Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts

This is a weekly event hosted by Bookishly Boisterous.

  • I started Salt to the Sea last night, and it’s really good so far. Several characters are introduced immediately, and I was struggling a bit keeping everyone straight. I think I was too tired last night to concentrate on the book fully. Hopefully tonight I’ll be able to focus on it better.
  • On the blog this week I posted a couple of reviews – All the Missing Girls and He Will Be My Ruin, and participated in a new feature/meme hosted by Kimberlyfaye Reads – TBR Thursday. Pretty happy with my blog activity so far this year. Just hoping I can keep up with it and not go through a burn out period anytime soon.
  • Not a whole lot of excitement on the home front. We’ve been very boring these days, just going about our normal routines of work, home, dance class, repeat. I didn’t even attempt any new recipes this week, although we did repeat a few of the new recipes that have become part of the permanent rotation. For Super Bowl Sunday, hubby wants to make some sausage and cheese stuffed bacon wrapped jalapeno thing he saw on Facebook last week. He had me at ‘bacon’.
  • This Saturday I’m running in a 5k with my sister-in-law, and I’m excited for it, although I really hope the temps are at least above freezing. We have been fortunate to have a mild winter with barely any snow, and our temps even got up to 60 degrees yesterday! Just to plummet back down to the 30’s today with a chance of flurries. Typical crazy Ohio weather. I hope the groundhog is right and spring is just around the corner.
  • Over the next few weeks I have to start thinking about the Kindergarten registration process for Sunnie, and I just can’t believe she’s going to be starting Kindergarten! Where is the time going?!
In case you missed it…
Currently Reading

25729161

Recently Finished Reading

23212667 28277395

Book Haul

28166965 27221517 26105742 28926996 25488596 27860003


FitReaders

FitReaders2016

#FitReaders co-hosted by Felicia @ Geeky Bloggers Book Blog and Jen @ That’s What I’m Talking About. I joined FitReaders, because I thought it would be a great way to help me stay motivated. It’s always more fun with support of your blog friends!

FITBIT STEPS
Thu: 10,909 steps
Fri: 15,117 steps
Sat: 13,556 steps
Sun: 22,036 steps
Mon: 20,005 steps
Tue: 10,460 steps
Wed: 19,153 steps
Total: 111,236 steps

 

After kicking the sinus infection, I’ve gotten back into my normal running routine, and even focused harder this week on getting more steps and burning more calories. I felt like the past few weeks I had really gotten lazy and slacked off, only doing the bare minimum every day. I know being sick didn’t help, but I feel better when I’m pushing myself weekly to be as active as possible. It took me about a week to get back into the groove after being sick,  but I’m back to running every morning and even getting in some walking in the evenings. Next week I plan on starting to slowly add mileage, working towards the goal of running a 10k. And I’m excited to run my second 5k of the year this Saturday!

running

 

14 thoughts on “Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts

  1. Nadia says:

    That’s great you are feeling better 🙂 Sounds like you are having a good week so far. Enjoy all those books and your weekend!! Good luck in the 5k!!

  2. Kathy says:

    I just picked up Salt to the Sea today but am not sure when I’ll get to it. Good luck on the run! And Kindergarten? I actually got sick to my stomach and required meds on my son’s first day of Kindergarten! It’s a milestone, for sure.

    • Brandie says:

      Salt to the Sea reads really quickly because of the short chapters. Doesn’t seem very long, either. I’m excited to dive back into it tonight.
      I’m gonna be a blubbering mess on Sunnie’s first day of Kindergarten. I thought preschool was bad. HA!

  3. the Bibliophile Babe says:

    So looking forward to your thoughts on Salt to the Sea! It’s not in my usual genre, but I’m really curious about it.
    Good luck on the 5k, and Sunnie’s kindergarden! Your steps this week are fab!

    Nice book haul, too! I have End of Days – looking forward to getting to it.

  4. Jade @ Reading With Jade says:

    Haha – your husband had you at bacon – I can relate there!

    I’m a little late with keeping up with posts this week, so you’ll most likely already have run your 5k, so I hope it went well.

    I totally understand why you mentioned your general day to day stuff as ‘boring’ because it can seem that way when we just stick to routine and have a particularly uneventful week, but this year I’ve learnt to think of those weeks as comfortable weeks as opposed to boring. I think it sounds much better. Haha!

    • Brandie says:

      The race went well, thank you!! You’re so right – it is better to say ‘comfortable weeks’ than ‘boring weeks’. I prefer when they’re less eventful!

Leave a Reply

