Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts

This is a weekly event hosted by Bookishly Boisterous.

  • Back to the grind this week! It has been a struggle to get up when the alarm goes off, and I’m drinking a lot of coffee. But it’s been good to return to a normal routine, at least for Sunnie. She loves school and dance class and was so happy to be back this week. I miss being home with her and Nunz – we had such a great holiday vacation together. But we had to join the real world eventually!
  • It’s also been a struggle getting my diet back on track, but I feel like I’ve got it back under control after eating way too much for the holidays. My pants are fitting, so I guess I didn’t go too overboard. 😉 I’m diligently tracking on MyFitnessPal and trying to stay away from too many sweets and sugary foods. I’m feeling better the past few days, so it seems to be working.
  • I’m really excited because hubby and I are going on a little cabin getaway this weekend! We got to go on a cabin getaway several years ago and had such a great time. This time we’re not going as far away – we found some really adorable cabins in Amish country, which is a much closer drive, but still far enough away to feel like we’re actually ‘getting away’. And there’s a winery we’re planning on stopping at on the way down. It’s just for one night, but I’m really looking forward to it!

cabin

  • Finished my first book of the new year and it was fantastic! Maybe because I love Tarryn Fisher I was a little biased, but I absolutely loved her new book. You can read my review here.
  • I’m still on a roll with trying new recipes. It’s becoming one of my favorite things to do. Over the holidays I tried several new ones – Pasta E Fagioli, Creamy Chicken Noodle Soup, and Crock Pot Chicken and Dumplings. All three were delicious. I’ve made the chicken noodle soup twice already. Tonight I’m making this Baked Spaghetti Casserole for the first time. It’s easy and sounds yummy.

dumplingsoup

The Crock Pot Chicken and Dumplings – I LOVED it.

In case you missed it…
Currently Reading
25391689 25504865
Recently Finished Reading

25828204

Book Haul

19370304 28176722 28240855 8788554

28450381 23732637 25998342 25597114


FitReaders

FitReaders2015-200x200

#FitReaders co-hosted by Felicia @ Geeky Bloggers Book Blog and Jen @ That’s What I’m Talking About. I joined FitReaders, because I thought it would be a great way to help me stay motivated. It’s always more fun with support of your blog friends!

FITBIT STEPS
Thu: 15,402 steps
Fri: 8,962 steps
Sat: 13,973 steps
Sun: 14,409 steps
Mon: 12,824 steps
Tue: 5,254 steps
Wed: 12,727 steps

 

Over my vacation, I gave myself a lot of slack on my diet and steps. I still ran 5 days a week, but have become less obsessed with my step count every day. With work and busy schedules, I have to be okay with whatever I’m able to fit into my day. While I used to be disappointed in myself for not hitting 10,000 steps in a day, I’ve learned that some days I just need that rest day and it’s okay! I was also super obsessed with getting in more steps on my lunch breaks, but that was taking away from my reading time, which is something I love, too. I need to find a balance, so I’m going to focus less on step count, and more on the fact that I am working out at least 5 days a week.

I’m still focused on running 5 days a week. Because of my knees, I can’t run more than 3 days in a row and then have to give myself a rest day. I’m listening to my body and the routine I’ve got in place is working well for me. I’m trying to build up to running a 10k or half marathon at the end of the year. To train for it I’m going to focus on at least one longer run a week where I add a half mile to the run each time. I’m also making sure to include at least one HIIT/interval run into my schedule every week, to burn more calories and build some endurance.

Coming back to work after a 2 week hiatus (and staying up late/sleeping in the entire time), has proven more difficult to wake up and do my runs early in the morning than I thought. Getting up at 4:30 just isn’t happening this week, so last night I ran in the evening. I ended up having a great run, so maybe getting more sleep in the morning and running at night is better for me right now.

Over vacation, I went for a run and beat my 5k PR time. I was so excited! That day I got to try out the GPS on my new Fitbit that I got for Christmas, and I love it!

pr sjurge

And last weekend I ran my first 5k of the new year with my sister-in-law. It was freaking freezing cold, and I didn’t have my best time because I was so damn cold, but it was still really fun, and we’re going to run another one together in February. Gonna have to really layer up for that one! My goal for this year is to sign up for at least one race a month. As of right now I’m signed up for one in February and March!

5k

 

 

33 thoughts on “Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts

  1. Nadia says:

    Getting back to reality after the holidays always seem to take longer than necessary, doesn’t it? Sounds like you have bounced back 🙂 Enjoy your cabin getaway!! And you are rocking those 5ks! One down already and another lined for next month and the month after – wow! That chicken and dumplings look so good – yum! Have a wonderful weekend!!

  2. stephaniesbookreviews says:

    You’re doing awesome with MyFitnessPal. I always tend to do really good for a short burst of time and then ignore it for awhile…or have a bad day where I eat so much I don’t bother logging it all because it will depress me haha. But I’m determined to keep up with it this time!

