{Review} Behind Closed Doors

27827584

Goodreads / Amazon

About the book

The perfect marriage? Or the perfect lie?

Everyone knows a couple like Jack and Grace. He has looks and wealth, she has charm and elegance. You might not want to like them, but you do.
You’d like to get to know Grace better.
But it’s difficult, because you realise Jack and Grace are never apart.
Some might call this true love. Others might ask why Grace never answers the phone. Or how she can never meet for coffee, even though she doesn’t work. How she can cook such elaborate meals but remain so slim. And why there are bars on one of the bedroom windows.
Sometimes, the perfect marriage is the perfect lie.

My Thoughts

I’ll start by saying this story is fucked up. Everyone looks at situations and plots differently, but I was deeply disturbed by the path this story went down. And maybe I just have certain triggers, like some readers who hate reading about love triangles or other readers (myself being one) who hate reading about rape. The twist this book took definitely appalled me, and I will admit that I almost quit reading. It was early enough in the book that I wasn’t too invested and considered just DNFing it. I didn’t think I could stomach the rest. But some twisted part of me had to know the outcome.

The book goes back and forth between the present day and the before/early stages of the couples marriage. At first I had no clue which way the story was going, and then the author made it very clear how twisted and sick in the head someone can be, and from that point on I was scrambling to finish.

Am I glad I finished it? Yes. I was happy (for lack of a better word) with the ending. Did I like the story? Hell no. It was one of the most twisted plots I’ve ever read, and it disturbed me quite a bit. In fact, I’m still thinking about the story days after finishing it, that’s how much it affected me. Is it worth reading? YES. Because the test of a great book is how it makes you feel, right? And even if I hated the characters and the story, it made me think and feel and bitch about it days later. I can’t say I loved the book, I didn’t even like the book. But I couldn’t put it down, and I want all my friends to read it now so we can talk about how twisted it is. There’s so much I want to say that would give away important plot lines and ruin the story, so if you read this book, please come back and tell me what you thought!

Bottom Line

A twisted psychological thriller definitely worth reading.

4 Stars

Genre: Psychological Thriller

Standalone

Published: February 11, 2016 by MIRA

Length: 352 Pages

12 thoughts on “{Review} Behind Closed Doors

  1. Jade @ Reading With Jade says:

    That’s the thing with some of the darker reads… The plot itself isn’t nice, but the writing keeps you reading. This sounds like that kind of book. I might look in to this one because I’ve been intrigued since you first mentioned finishing it.

  2. Kathy says:

    You really have me curious about this one and despite the sickening topic, I think I would read it. I’ve read another book that absolutely sickened me to the core and had me quickly reading (and a little skimming) because I was so sickened, but it was 5 stars for me because it was so brilliant in execution and the twists in it. It’s hard to rate books like this, isn’t it?

  3. Kathryn says:

    Yes was just thinking would make a good book club read and then saw your comment above. Don’t think it’s for me, but I can understand how it both attracted and repulsed you.

  4. Michelle says:

    The phrase “fucked up” is a sure-fire way to make me want to read a book. Throw that phrase to a thriller, and I’m sitting here salivating. I am so messed up.

    • Brandie says:

      Lol! I love a good thriller. I think it was just the sickness of the character’s mind and how twisted they were that really pushed me over the edge. It wasn’t even gory – it was all just psychological, but man are they f’d up! I would love for you to read this one to know if you felt as disturbed as me.

  5. StephTheBookworm says:

    I definitely need to read a crazy thriller so I am planning on reading this one. I read Gone Girl a year or two ago and thought it was so crazy and addicting so I’d love to find another book like that!

Leave a Reply

