Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts

This is a weekly event hosted by Bookishly Boisterous.

Another week has flown by. Last Thursday night was the annual Polar Express at the local library. Sunnie loves going every year, even though she has the entire program memorized. Over the weekend I finally got all of her Christmas shopping done, and managed to get all of her gifts wrapped. I just have to get some stocking stuffers and my shopping is complete. Feels good to have that checked off the list.

Saturday night hubby and I attended a work dinner that my boss hosted. We got dressed up for the first time in a long time, in fact we had to buy Nunz some new dress clothes, because he’s lost quite a bit of weight and none of his old clothes fit anymore. The restaurant was pretty fancy, the food was excellent, and we had a great time.

Sunnie continues to bounce out of bed every morning to look for her elf. I’ve been trying my damndest to be creative as much as I can, but some nights the ideas get a bit lazy. Like this one. I almost forgot to move her before I went to bed.

elf

Anna speaks my language. If it wasn’t totally inappropriate, I’d set her up with a glass of wine. 😉

Reading hasn’t been happening much this week. I’ve been pretty exhausted every night and can’t manage to get more than a few chapters read. Although last night I did stay up later, because I’m loving the book I’m reading, and now I’m paying for it. More coffee, please.

This weekend I need to get a little more Christmas shopping done. Sunday I’m planning on running a 5k in the morning. And then in the afternoon my girlfriend invited Sunnie and I to her church for a gingerbread house making event. With how much Sunnie loves to bake and craft things, I think she’ll have a blast.

Then the countdown until 2 weeks of vacation begins!

In case you missed it…
Currently Reading

18463573

Recently Finished Reading

 Nothing, because I’m tired. But I am really loving the Sandra Brown book!

Book Haul

27280013 27827584 13502783


FitReaders

FitReaders2015-200x200

#FitReaders co-hosted by Felicia @ Geeky Bloggers Book Blog and Jen @ That’s What I’m Talking About. I joined FitReaders, because I thought it would be a great way to help me stay motivated. It’s always more fun with support of your blog friends!

FITBIT STEPS
Thu: 15,034 steps
Fri: 20,058 steps
Sat: 18,369 steps
Sun: 15,341 steps
Mon: 17,113 steps
Tue: 9,858 steps
Wed: 14,007 steps

 

Good week for me. Very little knee pain, knock on wood! I’ve run every day. Tuesday was my ‘rest’ day, so I only ran one mile that day so as not to break my #RWRunStreak. Saturday I plan to do the same since I’m running a race the next morning, and I usually run a lot better when I’ve rested the day before. My run this morning was a bit of a struggle, and I know it’s because I’m not getting enough sleep – I plan to catch up on it this weekend!

 

10 thoughts on “Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts

  1. Kathryn says:

    Ha, your rest day would be one of my better days!! Great running this week. My reading has slowed up too just at the moment, sometimes other interests take over! Anna the Elf is such a lovely idea, although I can see how it could be tiring at times to be imaginative. Looking forward next week to pic of Gingerbread house!

  2. Jade @ Reading With Jade says:

    Good luck with your 5k, and enjoy the gingerbread house making (that’s to you and Sunnie)!

    The whole elf on the shelf thing is everywhere at the moment and I love seeing how creative people get with it. We’re planning to start to tradition next year… I thought Alexander was a little too young for it at the moment. But that’s okay, because we have plenty of other traditions! Haha!

    I hope the countdown to your holiday doesn’t drag – and that you get some more reading done this coming week!

  3. twimom227 says:

    Oh I miss the Polar Express days. We attended the annual event in our PJs for years, but the kids are over it now. 😦 Enjoy these precious days!

    Glad to hear the knee pain is minimal. Keep up the good work – and good for you “resting” a little bit during the week.

  4. Kathy says:

    You’re doing better with the elf than I would. I think my creativity goes out the window during this time of year. I’ve only have gifts for two people, so far. Ugh! I envy you having a small one in the house this time of year; I miss Jordan being small. Enjoy!

  5. k2reader says:

    The gingerbread event sounds like fun…please do include a picture next time!!! Good luck with your 5k today…hope your knee holds out 🙂

    I”m just about done with my Christmas shopping – only 2 more gifts to get. But, I still need to get my cards done – hoping to work on those today…maybe I’ll put on a Christmas movie and get them done. My husband has a work meeting this afternoon – so I’ll have plenty of time.

    Have a great week!!!

  6. StephTheBookworm says:

    Hey, I think you’re being pretty clever with the elf! We have an elf for Caleb but there wasn’t a point in hiding it yet this year… maybe next year but he might be too young still. We will see! Then I might need to steal some ideas from you! 😉

Leave a Reply

