Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts

This is a weekly event hosted by Bookishly Boisterous.

  • I finished two really good books this week. Salt to the Sea (worth the heartbreak to read it) and The Allure of Julian Lefray (adorable and just what I needed). Now I’m in the very beginning of Find Her, a book I’ve been wanting to read for awhile. So far it’s good. The happy reading streak continues!
  • I wrote a non bookish blog post last week about my struggles to stay healthy. It was kind of therapeutic to get all of that out, and it will be good for me to go back and read it when I need the motivation. I’ve been doing better this week sticking to a healthier diet and my running schedule. But it’s definitely still a daily struggle – just some days are harder than others.
  • I ran my second 5k of the year on Saturday with my sister-in-law. It was fun and not too terribly cold, although there were some brutal hills, which I’m not used to. My neighborhood is really hilly, and I’ve only been able to run it once in the past month because of the weather. I need it to get warm again so I can get in some more hill practice! Regardless, we finished in 29 minutes, and my goal is to always finish under 30. So, I was thrilled with that!
  • Sunnie is having her Valentine’s Day party at school today. It was our first year of picking out cards and her having to sign all of them for her classmates. She was beyond excited this morning, and I’m excited to pick her up and hear all about it.
  • Because of the frigid temps they’re calling for this weekend – I really don’t plan on leaving my house unless I absolutely have to. And I think a new potato soup recipe will be on the menu for one of those cold days. The upside of this freezing weather – we’re getting a lot of use out of our fireplace!
In case you missed it…
Currently Reading

25752544

Recently Finished Reading

25729161 25774050

Book Haul

     25467698 25814248 24914181 26880493 11350891 28961172


FitReaders

FitReaders2016

#FitReaders co-hosted by Felicia @ Geeky Bloggers Book Blog and Jen @ That’s What I’m Talking About. I joined FitReaders, because I thought it would be a great way to help me stay motivated. It’s always more fun with support of your blog friends!

FITBIT STEPS
Thu: 15,180 steps
Fri: 7,784 steps
Sat: 13,679 steps
Sun: 18,005 steps
Mon: 16,160 steps
Tue: 12,555 steps
Wed: 20,292 steps
Total: 103,655 steps

 

 The 5k last weekend was a lot of fun, and I was really pleased with my time considering all the hills and the cold temps. I always take the day before a race off from running and walking, so my step count sucks that day. But I feel like it helps me have a better run the next day when I rest completely.
I started training for a 10k on Sunday using an app my sister-in-law told me about. I had used the same 5k app, and never thought about using an app for 10k training. It is helping break up my running routine, while adding a bit of mileage a few days a week.
My knees are really sore this week. They hurt the worst when the weather is this cold, and I may have to take a few days off to give them a break before I make it worse. Which I hate to do when I’m on such a good running schedule and feeling great. I have to keep telling myself that recovery days are just as important as running days (blah blah – I still hate taking a break. Lol.)

 

26 thoughts on “Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts

  1. Nadia says:

    Sounds like are reading some great books lately. I hope you like Find Her. I just finished The Perfect Neighbors last week and really liked it (then again I always like her books). That’s so cute about Sunnie’s Valentine’s Day party – how fun for her! Potato soup sounds perfect for your chilly weather. Congrats on the 5k with your SIL – that is awesome! I loved your nonbookish blog post – it was so inspiring and honest. I really appreciated it 🙂 Have a great weekend with your family!!

  2. Rachel says:

    Well done you for your 5k! And under 30 mins! You’re a wee terminator!! 😀

    I have The Two of Us? Buddy read?? I’m gonna go through you and Stef’s GRs TBR to see if there’s any we can match up on for our Babes and Books reviews, we need to revive it, it was SO good!

    Also, potato soup? The Irish Chick picked up on that one! Leek and Potato. It’s the way to go.

    R xxx

    • Brandie says:

      Thanks, Rach! 🙂
      YES, we need to buddy read and revamp our feature! It was fun!
      Potato soup is such a good comfort food. And with negative temps tomorrow, I think it’s a perfect meal. 😉 xx

  3. Kathy says:

    Happy Valentine’s Party Day to Sunni! We have a surprise snow storm here in the South and a welcomed snow day! Yay! I’m glad to hear that Salt to the Sea worked because I bought it. After the heartbreak I just read, I don’t think I can dive into it for a bit, though. Congrats on meeting your 5K goal of under 30!!! Have a great weekend, Brandie!

  4. StephTheBookworm says:

    Lucky Sunnie! Exchanging Valentine cards was always the best at school!

    Motivation with the health journeys comes and goes, I’m learning. I’ve been on my journey for just over 4 years now and it’s still hard every single day! The biggest struggle I’ve had has been the last year since I had Caleb. This week I’ve really re-committed to it. Since his birth, I’ve been on and off of MFP but now I’m back on and I’m on day four and finally feeling good about it again. Just know that you’re doing awesome and that there will be ups and downs all the time, but that’s okay! 🙂

  5. Ksenia says:

    Rachel from Reader’s Den loved Find Her, but I’m not sure this book is for me. I hope you would like it too. I’m curious to see your thoughts about Underwater, I have it on my tbr-list. And good luck with your diet and my running! 5k under 30 mins sounds very impressive.

  6. Kristin T says:

    I just requested the audio of Find Her…I love Lisa Gardner’s books, especially her DD Warren series!!! I hope you are enjoying the book! Great job with your 5k! May I ask what app your SIL was telling you about for the 10K training? Even though I’m a walker, I’d love to know – thanks!

    Have a great week!!!

    • Brandie says:

      Thanks! Find Her is definitely intriguing – I’m enjoying it so far. Sure – the app is called 10K Runner. It’s yellow in the app store, if that helps. 🙂

  7. twimom227 says:

    Hey there! I am really behind on blog reading, so I just saw your post on weight loss and your personal struggles. It was a wonderful post – thank you so much for sharing! I too have been feeling blah about moving and more importantly – eating healthy. We can be here for each other. *HUGS*

    • Brandie says:

      Thank you! I agree – we can work through it and cheer each other on! I need all the support I can get, because it never gets any easier, that’s for sure. xx

  8. Michelle says:

    You are definitely on a roll with your reading. Very impressive indeed!

    What app did you use for the 5k? I am not there yet, but I will be looking for one once I drop a few pounds. Ideally, I would like one that starts out with just walking versus diving right into the run/walk thing (I’ve done Couch to 5k so many times that I think I have the program through week 7 memorized).

    • Brandie says:

      I used the 5K runner app. It’s yellow. It has you start out walking more than running. I repeated the first few weeks several times before I was comfortable enough to run more.

      • Brandie says:

        LOL. Those programs say you’re supposed to by 5K ready in 8 weeks. HA. it took me more like 16 weeks before I felt even close to being ready.

      • Michelle says:

        Okay, it won’t let me reply to your latest reply. Anyway, you did see that I have attempted C25K multiple times, right? It’s usually because I get to week five and give up because it is too difficult. I did make it to week 7 one time and stopped running because I was on a business trip or the weather turned arctic or some other reason, and I never went back. That is one of my goals for 2016 – to finally finish that damn program.

Leave a Reply

