Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts

This is a weekly event hosted by Bookishly Boisterous.

  • Finished Forever, Interrupted, and you can read my review here. I can’t say enough how much I love Taylor Jenkins Reid and will read anything she writes! If you haven’t read her books you need to add them to your list!
  • I also finished The Last Camellia last night, and I really enjoyed it. I had part of it figured out around the halfway point, but there were still a few twists at the end I didn’t see coming. Not my favorite Jio book, but still pretty good.
  • TWO books read this week. That rarely happens. *does happy dance*  That brought me to 60 books read for the year, which is 10 more than my goal. I don’t focus on number of books read too much anymore, because it started stressing me out. But, I am pretty happy I’ve read that many this year, especially with all of the book slumps I’ve suffered recently. And I’ve got time to read a few more.
  • I took Sunnie to an ENT on Monday, and the doctor thinks all we need to do is some allergy testing to make sure she’s on the correct medicine, if she even needs medicine. I was relieved he didn’t think there were any other issues. And now I feel like I can rest easier knowing I’ve done everything I can to make sure she’s a healthy and happy kid. This week she’s not been as stuffy and is breathing a lot better and feeling better than she has in over a month – very thankful for that!
  • This picture came up on my Timehop this week. We had our first big snow this time last year, and I already had all of our Christmas decorations up. All week it’s been 60-70 degrees every day, and I have zero desire to get out our Christmas stuff until after Thanksgiving. I’m really glad we haven’t gotten any snow, although they are saying it’s a possibility this weekend. I’m just not ready. But, ready or not, this is Ohio.

FullSizeRender

  • Sunnie is in the local Thanksgiving Parade this Saturday morning with her dance studio. She gets to ride on a flat bed truck with the other girls in her class, and parents have to ride along too. They all have matching sweatshirts and pom poms – it’s really cute. Of course it’s going to be super cold, so we’ll be bundling up!
  • Speaking of Thanksgiving, I really need to get all of my recipes out and get my game plan together for next week, since I’m making it! I’m all about waiting until the last minute these days. I’m taking Wednesday off work, so if need be I’ll have a whole day to get my shit together.
  • Last Thursday I made this Pasta Sausage Bake for dinner, and it’s my new favorite Pinterest find. It’s so easy and delicious, I already want to make it again soon.
  • I have plans with my friend Nela to do some crafting this weekend and attempt to make this for my mantel. I am the least crafty person, so we’ll see if I can pull it off.

146ff8ce289598d35ed500ea713c21cb

In case you missed it…
Currently Reading

Need to decide today! In an effort to try to get into the holiday spirit, I’m thinking of starting a Christmas themed book.

Recently Finished Reading
18001845 15848920
Book Haul

24700371 26046572 25359328 25990405


FitReaders

FitReaders2015-200x200

#FitReaders co-hosted by Felicia @ Geeky Bloggers Book Blog and Jen @ That’s What I’m Talking About. I joined FitReaders, because I thought it would be a great way to help me stay motivated. It’s always more fun with support of your blog friends!

FITBIT STEPS
Thu: 14,366 steps
Fri: 11,247 steps
Sat: 21,470 steps
Sun: 14,399 steps
Mon: 14,432 steps
Tue: 10,302 steps
Wed: 15,550 steps

 

Because of my knees, I’ve been running a bit slower this week. I figure I’d rather run slower, than not run at all, and at least I’m still running. This morning the pain was pretty bad, and it’s bumming me out a bit. I’m doing some more research today to see what else I can do about it. I’ve been doing exercises and taking anti-inflammatory medicine. My doctor thinks it’s tendinitis, and suggested I ice them after every run. I’m also going tomorrow night to get a new pair of running shoes, and a friend suggested special vitamins for knee joints. With all of these things, I hope I can get it under control. I’ll be pretty upset if I have to take off time from running, so fingers crossed something works. It’s incredibly frustrating to have finally started getting healthy, finding something I LOVE to do, and having my body give out.

On a happy note, we are having a 5k run/walk in December as a department team building activity at work! I’m in charge of getting it all set up – the plan is to start and end at the local park. I have to get a route mapped out, and we’re having t-shirts made. Who would’ve thought a year ago that I’d be suggesting and organizing a 5k?!

And a small non-scale victory for myself this week – I stopped to get my family dinner last night at McDonald’s, and didn’t get anything for myself. I used to be a fast food junkie, and would NEVER turn down an opportunity to eat McDonald’s. But instead I went home and made myself a veggie burger with veggie chips (which I love, and could eat every day!) and was pretty proud of myself for that decision. I’m not saying I didn’t treat myself earlier in the day to a cookie at work, and I may have stolen a few fries out of Sunnie’s Happy Meal. It’s all about balance and making the right choices when they need to be made. I’ve been eating kind of bad over the past week, and I’m trying to turn it around and get back on track.

