Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts

This is a weekly event hosted by Bookishly Boisterous.

  • I hope everyone had a wonderful Thanksgiving holiday for those of you in the states. It was a wonderful mini vacation for me – I loved the days at home with Nunz and Sunnie. Dinner went well, and of course there were tons of leftovers that we ate for days. Sometimes I think the leftovers are the best part. And as is always the case, the time went way too fast.

family

My little family on Thanksgiving ❤

  • Over the weekend, Anna the Elf made her big return. Sunnie was over the moon excited. We had dinner plans with friends, so when Nunz took Sunnie to get her in the car, I quickly pulled up a letter I had prepped from Anna on my computer and left her where Sunnie would see her as soon as we got home. Since then Anna has driven the Barbie car, been in Sunnie’s stocking and in the Christmas tree, been sleeping in my sock drawer, and making a snow angel out of rice on the kitchen counter. Sunnie gets the biggest kick out of Anna’s shenanigans. I am not the most creative person in the world, so thank goodness for Pinterest and all the great ideas out there. I don’t know how I’m going to come up with 3 more weeks worth of ideas, but I will somehow pull it off. Sunnie practically jumps out of bed every morning to look for her elf – her excitement makes it all worth it.

anna snow angel

  • Tried another new VERY easy Pinterest recipe last week – Crockpot Steak & Gravy, and it was good. Definitely one we’ll have again. I loved it over rice. I’m going to make this Chili Pasta Bake tonight. Trying to get creative with leftovers, because with all of these meals I’m trying, there always seems to be a TON left over. We had chili for dinner earlier in the week, so why not mix in some pasta and cheese and have it again?

IMG_4795

Seriously YUM

  • My husband and I are attending a work holiday dinner on Saturday night and are getting all dressed up for it. Should be a good time. I’m also hoping to get Sunnie’s Christmas present shopping done this weekend. I’m not usually one to wait until the last minute, but this year I just put it off, and now I’m of the mindset of just wanting to get it over with. I do not love shopping or crowds at all. Normally I would’ve ordered everything online to avoid having to actually go to the store, but I waited too long, and now I’m worried I won’t get the stuff she really wants in time. I’m hopeful the things she REALLY wants aren’t sold out, like they were last year. Like the Frozen Castle that I paid double for on e-Bay (and that she never plays with). She’s still on a Frozen kick this year, and the toy she’s asking for the most is a Frozen musical toy bicycle that has the sister dolls with it.
  • I was in the worst reading funk since SUNDAY. I had started probably 10 books and couldn’t get interested in any one of them. I had no clue what I was in the mood for. Then a few bookworm friends on Instagram were raving about a Sandra Brown book, and it caught my attention. I have always loved Sandra Brown and romantic suspense, so I started it last night. So far I’m really into it, THANK GOODNESS. Going 4 days without settling on a book is so out of the norm for me.
In case you missed it…
Currently Reading

18463573

Recently Finished Reading

25359328 25167898

Book Haul

25741393 27969584 27854912 26156778 22015099


FitReaders

FitReaders2015-200x200

#FitReaders co-hosted by Felicia @ Geeky Bloggers Book Blog and Jen @ That’s What I’m Talking About. I joined FitReaders, because I thought it would be a great way to help me stay motivated. It’s always more fun with support of your blog friends!

FITBIT STEPS
Thu: 13,529 steps
Fri: 16,588 steps
Sat: 15,888 steps
Sun: 15,033 steps
Mon: 13,125 steps
Tue: 13,946 steps
Wed: 10,892 steps

 

I saw a Runner’s World challenge on Instagram where you are supposed to run at least a mile a day until New Years. I’m giving it a try! I normally give myself at least one day off a week, but I figure 1 mile on that ‘rest’ day is no big deal. I would normally try to at least walk on my rest day anyway. My knee is a bit sore this week, so there were two days I only ran one mile. Getting better at not pushing myself too hard when I’m feeling pain – I would hate to do any serious damage. I’m trying to get better at doing my knee exercises every day, and that seems to be helping.

