Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts

This is a weekly event hosted by Bookishly Boisterous.

  • January is turning out to be my best reading month in memory. I’ve been so fortunate to read some outstanding books this month. Part of my reading streak is thanks to being sick the past two weeks and only having the energy to sit and read. I finished One True Loves, What We Find, and Fool Me Once. All three were outstanding!
  • There are definitely several books that I’m really excited to read this year and have been looking forward to their release, and for some reason I’m really anxious to get my hands on this book next week. I’ve been dying to read it.

25729161

  • I’ve been fighting a sinus infection for over a week, missed a few days of work, and finally went to the doctor, who put me on antibiotics. Thankfully the medicine is super strong and started working rather quickly, the only drawback is that it makes me restless and wired, so sleep isn’t happening. And if it is, it’s very fitful. The lack of sleep is catching up, and I’m looking forward to the weekend and being able to stay in bed a few extra hours.
  • Work is super busy right now, too. I don’t try to wish the days away, but I will be glad when this week is over. We don’t have much planned for the weekend, either, and I’m okay with that.
  • Didn’t try too many new recipes this past week, except for Crockpot Italian Chicken, which I loved. Made a few old favorites that I’d forgotten about – Stuffed Green Pepper Soup and Johnny Marzetti. Can never go wrong with either of those – they’re great comfort food!
In case you missed it…
Currently Reading

23212667

Recently Finished Reading
27274429 27410977 26193153
Book Haul

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000035_00030] 27866775 27221865 25782821 25368047 25324697


FitReaders

FitReaders2016

#FitReaders co-hosted by Felicia @ Geeky Bloggers Book Blog and Jen @ That’s What I’m Talking About. I joined FitReaders, because I thought it would be a great way to help me stay motivated. It’s always more fun with support of your blog friends!

FITBIT STEPS
Thu: 14,026 steps
Fri: 13,246 steps
Sat: 13,747 steps
Sun: 4,226 steps
Mon: 4,359 steps
Tue: 3,719 steps
Wed: 10,796 steps

 

Sinus infection and being exhausted from it really hindered my workout schedule this week. I’m slowly trying to build my endurance back up without overdoing it. I ran a mile yesterday morning and two miles this morning. I’m hoping by the end of the weekend I’ll be able to do my normal 5k and not feel like I’m dying! I know I needed the break, but I really hate when I’m sick and can’t run. That daily exercise is such an important part of my routine and makes me feel so much better.

run

 

19 thoughts on “Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts

  1. Jade @ Reading With Jade says:

    Ah, it sucks being ill – I hope you feel better soon. Battling that with the combination of being busy with work definitely isn’t good so I hope you have a wonderfully relaxing weekend! And catch a few more zzzz’s – I feel you on that one!!

  2. Kathryn says:

    Ha, I now have a copy of One True Loves thanks to Edelweiss and yourself. I won’t be reading it for awhile as have a number of books before it, but so excited to get it when I asked for it, along with a couple of other Atria books.
    Hope the sinus clears up, annoying to lose some fitness but it will build up again once you are really well.

  3. StephTheBookworm says:

    I hope you continue to feel better!

    We’ve tried a few new recipes lately that we loved! A crockpot potato soup and a taco casserole… yum. It’s fun finding new favorites but hard not to eat all of it! 😉

  4. Kathy says:

    It’s always stinky when you don’t feel well. I hope you’re on the mend soon. That stuffed green pepper soup sounds delicious! I’ll have to do some shopping and try that one for myself.

  5. Sara says:

    love the running gif 🙂 I actually don’t run (loathe it), but today I’m pulling out my rebounder and getting back in the swing of things-just found out we’re going away in April and a pool/swimsuit will be involved ugh, lol. Hope you feel better soon!

  6. Michelle says:

    The Year We Turned Forty…hah! I feel like that should be mandatory reading for me this year.

    I’m glad you were able to get antibiotics that are working for you.

    Hang in there! The week is almost over!

  7. stephaniesbookreviews says:

    Haha that picture is how I feel! I’m going on two weeks without working out – and I was only just starting back up. And tonight I’m getting pizza because I didn’t feel like going grocery shopping…My compromise is that I get JUST pizza and not a dessert with it, like I usually do. So progress?…..

    • Brandie says:

      That’s definitely progress!! Last night was pizza night for us. I could never give up pizza! It’s hard to get back into when you take a break. I took a 3 day break and it’s been a struggle the past two days to run.

  8. twimom227 says:

    I hope you are feeling better. I am struggling with a head cold and the head aches are getting worse, even though I’m taking some meds. I pray I’m okay traveling next week via airplane!

Leave a Reply