 

Capture

19 thoughts on “Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts

  1. Running 'N' Reading says:

    Brandie, the Thanksgiving parade sounds like so much fun and I’m sure you’ll find some great recipes for next week; this Pasta Sausage Bake looks delicious! Conquering those old habits, like grabbing something at McDonald’s, is tough and it sounds like you are doing GREAT! I can only imagine how frustrated you are with your knee pain, but I think it will improve with rest and strength training; you’re on the right track. I love that you’ll be doing a 5K at work – that is SO AWESOME!!

    • Brandie says:

      Thanks, it’s a daily struggle, but I’m still working on it. 😉
      I found some more strength training exercises for knees to try tonight. I’m determined to figure this out!
      I think the 5K is going to be a lot of fun. Really excited about it!

      • Running 'N' Reading says:

        I hope it helps with the pain! I’m currently experiencing some trouble with my left knee, but it’s happened before; I do exercises, foam roll and ice for a few days and then it usually clears up…ahhh, the joys of getting older. Not for you, but for me – ha! Please keep me posted!

      • Brandie says:

        I just picked up a new pair of shoes and can already tell they have way better arch support for my flat feet. Hoping this is all I needed and I’m excited to run in them! It’s definitely not fun getting older and having to deal with these annoying things!

  2. Nadia says:

    Glad that its nothing serious with Sunnie 🙂 The parade sounds like such fun! And that’s awesome you were able to resist McDonald’s. I love their fries! I’m trying to stay away from fast food – its just such a bad habit. Trying to cook more healthy foods, but with the holidays here its getting hard to do. I’ve already got the menu figured out for Thanksgiving and plan on shopping for the food next week. I’m trying a new recipe, so I’m hoping it comes out good. Hope you have a terrific weekend!!

  3. Kathryn says:

    Nice running and reading this week! I got a new pair of shoes after reading your post last week. Hope you do stop to ice your knees at end of each run, would probably help, running can be very hard on knees.
    Nice resistance to the Macs! You’re right though balance is important and denying yourself all the time only leads in the long run to breaking good habits. Little treats are great.

  4. The Bibliophile Babe says:

    Great steps this week! I feel you on the pain. :/ My ankle is killing me.

    It’s been the hottest it’s been in years here this month. Upper 70s, and we’re almost at the end of November. Insanity.

    Glad Sunnie doesn’t have anything too terribly serious going on!

  5. Jade @ Reading With Jade says:

    It sounds like your week is going well in terms of both reading and running – I hope that keeps up. And good on you for resisting McDonald’s… I don’t think I could have done that! We don’t eat fast food often, I’m more of a sweet tooth girl, but if it was offered on a plate I wouldn’t have been refusing it!

    When I first joined the book blogging community I used to affix a number on the books I’d like to read in a year, but this year I didn’t do that because honestly it felt like such a headache to me. Stressing myself out to meet the target, putting pressure on my reading and then sucking the fun out of it. I think it’s very much an individual thing with how that target affects you – I know for many it’s a very motivational thing. Anyway, point being, go you on exceeding your target!

    I’m sure it’s a relief to be getting somewhere with Sunnie’s medical issues!

    • Brandie says:

      Thanks, Jade! It is a relief for Sunnie to be doing better and to know it’s nothing major.
      It’s just too stressful to put that kind of pressure on myself to read a lot of books in a year. Life happens and then I feel like I’ve failed if I don’t meet my goal. A few years ago I started just setting my goals lower, and if I met them, great! I know I can read at least 50 books a year, so I start there and if I read more, yay! 🙂

  6. Kathy says:

    I’m glad Sunni is getting better, and way to go on the parade status. 🙂 That has to be exciting for her. Did you whisper the four letter word, snow? They’re actually calling for flurries here in the Tennessee valley, too. Unlike last year, I don’t think it will amount to much this year, but I secretly wish it would come again. We rarely see it down here, anymore. 😦

  7. twimom227 says:

    First – great job on your week! And next time you are at McD’s I suggest trying their Southwest Grilled Chicken salad – It’s actually pretty good and healthy!

    Second – good luck getting new shoes. I hope all of your efforts make for better, healthier knees. Keep us posted. If you have to switch to walking or a run/walk combo for a while, don’t think of it as failing… think of it as healing!

    Third – glad Sunnie is better. *HUGS* hope you keep it under control.

    Happy Thanksgiving! Thanks for all of your support and online friendship!!

  8. Michelle says:

    I am so delayed here. I saw your finished craft on Instagram. I love it! There may be hope that I too can do something just as cute and fun. Someday.

    Please let us know how things go with Sunnie. Hopefully, with the weather turning colder and killing off all that nasty mold and pollen, if it is allergies she can get a reprieve without medication.

    Yay on healthy choices. I have fallen off the wagon yet again. My goal is to splurge this weekend with Thanksgiving, and then start dialing it back in time for the new year. I cannot believe the holidays are already here.

    Have a wonderful Thanksgiving, girl!

    • Brandie says:

      Thanks, Michelle! I hope you had a great day yesterday. I indulged way too much, so I have to get back on track this weekend. But, it was all worth it! Sunnie seems to be doing MUCH better. I hope it continues.
      The canvas was so easy to make and inexpensive, I would do it again (and I dislike crafting immensely).

Leave a Reply