    • Brandie says:

      You’re doing great as well!! Even on those bad days, I still log (even if I may not share it…haha). I need that reminder and even the guilt will force me to eat better the next day. I promise you it’s worth it to keep going!

  3. Kathryn says:

    Love the cabin idea, not too far to travel and sounds the surrounds are awesome. Enjoy. You do so well in your running and what changes you have made. Yesterday I forgot to wear my fitbit was half hour into my hour walk and realised. I was bummed. But will help me not to be obsessive! What counts is to do exercise.

  4. Sarah @ Kerosene Lit says:

    It’s so hard to get back on track after the holidays. We are still currently trying to finish our Christmas candy. All those recipes sound amazing. I now have them bookmarked. You didn’t mention the baked spaghetti casserole has cream cheese! That just made it sound 10x more delicious.

    • Brandie says:

      The baked spaghetti with cream cheese was SO GOOD. Although I got home and realized I forgot to buy spaghetti noodles, so I made it with rigatoni noodles instead. It was still delicious!!

  5. Kathy says:

    I love cabin getaways in the mountains here – so peaceful. Have a great time! It’s good that you’re listening to your body to keep from injury. Love the new fitbit!

  6. Rachel says:

    Doing super well with your running! Welcome to the world of lie ins! I had two days in work this week, and I am zonked! Next week will kill me. As you know, I did the muddy run last year, but actually (power) walked most of it. Well I hit the gym three times this week (yay for meeting goals!), and with 2 weeks (or so…) off from the gym, I couldn’t believe the difference in my fitness levels. I didn’t give myself enough credit for how fit I actually made myself before Christmas. Don’t get me wrong, I couldn’t have ran a 5K from start to finish, but I did go from couch potato to being able to do a 40 minute spin class without sore legs the next day. Luckily, going back I was a little less fit, but no where near as bad as I was when I first started. So that’s motivated me to totally get my ass in gear and get that fitness back, and then some! I had started a couch to 5K programme and managed about 3.5K in 25 minutes before Christmas, so I’m wanting to get back on that again so I can do the muddy run again this year, and you know, actually run it!

    I’m trying to add new recipes to the repertoire as well. I tend to find dinners that are easy to cook after work, and make them religiously in a schedule, and this year I’d like to diversify that a little. A book I have my eye on is Lean in 15, you should check it out.

    Your reading tastes seem to have changed a little again – have you noticed or am I imagining things?? R xx

    • Brandie says:

      You can do it, Rachel!! If I can do it (and I was the laziest couch potato ever), anyone can! It’s touch getting back on track after the holidays but we can do it together. 🙂
      Easy dinner recipes are the way to go for me. If it takes longer than 20 minutes to prep, it’s a big ‘no’. Lol. I’ll check that book out – never heard of it!
      Yes, you are correct. Lately my reading tastes are all over the place. I’m enjoying suspense and women’s fiction more. I just read a smutty NA book over the weekend, and although it was good, I wasn’t wowed. And those books used to be my jam!

      • Rachel says:

        Strange how tastes can change that way, isn’t it? I picked up my copy of Lean in 15 tonight after work! Excited! Check it out on insta #leanin15, his account is super popular! R xx

  7. Rachel @The Readers Den says:

    The cabin looks so rustic and cozy. Have a wonderful time, Brandie! You’re an inspiration to me with exercise. I can’t believe you still keep up running outdoors in the cold weather! I would love to run a marathon someday. I do My Fitness Pal, too, but to be honest I’ve been really slacking the last month. Must get back on track. 🙂

    • Brandie says:

      Thanks, we had a wonderful time!! It’s too cold out now to run outside. I am okay when it’s in the 30’s, but days like today (negative temps), I stick to my treadmill. I’m glad I can inspire people! I’ve definitely been struggling lately and need to get back on track again this week.

  8. Rachel @The Readers Den says:

    Forgot to say, your recipes sound delicious. I just tried a new one for chicken, Skillet Chicken with Creamy Cilantro Lime Sauce, I found on Pinterest last week and it was delicious! The calorie count isn’t too bad either. I added the recipe in My Fitness Pal to figure it out.

    • Brandie says:

      That one sounds really good!! I love Pinterest. Don’t know what I’d do without it! Let’s be friends on MFP! I’m logged in with my Yahoo email. 🙂

  9. twimom227 says:

    Hey there! Happy New Year! And wow – you get to go on a getaway right after you deal with getting back into the grind! Awesome. I hope you had fun.

    Sounds like your holidays were a lot like mine. We can get back on track together!

    • Brandie says:

      It was so nice to have something to look forward to after coming back from the holidays. We had a wonderful, relaxing time.
      Yes – I need to get back on track again today! Ate too much over the weekend!

  10. Michelle says:

    I love the idea of doing one race per month. I know my husband has wanted to do something like that forever. I should mention it to him.

    Good for you for finding that balance! I think not focusing on your step count is perfectly okay as is finding ways to workout when it is best for you. Adjusting as necessary is the key to long-term health, after all!

Leave a Reply

