumped on with snow this week. Hopefully it was Mother Nature getting it out of her system. The only good thing about it was there was finally enough of it for Sunnie to get to play and build a snowman. She was ecstatic.
  • Friday night we took Sunnie bowling for the first time, and she had a blast. We promised to make it a regular thing since she loved it so much.

bowling

  • The rest of the weekend was low key and relaxing. Saturday we did some shopping and had lunch at Chic-Fil-A (my favorite…yum). I made my second attempt at Potato Soup in the crock pot Saturday night and it turned out really good. My first attempt at potato soup was a disaster, because I burnt the hell out of it. I was glad this batch was a success!
  • Sunday, Valentine’s Day, my sweet husband and daughter gave me cards and then hubby did the grocery shopping for me (because he knows how much I hate it). Pretty much the best gift he could’ve given me. I didn’t have to leave the house at all, I got in a long run, and I made my favorite Sausage Pasta Bake for dinner. The only bad thing about the day was that it went way too fast.
  • Last night my hubby made this Crack Chicken recipe and it was THE YUMMIEST THING EVER. Seriously. He saw it on Facebook yesterday and we were in the mood to try something new. He’s usually not a fan of chicken, but he’s been trying to eat more of it, and this was so good I think he’ll make it again really soon.
  • Today is National Drink Wine Day! My kind of holiday! Make sure to represent tonight. Or today, if that’s your thing. I will definitely be enjoying a glass when I get home.

download

In case you missed it…
Currently Reading

23496782 25814248

Recently Finished Reading
25752544

Book Haul

      18046624 25945904 28904784 28943567 25898187 27175281


FitReaders

FitReaders2016

#FitReaders co-hosted by Felicia @ Geeky Bloggers Book Blog and Jen @ That’s What I’m Talking About. I joined FitReaders, because I thought it would be a great way to help me stay motivated. It’s always more fun with support of your blog friends!

FITBIT STEPS
Thu: 20,161 steps
Fri: 14,653 steps
Sat: 20,561 steps
Sun: 16,827 steps
Mon: 15,114 steps
Tue: 10,193 steps
Wed: 18,201 steps
Total: 115,710 steps

 

 I’ve been trying to do my best to hit at least 15,000 steps a day. A new goal I’ve set for myself recently. I manage to hit it almost every day. Tuesdays are my rest days, and I barely manage to hit 10,000 on that day, but I do pretty well the rest of the week. I’ve run 6 out of the last 7 days which makes me happy! This weekend it’s supposed to be in the 50’s so this girl is definitely getting outside to run! And I stocked up on some new running shoes this week, so I can hopefully avoid knee pain for awhile.
Earlier this week I made the decision that I HAVE to work more strength training into my weekly exercise routine.  I know it’s important and will help make me a better runner. It’s not my favorite thing, so I started out with just doing a quick 15-minute routine off a fitness app I downloaded.  For two days after, I was sore as hell. I thought I was in good shape from running every day – wrong. Apparently I worked out muscles that I forgot I had. I know it’s a good thing and based on how sore I was, I obviously need to do it more often. Last night I downloaded a yoga app and did a 20 minute routine. I’m not as sore this morning, so I’ll take that as a good sign!
I’ve also been making energy balls every week as my after run snack. I seriously love these things. And I made some egg white and cheese cups for the first time. There were enough to freeze a batch of them for later. Trying to work more protein and healthy snack foods into my weekly diet.
energy balls

 

18 thoughts on “Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts

  1. Rachel @The Readers Den says:

    Every time I read your fitness updates it motivates me to get going. It’s hard staying active when you work and just want to veg when you get home, but then I read about your ups and downs and continued success and it inspires me. Keep these posts coming! 🙂

    I pinned the Crack Chicken recipe your husband found. It sounds really good!

    I will definitely be celebrating National Drink Wine Day today! I’m on vacation wine tasting in the central coast of California right now. Yesterday we hit some really beautiful wineries.

    Wonderful post, Brandie! 🙂

    • Brandie says:

      Aw, thanks Rachel! I’m glad I can help motivate others with my journey. I can relate to the daily struggles – I know it’s not easy, especially after a long day of work! That chicken was the best chicken I’ve ever had – and the bbq sauce/dip was amazing. I’m so jealous – I love going to wineries! I hope you’re having a wonderful time! Cheers!

  2. evaallbooksconsidered says:

    Awesome recap of the week and seems like a great book haul! Those recipes look awesome! We got snow today, I am so not ready for winter to be over! ♥

  3. Kathryn says:

    Those energy balls look totally yummy and you’d need them after such big workouts. Amazing. Can see Sunnie adored the bowling alley. Nice book haul there, will keep you reading on!!

  4. StephTheBookworm says:

    Oh you guys got hit with snow too?! We did on Tuesday and it’s the worst snow storm I’ve ever seen here. We had over 18 inches in just a few hours. Ugh!

    I make the exact same recipe for my potato soup and we are obsessed! I make it at least twice a month. Sometimes, we also get a chunk of ham from the deli and I will cut it up and throw that in too. Yum!

  5. Kathy says:

    I haven’t been bowling in years, but I used to love it, too. You’re making me hungry with the potato soup talk. I love potato soup and cornbread on a cold …okay, anytime. I’m debating on whether to use my credits for the audio of Find Her. I keep going back and forth on it. I want it…do I have time for it…I want it…do I have time for it. It’s a never ending cycle with me.

  6. Jade @ Reading With Jade says:

    It’s not a proper snowfall until you get a snowman out of it – I bet you had a blast, whilst freezing. Haha! It looks like Sunnie was having a blast at bowling; it’s fun discovering new activities to enjoy as a family.

    So much yummy food mentioned in this post!!

    Also, I just want to say a thank you for inspiring me with your Fit Readers participation and fitness journey. It’s safe to say I’ve put on a few pounds of late – I’m still within the healthy range for my height, but just about – and reading your snippet here each week has been a good kick up the backside.

  7. Michelle says:

    You make me want to start cooking some more comfort food again.

    I did not celebrate National Drink Wine Day. I did my drinking on Wednesday night and had so much food that I felt sick all day on Thursday. I stuck with a simple homemade tomato soup – yay for all veggies – and some bread. I will probably open a bottle tonight depending on what we do or do not do.

      • Michelle says:

        I do too. This was…not good. I *may* have put in too much garlic and doubled ingredients I didn’t think would be a big deal. In all fairness to my kids, who refused to eat it, I could barely finish a bowl of it. Jim had no problems though, so go figure.

Leave a Reply

