{Top Ten Tuesday} 2016 Goals

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish, and this week’s topic is Top Ten Resolutions You Have for 2016 (can be bookish or personal).

I’ve decided to do a little mixture of both book-related and personal goals!

Bookish Goals

I always set a Goodreads book goal, and in previous years I’ve just been setting it at 25, even though I always read at least double that. Since I’ve managed to read 50 or more books the past few years, I set my goal higher, to 50. I hope I’m not setting myself up for failure. Lol.

There are several books/series that have been on my TBR list for way too long. This is the year for me to finally make time for them! Here they are in no particular order.

11337018 5391078 13153460

6283272 23281724 17789310

13144404 22448211 12973964

I feel like this is a manageable list!

This one may not be doable, but I would ultimately love to meet Colleen Hoover. If she comes to Ohio again, I hope to make the drive to meet her. This last book tour she did come to Cincinnati, but it’s a bit of a long drive for me. Ideally I wish she’d do a tour in Columbus or Cleveland. Although, I don’t blame her for not wanting to come to Cleveland. Lol. Even Pittsburgh isn’t a bad drive for me, and it’s my favorite city, so more reason to go there. 😉

Stop requesting so many ARC’s on Netgalley. I can’t keep up anymore, so unless it’s for a book I KNOW I will read, I’m not going to request it.

Keep up on my mini reviews. Reviews have  become so much easier and more enjoyable now that I’ve taken the pressure off of myself to write something super amazing. As long as they get the point across and I’m sharing my love for books, that’s all that matters, right? Ever since I started these mini reviews a few months ago, I don’t dread posting reviews when I finish a book anymore!

personal goals

Continue running 5 days a week. I was trying to run 6 days a week, but my knees have been crying for a break. I’m finding that I can run 3 days in a row before they start to bother me, so I’m going to listen to my body and back off another day. It has been working well for me the past two weeks, with very little knee pain. I admit that I would get caught up in what other runners do, and wonder if I was running enough days, or long enough times every day. I’ve learned that it’s just better to do what’s right for ME and my body. Running 3 miles 5 days a week works for me, and I enjoy it, so I’m going to keep with that schedule. Occasionally I try to do a longer run one of the 5 days, but my knees kinda hate me when I do that.

That being said, I would ultimately love to run in a 10K and/or Half Marathon by the end of the year. It would be ideal to add a half mile to my workouts once a week to train for the longer race. I’m going to try it, and provided it doesn’t cause me a lot of pain, will hopefully be able to sign up for one this year.

I plan to sign up to run at least one 5K race a month. I already ran a race in January, and I’ve signed up for one in March. There isn’t a local race for February posted to any schedule yet, but I keep checking. I figure running at least one race a month will help motivate me to continue my training.

Continue looking for new recipes and trying at least 2 new recipes a month. Since my recent love of cooking came out of nowhere, I have been enjoying trying new meals. Especially when they are easy and can be made in the crockpot. When I do our meal plans every two weeks I have been looking at my { Yum } board on Pinterest and picking something new to try. So far we have liked everything, and have had several repeats. It has made cooking and thinking of new meals every week a lot more fun and enjoyable, and is nice not eating the same old crap all the time. Not to mention we eat out a lot less (so saving money, yay), and we eat a lot healthier too (no more fast food!).

Just trying to be more present in my every day life. It’s easy to get caught up in our daily routines, but at the end of the day the only thing that matters is whether I gave and showed love to the people that mean the most to me. I am grateful for every day I get to wake up healthy and happy, and want to enjoy each day to the fullest.

 

13 thoughts on “{Top Ten Tuesday} 2016 Goals

  1. StephTheBookworm says:

    Great goals, Brandie! You’ll do awesome this year!

    My GR goal is 50 books too. I used to set it at 100 but never reached it, so I set it to 50 last year because I knew I’d be reading less because of the baby. I only hit 18! Ugh! I need to step up the reading game this year.

    • Brandie says:

      Thanks!! I know how you feel. The year I had Sunnie my number of books read went WAY down. I used to be able to read 100 a year, but that hasn’t happened since I had her. And I don’t think it’ll happen again until she’s in high school. Lol.

  2. Jade @ Reading With Jade says:

    Your TBR list of books you hope to read soon is full of great titles – read The Night Circus soon! I feel like I’m always on at you about that one at any chance… Just hope it doesn’t prove to be a let down!

    Meeting Colleen Hoover is a great goal. I’ve never met an author, nor gone to an event, but it is something I wish I had done when I lived in a more accessible city. I hope her next blog tour stops off near you!

    I like the goal of being more present… It is something I’m working on this year too.

    • Brandie says:

      Thanks, Jade! I know, you and several other friends have recommended The Night Circus to me so many times. I WILL read it, I promise!
      Nothing would be cooler than meeting Colleen. I really hope I get that chance some day.
      It’s so easy to get busy and forget to take a step back and enjoy the moments we’re in. I hope I can relax and do just that. 🙂

  3. Nadia says:

    Love your goals! You will definitely rock them all 🙂

    I still have to read The Night Circus, too. Everyone loves it, but for some reason I always keep putting it aside. I think you will enjoy The Bungalow. I remember not being interested in reading it, but then I wound up really liking it. Jio books always turn out to be great reads 🙂 I know what you mean about requesting ARCs on NetGalley – I am addicted! I’m planning on just reading what I’ve already requested – hopefully I will stick to that. Mini reviews are the best – definitely keep them up. And my fingers are crossed that you get to meet Colleen Hoover.

    You are a rock star when it comes to your running. You will be the 5k Queen this year 🙂 I think its great to try new recipes. That’s something I need to do more of. Being present is a great goal. I’m working on that goal as well.

    Good luck with your resolutions!!

  4. Kathy says:

    I am right there with you about the ARCs on Netgalley. I get in moods where something will look appealing, I’ll download it, and later wonder why on earth I thought I would read it. lol I was fortunate enough (drove 4 hours) to meet Colleen with Abbi Glines, Rebecca Donovan, and several others who had a booth at a book fair when they were all just starting out. I’ll probably never have the chance again, but I would love to. Okay, you MUST read the Fever series. Get past Darkfever and you’re hooked!

  5. Kathy says:

    I wanted to mention, too that I love that your personal goals are getting healthy physically and mentally. Those are goals I wish I had set for myself.

    • Brandie says:

      Thanks! If I don’t make my health a priority, I’ll fall back into old habits and my biggest fear is putting all of my weight back on. I have to set goals to get my butt in gear!

  6. Alicia @ A Kernel of Nonsense says:

    I think we all have a list of books we’ve been meaning to read and time just sort of rushes by. I will say that The Night Circus and Uprooted are both stunning novels. If you like world-building, you’ll enjoy them. Angelfall and Cinder are full of great characters and both make me laugh. Hope you meet all your goals for this year!

Leave a Reply

