{Review} One True Loves

27274429

Goodreads / Amazon Preorder

About the book

From the author of Maybe in Another Life—named a PeopleMagazine pick and a “Best Book of the Summer” by Glamour andUSA TODAY—comes a breathtaking new love story about a woman unexpectedly forced to choose between the husband she has long thought dead and the fiancé who has finally brought her back to life.

In her twenties, Emma Blair marries her high school sweetheart, Jesse. They build a life for themselves, far away from the expectations of their parents and the people of their hometown in Massachusetts. They travel the world together, living life to the fullest and seizing every opportunity for adventure.

On their first wedding anniversary, Jesse is on a helicopter over the Pacific when it goes missing. Just like that, Jesse is gone forever.

Emma quits her job and moves home in an effort to put her life back together. Years later, now in her thirties, Emma runs into an old friend, Sam, and finds herself falling in love again. When Emma and Sam get engaged, it feels like Emma’s second chance at happiness.

That is, until Jesse is found. He’s alive, and he’s been trying all these years to come home to her. With a husband and a fiancé, Emma has to now figure out who she is and what she wants, while trying to protect the ones she loves.

Who is her one true love? What does it mean to love truly?

Emma knows she has to listen to her heart. She’s just not sure what it’s saying.

My Thoughts

I will read a lot of books this year, many will be wonderful and leave a lasting impression. But it will be incredibly hard for any of them to top this beautiful, outstanding book.

Taylor Jenkins Reid has a way of making me feel so many emotions when I read her books – and this book was no exception. My heart would be breaking into a million pieces one minute, only to be overwhelmed with love and joy the next. Her writing is so exceptional, as she has proven with every one of her books, but there was something about this book that consumed me. The story was brilliant, unique, and so so beautiful.

From the synopsis alone, you can’t imagine how anyone could handle losing their husband, finally get the courage to move on and be engaged to someone new, only to find out their husband is alive! Because of TJR’s writing, it was so easy to put myself in Emma’s place, to feel everything she was feeling as she tried to figure out who she was and what she wanted for her future. My heart hurt for Emma, Jesse, and Sam throughout the entire book. I’m still overwhelmed by everything I felt while I read it and know that it will stay with me for a very long time.

An emotional and incredible story that set the standard for all other books I will pick up in the future. This book is just SO GOOD. If you haven’t read a book by Taylor Jenkins Reid, I highly recommend you do so immediately, and absolutely preorder this book now. This book should be on everyone’s summer reading list! I know I could’ve waited until closer to the release date to post my review, but I was just too excited to share my love for this book!

I feel very fortunate to be a blogger and get the opportunity to read advanced copies of books that I’m highly anticipating. It is especially amazing books like this that make me even more grateful to have the opportunities I do. Thank you, Atria Books and Taylor Jenkins Reid!

ARC provided by publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.

5 Stars

Genre: Adult Contemporary, Romance

Standalone

Expected Publication: June 7, 2016 by Washington Square Press

Length: 352 Pages

26 thoughts on “{Review} One True Loves

  1. laurelrainsnow says:

    I featured this book in my Waiting on Wednesday post today…I only read this author for the first time this past year, but loved every one of her books. She does have a way of taking whatever theme she chooses and turning it into something awesome. She is definitely my new favorite…along with Hoover, of course. LOL. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Michelle says:

    Dang, girl! I saw this on NetGalley and passed because I just don’t do women’s fiction very well. Your enthusiasm, though, is making me reconsider it, especially as yours is the second extremely positive review I have seen in a day.

  3. Kathryn says:

    Okay you’ve interested me very much. I know it’s always awesome when you come across an extra special book and want to shout from the roof tops about it! Will chase it down!

  4. Nadia says:

    I’m looking forward to reading this one so much now!! Your review was terrific – made me see how much you loved the book and has me wanting to read it ASAP!! Great post!!

  5. Kathy says:

    Wow! It looks like you found your favorite of the year, already! I’m looking forward to this release, and it looks like I need to make it a priority. Maybe in Another Life was my first book by TJR, but I swore it wouldn’t be my last. This is such a great review, Brandie.

  6. Ksenia says:

    Thanks for putting this book on my radar, Brandie. This sounds very emotional. I haven’t read anything by Taylor Jenkins Reid yet, but I’ve heard a lot about her works.

Leave a Reply

