{Mini Review} The Last Camellia

15848920

Goodreads / Amazon

About the book

A romantic and suspenseful tale about two women whose destiny is bound across the years.

On the eve of World War II, the last surviving specimen of a camellia plant known as the Middlebury Pink lies secreted away on an English country estate. Flora, an amateur American botanist, is contracted by an international ring of flower thieves to infiltrate the household and acquire the coveted bloom. Her search is at once brightened by new love and threatened by her discovery of a series of ghastly crimes.

More than half a century later, garden designer Addison takes up residence at the manor, now owned by the family of her husband, Rex. The couple’s shared passion for mysteries is fueled by the enchanting camellia orchard and an old gardener’s notebook. Yet its pages hint at dark acts ingeniously concealed. If the danger that Flora once faced remains very much alive, will Addison share her fate?

My Thoughts

This book had way more mystery and suspense than I’m used to from a Sarah Jio book, and that’s what made it so enjoyable. The entire plot was just different than anything else I’ve read, and even though I figured out one of the main reveals about halfway through, I was still pleasantly surprised by some of the twists at the end. It wasn’t my favorite of her books, but I’m glad I finally read it. Her books are such quick and light reads, and they are always good for getting me out of a book slump. I only have one book of Jio’s left to read before I’m finally caught up on all of her books!

4 Stars

Genre: Adult Contemporary, Mystery-Suspense, Historical

Standalone

Published: May 28, 2013 by Plume

Length: 320 Pages

8 thoughts on “{Mini Review} The Last Camellia

  1. laurelrainsnow says:

    That’s how I felt, too…it was good, but not my favorite. Thanks for sharing, and I’m eager for her newest book, whenever it comes out. And I thought I had the title on my list, but I guess not! LOL

  2. Teddyree says:

    Glad you liked it even if it wasn’t a fave … I’ve got this one and Blackberry Winter to go. What did you think of Blackberry Winter?

Leave a Reply

