{Mini Review} Find Her

25752544

Goodreads / Amazon

About the book

Flora Dane is a victim. 

Seven years ago, carefree college student Flora was kidnapped while on spring break. For 472 days, Flora learned just how much one person can endure.

Flora Dane is a survivor.

Miraculously alive after her ordeal, Flora has spent the past five years reacquainting herself with the rhythms of normal life, working with her FBI victim advocate, Samuel Keynes. She has a mother who’s never stopped loving her, a brother who is scared of the person she’s become, and a bedroom wall covered with photos of other girls who’ve never made it home.

Flora Dane is reckless. 

. . . or is she? When Boston detective D. D. Warren is called to the scene of a crime—a dead man and the bound, naked woman who killed him—she learns that Flora has tangled with three other suspects since her return to society. Is Flora a victim or a vigilante? And with her firsthand knowledge of criminal behavior, could she hold the key to rescuing a missing college student whose abduction has rocked Boston? When Flora herself disappears, D.D. realizes a far more sinister predator is out there. One who’s determined that this time, Flora Dane will never escape. And now it is all up to D. D. Warren to find her.

My Thoughts

This book was getting a lot of buzz around it’s release, which made me curious enough to preorder it (which I rarely do). As most of you know, I love this genre of books, and thankfully I wasn’t disappointed! This was a twisted psychological thriller that kept me guessing until the very end. When I thought I had the outcome figured out, the author managed to throw in another twist to prove me wrong. The content of this book is definitely hard to stomach – if you have issues with rape and abduction, this book may not be for you. The author does a really great job of making the reader understand the mind of Flora and the trauma that she suffered, and continues to suffer. I really didn’t know how I should feel about her until the end – I love how the author made me second guess myself over and over. I’ll definitely be on the lookout for more books by this author and in this series!

Bottom Line

Gardner has proven why she is a go-to author in the suspense genre.

4 Stars

Genre: Suspense, Psychological Thriller

Series Standalone

Published: February 2nd 2016 by Dutton

Length: 400 Pages

21 thoughts on “{Mini Review} Find Her

  1. laurelrainsnow says:

    I love this series, too, and the extra little twists make them “must read” books. I have this one, and I am trying not to leap ahead before the others on my list…but I may not be able to wait.

    Thanks for sharing…and thanks for visiting my blog.

    • Brandie says:

      It’s a standalone series. You can read the books without having to read the previous ones. The author gives you enough background in the beginning without it being too much information. I’ve only read one other book in this series years ago.

  2. Rachel @The Readers Den says:

    I agree, the content was hard to stomach. I almost put this aside in the beginning because I was worried I wouldn’t be able to handle it. Thankfully, Lisa Gardner isn’t too descriptive, but still my mind could fill in the blanks and it made me sick. Especially since we know of some very similar real-life cases. My heart goes out to Elizabeth Smart! Glad you enjoyed this one, too, Brandie!

    • Brandie says:

      You’re right – I’m glad she wasn’t overly descriptive or else I may not have been able to finish it. It is so sad and sickening that it happens in real life.

  3. Kathy says:

    I think you’ve convinced me to add this one to my list. I’ve wrestled around it, but it looks like one I would really get into. I love my thrillers and suspense so much!

  4. Jade @ Reading With Jade says:

    Ooo… This sounds like the best kind of psychological thriller – I love when I think I’ve got it all figured out, only to be thrown a curveball. I’ll have to look in to Lisa Gardner’s work.

    Somewhat similar, but somewhat not, have you read An Untamed State by Roxane Gay? That sprang to mind when I was reading your review of this.

  5. Nadia says:

    So glad you enjoyed this one. I knew you would! It was sooo good! I know what you mean about not knowing what to make of Flora until the end – I felt the same way! Great review!!

Leave a Reply

