Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts

This is a weekly event hosted by Bookishly Boisterous.

  • And another great book week for me! I finished The Shadow and loved it. You can read my review here. I also read Never Never Part Three – my review will post tomorrow. And I read and reviewed the most f’ud up book ever – Behind Closed Doors.
  • Now I’m reading a new Robyn Carr book that I’m loving. It’s been a long time since I’ve read one of her books – I loved the Virgin River series (but only got through book 7). Her writing is so realistic and the witty banter in this book is awesome.
  • I also just started the new Taylor Jenkins Reid book, One True Loves, that I was really excited to receive an ARC for. Love her books.
  • On the home front, I was so happy last night that after 5 years of living in our house, we finally have a working fireplace! It’s a gas fireplace, but we never wanted to risk using it until we had someone check it for leaks and to make sure the chimney was clear. We had some bad luck with fireplaces at our previous residence and would rather be safe than sorry. It’s been on our To Do list to have it looked at, but just never got around to it. We should have made it a priority to have it looked at way before now, because I love it! I told my husband it feels like we’re at the cabin when we have it on – so cozy. I’m already looking forward to going home tonight and having it on.

fireplace

Also, I love my mantle banner. I find the cutest stuff on Jane.com

  • I was really excited to come home one day last week and find my new Wino sweatshirt from Mad Love had arrived. I saw it shared on Instagram a few weeks ago and had to have it. It’s seriously the most comfortable sweatshirt.

wino shirt

biscuits gravy cake

First picture is the Sausage Biscuits & Gravy casserole. Really good and so easy. And the cake was definitely better than any cake I’ve ever made. After indulging too much, it’s the last cake I plan to make for awhile!

  • Last weekend we were all sick with a cold/sinus issues off and on and did a lot of resting. I took Friday off work because Sunnie and I both felt pretty horrible. Although we are all feeling a bit better, it’s hard to shake it off completely with this weather. This weekend we don’t have much planned, and if it continues to be freezing out, you’ll find me sitting in front of the fireplace. 😉
In case you missed it…
Currently Reading

27410977 27274429

Recently Finished Reading
 25504865 27827584 25454883
Book Haul

   28237035 23212667 28277395 6354356 15989350 24362465


FitReaders

FitReaders2015-200x200

#FitReaders co-hosted by Felicia @ Geeky Bloggers Book Blog and Jen @ That’s What I’m Talking About. I joined FitReaders, because I thought it would be a great way to help me stay motivated. It’s always more fun with support of your blog friends!

FITBIT STEPS
Thu: 8,666 steps
Fri: 15,390 steps
Sat: 5,240 steps
Sun: 15,044 steps
Mon: 13,533 steps
Tue: 13,205 steps
Wed: 7,602 steps

 

I was plagued with a stupid migraine on Saturday, which put a major dent in my steps for the week. I had even planned a long run for that day, but could barely move from the couch. I’ve managed to do a few longer runs this week. Long for me is 4 miles before my knees start aching. But I’ll take it, because the longer I go the more calories I burn! I realized this week that I’m up a few pounds (I should probably stop baking cakes, huh?) and it freaked me out. I do know that weight doesn’t define me, as long as I’m feeling good and my clothes fit – that’s the true measure for being fit. But I have to admit that after losing so much weight, I can’t help but get a little scared when I see the scale jump up. And I’m only talking 3 pounds, so for all I know it’s just water weight! I do need to drink more water – I’m terrible with that.

So the little bit of weight gain has me motivated to really focus on my diet harder and making sure I’m eating healthier, so I can drop those pesky pounds and feel better about myself.

This was my motivator this week:

eat well

 

20 thoughts on “Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts

  1. Carey Fletcher says:

    Your fireplace does look cozy! I always love pictures of people with their feet propped in front of the fireplace. My problems with fireplaces have always been the smoke. That’s probably not a problem with a gas fireplace, huh?

    That Chicken teriyaki looks good too. I love teriyaki chicken. I will have to try this recipe.

    Hope this weekend is great!

  2. Kathy says:

    What a lovely and cozy picture of your fireplace. It makes me want to curl up with a book, too. I’m sorry you weren’t feeling well but glad you’re better now. You’re eating from the South with those gravy and biscuits…my favorite (and most fattening) breakfast food for any time of the day. 🙂 I’ll be hopping over to read your thoughts on The Shadow; I love SR’s writing!

  3. the Bibliophile Babe says:

    Please come cook for me. :p I love the fireplace! Great jobs on the steps, and glad you’re feeling better!
    I’m really looking forward to your thoughts on NN3. I just finished it today and feel really conflicted.

    • Brandie says:

      Lol, I used to hate cooking. It’s bizarre how much things have changed. Thanks! It’s tough staying healthy with this weather. I just posted my review of NN3. I know it’s not everyone’s favorite, but I was happy with it.

  4. Rachel @The Readers Den says:

    I hope to love The Shadow as well. I got a copy of The Dirty Secret after reading Joy’s fab review. I hope we both love it! I also got a copy of Robyn Carr’s newest and I’m looking forward to picking it up.

    Your fireplace looks like the perfect cozy reading spot! 🙂

    • Brandie says:

      I hope you love The Shadow, too! Joy’s review is the reason I requested a copy too! I hope it’s good. Yay – I’m so excited you got the new Carr book!! Can’t wait to see what you think! Let me know if you want to double review on Waves! For any of these books.

  5. k2reader says:

    OH…what a lovely fireplace! That’s one thing I wish our house had…I love my house, but it is missing that ;( That sucks about the migraine…I had one last week, too, so I totally feel your pain. Do you get them often? I get both them and regular headaches – so frustrating. You still had a good week, stepwise, though. And I love that saying! I’ve been awful with drinking water lately and I really need to with the medication I take for my headaches.

    Have a great week!!!

    • Brandie says:

      I’m terrible at drinking enough water and think part of my problem is dehydration most days. I don’t get migraines or headaches that often – usually only if I have sinus issues or a cold. The up and down weather is what’s killing me lately!

  6. Christina T says:

    The fireplace looks wonderful for this time of year. Glad you got it working!

    I haven’t read any books by Taylor Jenkins Reid yet but I do have my eye on One True Loves. It sounds really good!

    Good job with your fitness goals even with the migraine. I hope you have a better week this week.

  7. twimom227 says:

    I am so jealous of your gas fire place! Enjoy!!

    As for the weight gain – don’t go overboard trying to lose three pounds – just go back to “normal” and it will come off over the next couple weeks. I find that it took me about 2-3 weeks to take off the couple pounds I’d put on. You can do it!

    • Brandie says:

      Thank you for the encouragement!! I weighed myself this morning and I’m back down to were I like to be. I’m really happy with that – and need to just focus on staying there!

Leave a Reply

