It’s Monday! What are you Reading? & 2016 Goals

This is a weekly meme now hosted by Kathryn @ Book Date. If you aren’t already, I encourage you to join in on the fun!

I took a much needed break from blogging the past two weeks. Although I missed interacting with everyone, I really enjoyed unplugging (for the most part). I’ve spent the past two weeks at home with my husband and daughter, and loved every minute of it. We shopped, went to the movies, slept in most days and stayed up late every night (I know I’ll regret this tomorrow morning when my alarm goes off at 4:30 am). Christmas was a wonderful time spent with family, and Sunnie was on cloud nine. Lots of great food was consumed over the holidays (that I may have over indulged a bit on – diet starts back up tomorrow!). I finished four books over the break, and ran my first 5K of the new year this weekend. We had dinner with friends on New Years Eve, and then hosted dinner for our family on New Years Day and had the best time. It has truly been the best two weeks vacation, and I’m sad to see it come to an end. But it’s time to get back to the real world of adulting and return to our normal routines tomorrow.

As far as reading/blogging resolutions or goals for 2016 go – I’m planning on just reading whatever the hell I want, not committing to any real challenges, and requesting less ARC’s (unless it’s one I know I’ll read). No more feeling pressure to read, and hopefully it will result in me picking some seriously epic 5 star books. I was doing really well keeping up on my reviews towards the end of the year, and hope to continue on that streak. I still plan on blogging for fun and only when time allows, with no pressure.

On the personal side of things, I want to continue learning new recipes by trying at least 2 new ones a month. Continue my running schedule of 5 days a week, and run in at least one 5k race a month. The ultimate goal would be to run in a 10k or half marathon by the end of the year. I plan to get back to seriously tracking my calories and eating cleaner next week, as I have been allowing myself to eat really poorly over the holidays (which I don’t regret…ok…maybe just a little).

I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas and Happy New Year!

 

FINISHED READING

18463573 26308659

25649030 19699251

I love every one of these books. I plan to post reviews sometime this month.

 

CURRENTLY READING

25828204

I’ve mentioned that Tarryn Fisher is one of my favorite authors, and I’ve been anxiously awaiting the release of this book. She surprised everyone by publishing it on New Years Eve night, so it was a given that this would be my first book of 2016. I am halfway through it and love it.

 

WHAT WILL YOU READ NEXT?

25504865

Another book that is one of my most anticipated reads of 2016, and I was thrilled to receive an ARC. I can’t wait to start it!

 

What are you reading this week?

 

It's Monday! What Are You Reading

 

20 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you Reading? & 2016 Goals

  1. Alicia @ A Kernel of Nonsense says:

    I’m not familiar with Tarryn Fisher, but that cover just screams at me (in a good way)! Glad you enjoyed your blogging break, I think it’s a good think to sort of unplug for a while. I deliberating chose challenged for this year that would still allow my to pick up what I wanted. I hate feeling the pressure to read certain books because it ends up feeling like a chore. And hey, the Jets look like they are going to lose and your Steelers are winning! Good luck to your team in the playoffs! (Hopefully the Browns don’t suddenly come back after I type this because that would be awful).

    • Brandie says:

      Thank goodness they didn’t lose to the Browns. I would have never heard the end of it at work. They were seriously ticking me off – glad they pulled through and won!
      I hate the pressure of having to read certain books. Here’s to a year of some great reading for both of us!

  2. Carey says:

    I know what you mean about rejoining the re-world. I’ve had to work some the last two weeks, but my husband teaches. So it’s like a vacation for me when he and my son don’t have to go to school.
    I’ve followed Tarryn Fisher and Colleen Hoover on Facebook and they are a hoot! I’ve not read any of their stuff yet. But I’m working on that. I just started Hopeless by Hoover yesterday. I also managed to get Never Never part 1 for free. I think I’ve been unintentionally avoiding reading it since all three haven’t been released yet.

    • Brandie says:

      Thankfully the third one releases this month! I hope you are enjoying Hopeless. It’s one of my favorites! They are SO funny, I love their interactions on social media! I hope you had a nice break!

  3. stephaniesbookreviews says:

    Welcome back to the Blogosphere! I’m glad you had a good vacation and I hope transitioning back into work isn’t too hard tomorrow (I just had a 4 day weekend and I’m completely dreading going back haha). And YES to less ARCs this year! No more pressure, just reading for fun this year.

  4. Kathryn says:

    I think it’s great you unplugged and spent time with family and taking down time. All the best with your goals, so long as there is no injury I am sure you will make a 10K. Oh yuck 4:30 am!

  5. Myra GB says:

    Joining marathons sounds great – I haven’t been running for the past week now, so I really should get back to it. I hear you about not taking on a great many reading challenges – we’re actually only joining one this year – it’s tough once reading starts becoming a chore.

  6. Jade @ Reading With Jade says:

    It sounds like you had a wonderful time away – I’m glad to here you had some much enjoyed family time, it’s the best, isn’t it?!

    Your goals for the new year all seem achievable; I wish you luck with meeting them, especially your fitness goals because I know how that has become a big part of your life now!

    Happy reading for 2016!

  7. laurelrainsnow says:

    I love the cover of the Tarryn Fisher book…a new author to me. I also want that Sandra Brown book.

    I’m with you on the review requests: only authors I have read and loved, or new authors that my friends swear by. I want to read more from my own shelves this year…and try to read what I want when I want…LOL.

    Enjoy your week…and the New Year. Here are MY WEEKLY UPDATES

  8. Rachel says:

    Don’t be so hard on yourself with indulging at Christmas. You’ve done fab food and fitness wise, and you’ll be back on it again in no time. Glad you guys had such a lovely Crimbo R xx

  9. Kathy says:

    I’m really interested to see your take on Tarryn’s new book. I’ve heard different things about it, and mainly that it is a recreation of Caleb and Olivia minus their magic. I’m going to hold off on it until I see what you think. I’m back at the work routine with you; glad you had a nice break.

    • Brandie says:

      I read somewhere online about the recreation bit and I disagree. I don’t see the similarities at all, but it has been a long time since I read the LMWL series. Maybe it’s a good thing, because I don’t remember much of those books. I am LOVING F*ck Love so much. I can’t wait to pick it up again today! If I wasn’t so tired from the return to work yesterday, I would have finished it.

  10. Michelle says:

    With a title like that, how can I NOT look more closely at it? Seriously. The more cursing in the title, the better I like it. LOL!

    Don’t beat yourself up too much about the holiday break you had. You enjoyed yourself, and that is what a vacation is for. I know you will go back to clean living with no problems whatsoever and continue to inspire us all in your perseverance and determination. I would love to see you do a half-marathon by the end of the year. After watching my husband and son do several of them, I know they are completely doable for you!

    • Brandie says:

      Right? She’s the queen of not giving a fuck what anyone thinks of her, and I LOVE that about her. I’m really loving the book, too.
      Thanks, I’m trying not to let the little bit of gain over the holidays get to me. I really hope I can do a half marathon! I know it would be fun, and I want to prove to myself I can do it.

Leave a Reply