I love running outside, especially in the cooler weather, and don’t get to do it as often as I’d like to. My girlfriend from work has been meeting me on the weekends to run whenever she can, and we met up this past Sunday. And now that my hubby is officially done with his fishing season and is home all weekend, he’s spoiling me with breakfasts – I gotta work off all them calories. 😉

rwrunstreak running

 

17 thoughts on “Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts

  1. Kathryn says:

    What a great idea for Anna the Elf and Sunnie. Lovely way to build her anticipation.
    I haven’t read Sandra Brown for ages but have enjoyed quite a few of her romantic suspense books.
    Great running, my your pic gives an idea of how cold it is your way now. Good that you are still pacing the knee, don’t want to damage that I can tell you!

    • Brandie says:

      Have you read Mean Streak? That’s the most recent one I read and it’s fantastic. I highly recommend!!
      Thanks! It is getting cold here. But it stayed warm a lot longer than usual for Ohio. Which I was glad about!

  2. Kathy says:

    Nothing puts me in the Scrooge mood more than a parking lot during the Christmas season. I always do my shopping online, Black Friday included, and hope the delivery gods will see me in good favor. lol I hope you find all you’re looking for for Sunni, and pamper that knee!

  3. StephTheBookworm says:

    Oh my gosh, I love the elf in the rice! That’s so clever! We have an elf for Caleb but aren’t hiding it this year. Maybe next year, but he still might be too young. I think it’s adorable how excited Sunnie gets!

  4. twimom227 says:

    Love your family photo – thanks for sharing. Our elf returned on Tuesday, and my daughter is so excited, too. She left a Reese’s for him the other night – so cute!

  5. k2reader says:

    What a lovely family photo!!! We didn’t host Thanksgiving this year, so no leftovers for us – that’s the worst part about not hosting 😦 That Crockpot Steak and Gravy recipe sounds delicious – I might have to try that! I’ve decided to challenge myself to get 10k steps everyday this December…I was sick the last 2 weeks, so I want to end 2015 strong!

    Have a great week!!!

  6. Teddyree says:

    Lovely family pic and OMG Sunnie and Anna the Elf, that’s just so adorable. Mia would probably love that too, maybe next year! How old was Sunnie when she really got into it?
    Glad you’re enjoying Deadline, hopefully your reading mojo is back on track! I haven’t read a Sandra Brown for a few years.

    My hubby’s knee improved heaps with a couple of things … might be worth a try. Took 2 weeks before he noticed a difference. If you can find a pennywort plant (gotu kola) you can just pick eat half a dozen leaves a day, or dried you can make a tea. He drinks the tea but I finally got a plant from our local nursery. And add turmeric to all your meat-stew-kind-of dinners, salad dressings etc. Both are great anti-inflammatories.

    • Brandie says:

      Thank you!! We just started the Elf last year when Sunnie was 4. But I have many friends who started earlier – around age 2 even. I hesitated because it’s a lot to come up with different ideas every day for a month.I almost forgot last night and was too tired to be overly creative. Lol.
      Thank you SO much for the tips!! I’m going to write this down and try it. I’ll take anything to help me if it means I can keep running.

  7. Rachel says:

    Aw I LOVE that Elf idea, how special! You should hide her in a bookcase too. Fambam is looking fab, B! Not long for us to get time off now! Me, you and Stef should skype over Xmas sometime!! R xx

  8. Michelle says:

    You need to take more pictures of Anna’s shenanigans! I am thankful the elf thing was not around when my kids were younger. This was pre-Pinterest too, so I know I would never be able to come up with so many different ways to keep Anna occupied over the month!

    • Brandie says:

      It has been challenging and it’s only thanks to Pinterest that I’ve managed to do it all month. When it starts to annoy me, I have to remind myself how much Sunnie loves it every day. Makes it worth it.

Leave a Reply

